We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel, nice food”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel, nice food”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I like hotels with character like this one. Nice patio adjacent to the river and welcoming, helpful staff. Our room had a slightly sloping floor and with the double glazing open we had the sound of the River Dart bubbling over the stones below the window. Nice view up and down the river. Normally we make it a rule to eat away from the hotel we stay at but the Abbey Inn restaurant looked nice so we tried it. Steak and accompanying veg excellent. For dinner on our second evening we ate in again and can say that the scampi and steak/ale pie were also excellent. Carpets and decor etc in the hotel corridor areas were a bit old, but that's all part of the quaint character and I hope it isn't spoiled when it is redecorated one day. The building is very old and apparently was built as the quarry-master's house for the nearby quarry. It is on sloping ground so a slope, steps and stairs are unavoidable.

Room Tip: The room called "Kingfisher" overlooks the river and is adequate size. Tables for evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    52
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
25
85
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed one night dinner, b & b in Dart overlooking the river; yes, the setting was lovely but the room was a bit pokey and not for an extended stay. It was a good job the weather had broken else it would have been unbearably hot and airless.
Food nothing special except helpings were gross. Service willing but untrained. Lacked the personal touch and appeared to be a managed pub. Like so many riverside pubs it doesn't make the most of its setting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I stay regularly for work and would highly recommend the Abbey Inn. The couple who run it are very helpful and hospitable. They took it over about 2 yrs ago and has really improved since then. Pub has a great place to sit outside on a sunny day as well. The hotel has loads of potential and could be even nicer but hopefully that will come over time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bjspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Dipper, lovely river view and a good sized room. But not clean. The en suite bathroom was really tiny and not well cleaned, with a dreadful shower cubicle with broken tiles and filthy grout. When we arrived the bed was made up with beautifully crisp clean bed linen, but with 2 very worn, soiled cushions on it. I left them on the floor with a note asking them not to be put back on the bed when the room was made up, pointing out that they were soiled. They were taken away but no-one left a note or said anything about it! The owners were lovely and so was breakfast, I gather they have not long taken over. It is such a lovely location that they deserve to do well, but that room needs some serious TLC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for one night to meet up with family from Belgium. I have 2 very well behaved teenagers. Lady in room next door complained about noise my children made ! Walls must be very thin .We stayed in Moorhen which is a very hot room and you can't open one set of windows as outside light of pub encourages bugs into the room. Management very defensive about complaint. Dissapointibg stay and I wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Abbey Inn is a beautiful place to go, just beside the river so you can often see the adventurous people in their kayaks going down the river and also the ducks out for a paddle. The Abbey Inn does very tasty meals at a reasonable price and I can't think of a better place to sit and have a pint with family and friends. It's great in the summer to sit outside in the wonderful surroundings but also a cosy place in the winter with lovely inviting real fire crackling away. They also allow dogs which is great.
Lovely place to go.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EVE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a lovely weekend staying in this lovely Inn. We stayed in the four poster bedroom overlooking the river Dart and were lulled to sleep every night by the sound of the flowing water. Jake and Cecilia go out of their way to look after you and their young team are friendly and really helpful. Breakfast was substantial and freshly made to order. We spent two lovely evenings having drinks by the riverside and then onto the dining room for some splendidly tasty food. The only downside was that we were both so full after our first two courses we couldnt manage one of their delicious sounding puddings. I had the hake special of the day on one night which was absolutely delicious and the special chilli lime chicken on another night - another taste sensation. Husband had the beef and ale pie (marvellous) and Pork loin in mustard sauce - also excellent. Our starters were fab too. Bottles of Pinot Grigot were excellently priced at £12.95 There is a double aspect wood fire in the bar which must make the Inn very cosy in winter time. Plenty of outside seating for the summer months and, although we didnt imbibe, I heard on the grapevine that their Sunday carvery is one of the best around - booking may be required to avoid disappointment. The inn is well situated to visit the Devon Steam Railway (and the otters and butterfly farm) and just down the hill from Buckfast Abbey.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phonelessinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
478 reviews
5.6 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#6 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furzeleigh Mill
Furzeleigh Mill
#8 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hockmoor House
Hockmoor House
#10 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 30 Buckfast Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Buckfastleigh
Abbey Inn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing