We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cream tea ever!”
Review of The Singing Kettle - CLOSED

The Singing Kettle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Homemade cakes and cream teas Home cooked lunches using local produce
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best cream tea ever!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Quite simply the best cream tea I've ever had! Wonderful home-made scones, good tea (in proper china cups) and great, friendly service - couldn't fault it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    23
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Singing Kettle - Top marks”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We found this place by accident as we hadn't intended to vist Buckfastleigh. We're glad we did stop. We sat outside in the Singing Kettle's garden, which is quaint with chirping birds, so it is a must place to relax and enjoy your lunch. It is a dog friendly too. The indoor restaurant looked lovely too.

I had a home-made tomato and basil quiche salad and it was gorgeous. My husband, David, had cheese and ham omelette with chips and he said it was great. The omelette was the best he's ever had and was golden yellow and cooked to perfection. Food is sourced locally and is fresh. The service and hospitality was excellent and we couldn't have been better accommodated by the owner's.

We had apple and cinnamon cake with clotted cream to take away because we didn't have enough room to eat it straightaway. After returning home some four hours later, it didn't touch the sides as we consumed it with a cup of tea.

Highly recommend. Do stop off in Buckfastleigh just for your lunch at the Singing Kettle.

Alsom visit the little shop across the road called 'GIFTED' where you will receive equally good service for gift ideas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Tea Room stop for cyclists”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stopped here having cycled from Plymouth (40km) and sat in the quiet sunny garden at the rear of the cafe. The choice was brilliant, and we decided on mushrooms on toast, two pieces of cake (one with clotted cream!!) and a glass of squash each followed by tea for 2. Proper tea leaves with china cups and saucers. All for £17 - great food and excellent value. Friendly staff as well. A great find waiting for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best cream tea ever”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

After a daytrip to Buckfast Abbey and Buckfastleigh on our last day of vacation, we dropped in here for our final afternoon tea. Well, it was definitely the best cream tea in our whole two weeks in Devon. And we had it in a wonderful Gardencafe sitting in the sun. Perfect. No more comment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dartmouth gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Amazing! Just happened upon this wonderful place, the service was the best we have ever experienced.

The whole experience with how the tea is served is well worth the price.



Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Singing Kettle also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing