We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burns Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tradesman's Arms
Ranked #4 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Templecombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Burns Night Stay”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

What a find.Stopped here for lunch two years ago and so impressed took away a card.
Needed a stop over on our way to Newquay,telephoned and we were offered upgraded room.
Also as luck has it there was a Burns Night celebration and we were made most welcome.
Compliments and thanks to ANNE,BIG MIKE,LITTLE MIKE and others I forgotten their names.
Great breakfast too.
We will return.

Room Tip: Leave it to the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisterry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    39
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
87
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our family of 5, plus a dog, had an extremely enjoyable 3-night stay at the Tradesman's Arms. The en-suite rooms (numbers 1 and 3) were warm, clean and tidy and we all had very comfortable nights. Scoriton itself is very quiet which is just what we wanted and it takes no time at all to drive onto Dartmoor. We even found a route to the moor which we reached by walking up and across the road from the pub. Mark at the pub was the perfect host. One day he went to the shops to buy some porridge for us as we mentioned that we would like some for breakfast and he had none in-stock; how's that for service? Good food, friendly staff, a lovely location with nice views. We will definitely stay again if we head back to this part of Dartmoor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5plusAdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A lovely pub in the middle of a quiet village. We were made very welcome by the hosts who were very attentive, we had booked the compact double as last let, but for us it was ideal as the purpose of our trip was to see family living in the village so we just needed a bed for the night. It is small, however everything you need is at hand, nice touch to have bottled water in the room and good quality tea tray stock. Shower is huge and room very clean. Un- interrupted views if the countryside outside were a real bonus.
We returned to the pub at around 9.30pm, it was fairly quiet as out of holiday season but a handful of locals soon ensured we were part of the conversation.
A peaceful night and a very hearty breakfast will be sure to rake us back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A very non descript venue in the heart of Dartmoor. Wednesday night is curry night and it was very good considering no Indians in the village! Lousy draft beer and a few bottles of cheap wine and really very bland as far as British Pubs go.
Not expensive although a little quiet but after all this was the heart of Dartmoor in October.
Waitress was also a little offish but I guess that is the way in this part!

Room Tip: Never stayed over only ate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I ate here and had the most wonderful evening. From the staff to the customers everyone was so friendly. I had the cod and chips which was very well cooked and so fresh, my wife had the chicken wrapped in bacon which was very tasty. Due to the portion size She couldn't manage A desert but I had the home made sticky toffee pudding with clotted cream from the farm next door. All food is sourced locally where possible. Two real ales on this evening plus a cider. Altogether a lovely end to our week in the west country, this pub will live long in my memory.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Pretty looking place down a country lane. What a shame the bedroom windows didn't fit so the smells and noise of the kitchen fan below permeate the bedroom. Whole place could do with a makeover. Food was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for one night at the Tradesmans Arms pub and enjoyed our stay. We had a ‘compact’ double room. Although the room is small and has limited storage, it was fine for our needs but you would probably want the larger size double room that they have if staying for longer. The room was clean, had great views and had the usual extras such as tea and coffee making facilities.The pub is in a great location on the fringe of Dartmoor National Park. The roads leading up to the pub are certainly narrow and the village the pub is situated in is very small so you do feel like you are in the middle of nowhere which we liked.

We had food in the pub too, which was good value and quality. There was good choice for breakfast and the food was tasty. The views from the restaurant area were great too. If we were to go back to Dartmoor, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 2. The view was great but it is over the kitchen so you can hear the extractor fan. We t...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanMartin1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
2.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
478 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitchelcroft B&B
Mitchelcroft B&B
#1 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#6 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
61 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hockmoor House
Hockmoor House
#10 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tradesman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tradesman's Arms

Property: The Tradesman's Arms
Address: | Scoriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tradesman's Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Tradesman's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tradesman's Arms Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing