We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tradesman's Arms
Nearby Hotels
Abbey Inn(Buckfastleigh)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Globe Inn(Buckfastleigh)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dartbridge Inn(Buckfastleigh)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchelcroft B&B(Buckfastleigh)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Furzeleigh Mill(Buckfastleigh)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilbury Manor(Buckfastleigh)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
92
39
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
39
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubquiz nightlocal ciderspent nights heredouble roomwonderful pubpie nightfish cakesroom was comfortable and cleanstayed longersmall villagestaff were really friendlystayed here for one nightcouple of nightsour favouriteserving foodset you up for the day
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends (all male in our 50's) as we were Mountain Biking on Dartmoor for the weekend (15-18 August 2014). The rooms were all recently decorated and of a very good standard. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The two ales on offer, Jail Ale and IPA were very good and we never had a duff pint (we had quite a few!). Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and more than large enough for anyone with a normal appetite. The views from the rooms across the valley to Holne were great and the only noise came form the chickens and cows in the farmyard next door. There is a seating area outside with the views across the valley which gets both the rising and setting sun. It is a little remote, but I would highly recommend it to anyone walking, cycling or just visiting this wild area of Dartmoor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Brilliant dinner and excellent deserts! We love your homemade pies and the wonderful belgian roulade with clotted cream! But the most important: Very friendly people and staff. Many thank's to the wonderful young ladys!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schuster M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We (2 adults 2 children) stayed for 3 nights in the family room which is a converted loft. In reality it is a small 2 bedroom suite with ensuite bathroom. The views from the skylight windows over the countryside are amazing and the decor/furniture in this light and very clean place was top notch. The kids had a sofa bed each which they found comfy as did we in our double bed. The bathroom and shower were excellent (good water pressure) and amenities (shower gels, teas, coffee and water) are replaced on a daily basis.

The Inn itself is tucked away on a country lane and has a great atmosphere. The cooked breakfast was fresh and local produce. Don't be shy about asking for different eggs etc the staff couldn't be more helpful. The lunch and evening menus were great, in particular Tuesday steak nights!

The kids took advantage of the free WiFi by taking themselves upstairs to relax after dinner while we enjoyed the real ales and excellent selection of wine. As I say in the title perfect for families and couples.

Room Tip: Families: Check if the loft suite is available.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very good food and beer, friendly and very welcoming staff
Stayed for 8 nights, very comfortable room, good views peaceful nights
Had the attic room so was nice to have the extra space.
Breakfast was very good especially the scrambled eggs,

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed all that the place had to offer! The management were just lovely, as is their new puppy! Mark was very helpful with daily itineraries, places to visit and the best eateries in those areas (like The Rugglestone Inn). The Tradesman's Arms is a warm and friendly place to chat to locals and guests and enjoy some great dinners.
We had the top floor to ourselves, a big bedroom, a big living space and wonderful windows allowing for great views across the rolling hills.
The breakfasts were plentiful and hearty, setting us up for a day on the moors or falling asleep on the steam train!!!!
We really enjoyed our time here and would be very keen to return to the pub when next in Dartmoor. Even if you don't stay the night, stop in for the food!

Room Tip: If you would like plenty of space see if you can book the top bedroom!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RuthOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews