We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A proper pub with fantastic food”

The Tradesman's Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
newton abbot
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A proper pub with fantastic food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited last Thursday evening, a party of 10, booking is essential. They do a 7 before 7 menu, where all main meals ordered before 7 are £7. Worth every penny. A fantastic meal in a place where you could actually talk to each other without loud music, games and tvs. If you want a quiet meal in lovely surroundings this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kilnclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ampleforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Typical Devon Pub”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We ate supper here recently after a long drive from the north and staying at the Barn. The pub was clearly the centre of village social life and this made for a most homely atmosphere - especially as we had arrived in time for quiz night. The food was average with very big portions - as if we had spent all day in the fields and not stuck in the traffic on the M5.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitbag49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visit the Tradesmans once a month or so and are always made to feel really welcome. The food is always great quality, making the most of local produce and very good portions. The atmosphere is great - just like a big happy family. See you again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMgdjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Thanks guys for another great stay.
Food fab as always.
Steak was cooked perfect.
Quiz night was good fun.
Thanks to the locals for making us feel welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good end to the day !!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived in Scoriton at the end of the first day of our 2 Moors Walk. We stayed at The Barn in the village and walked to this nearby pub for dinner. We sat overlooking the valley on a beautiful sunny evening and ate an excellent meal which really made this a very good end to the day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tradesman's Arms also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Tradesman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing