We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Haven”
Review of Mitchelcroft B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mitchelcroft B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

What a find! Oh if only we had been able to stay more than one night.
We had no trouble finding it even though it is in such a rural location. On arrival we received a very warm and friendly welcome from Debbie and Michael. Lovely people! The accommodation is in a stunning location with far-reaching views and so close to Dartmoor. I absolutely loved the decor throughout and could move in tomorrow. Gorgeous wood everywhere but nothing over-powering and sensitive attention to detail. We stayed in the pond-room which is huge, extremely well furnished and spotlessly clean with an amazing bathroom and walk in shower. The towels were luxurious with excellent quality complimentary hair and shower products. We've never had a hospitality tray with such a plentiful choice of refreshment . The bed was huge and extremely comfortable as were the pillows.
On arrival Debbie provided a pot of tea and home-made cake which was most welcome. We sat out on the decking over-looking the pond and our own garden space-perfect. We absolutely loved the garden which had obviously been painstakingly created into a natural meadow with pathways mown through it. Having decided to chill out and not go out for a meal, we sat outside til late at night soaking up the last of the sun, enjoying our own food and several bottles of wine. Breakfast was the best we have ever had with such variety and choice. Everything was top quality and beautifully prepared. We were extremely lucky to be there during one of the hottest spells so far and ate breakfast with the concertina windows wide open looking out over the extensive views. Absolutely perfect. We,too, will be back.

Room Tip: The pond room is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peruviandiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Thank you so much, your review is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

This B&B is a lovely place to stay. We stayed here for a few nights. The welcome was warm and friendly, the hosts very helpful, the room comfortable, the breakfast absolutely excellent and delicious, and the view from the breakfast room was really stunning! We will come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Te G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Michelcroft exceeded our expectations. We went for a two night break. When we arrived Debbie showed us to our room and then brought through homemade cake and tea. We were in the Pond Room which was huge; very clean and had an amazing bathroom. I woke up early the next morning and sat on the deck outside our room, by the pond overlooking the gorgeous hills. It is in a great location- a short drive from the heart of the moor. We went out for a meal on both nights, both recommended by Debbie and Michael and they were excellent- particulary the Treby Arms. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Pond Room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we really do appreciate you taking time to write about your experience. We both hope you will come back again and see the new rooms one of which is being completed this week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Such a great place with very welcoming hosts! We felt at home from the minute we saw Debbie and Michael. The room was immaculate, the home cooked breakfast was so delicious. Debbie was very helpful to draw a route for our trip. We entered as strangers and left as friends! Thank you again for taking such good care of us!!! Inga and Owen

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely words and for choosing to stay with us at this special for you both. Perhaps you can come back and stay on your 30th Anniversary (like us this month!!!) but then again by then I shall probably be horribly old and cranky and so best to come back sooner.x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived for a few days early August last year, and had a beautiful stay. Debbie and Michael ensured that we felt totally at home and we were able to truly relax; absolutely nothing was too much trouble and we were completely blown away by their hospitality. Beautiful bedroom which was so comfortable; our 'own' little garden (which our two springers were delighted with!) and breakfast to die for.... fantastic locally sourced food, juices, fruit and homemade jams which just kept coming....At night we walked the short distance down through the lanes (no surprise that Debbie even had a couple of torches available for us!) to the local pub and restaurant in the village where we enjoyed great food and hospitality. Easiest recommendation ever.... Thanks again Debbie and Michael..

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms to even contemplate. Each is finished to high standard and perfect ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for the review, it's kind of you to take time out and write about your stay. Hope you are all well and Riley is behaving himself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had a really perfect stay here- we were welcomed by Debbie and enjoyed tea and cake by the fire upon arrival! Breakfast was fantastic, with lots of choice (organic and locally sourced produce), as well as a buffet (with fruit, yoghurt and muesli). Our room was beautifully decorated and was luxurious, comfortable and warm. The tea and coffee facilities included a cafetière alongside a teapot and we really liked the fact the milk was in a little flask (no UHT!) The whole house enjoys beautiful views Highly recommended by us both- we loved our stay and cannot wait to return! Ideal if you are in need of some rest and relaxation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahMS959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you again Hannah, and thank you for your card. Hopefully the R and R you got whilst in Devon had positive effect on your dissertations. Come back and let us know how you both get on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Michelcroft whilst on a two day course at Ashburton Cookery School. Debbie and Michael are amazing hosts. We felt like we were their house guests rather than customers. The house is beautiful and is good value for money. We would recommend the Pond Room. It's a great place for a romantic break or to simply escape the hustle and bustle of city life. We will come back.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rahoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and I hope the cooking is going well. Don't forget to email us a photo of your special day and Michael and I hope it all goes without a hitch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
12.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
339 reviews
5.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,387 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
511 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchelcroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchelcroft B&B

Address: Scorriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range: £79 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchelcroft is set in 5 acres of hayfields and garden and lies within the Dartmoor National Park, nestling in a beautiful patchwork of hillsides on the edge of the moor. Scoriton makes a good base for a longer stay. Wonderful walking either on the coast (a short drive away), the National Trust's Hembury Woods with its wild daffodils, bluebells and river dart at its base, or, of course, Dartmoor is on the doorstep. There is secure bike storage and some wonderful routes over Dartmoor direct from the house if cycling is your interest. A five minute walk from the house takes you to our lovely local pub, The Tradesman's Arms, serving great food every night of the week.Mitchelcroft is close to Holne, Ashburton, Buckfastleigh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mitchelcroft B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchelcroft B&B Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing