We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place we have stayed in England so far”
Review of Mitchelcroft B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mitchelcroft B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best place we have stayed in England so far”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

By far the best place we have stayed while we are on weekends away in England and the best value one. We actually thought it was very cheap compared to other places we have stayed in that region and others on England! I don't think I can think of anything that can be improved as everything was amazing. We stayed there for 2nights. The house is my dream house especially the dining room, kitchen and the garden! It is more like a small park than a garden. We were very lucky with the weather so we ended up enjoying the outside of this magnificent B and B. Debbie is so friendly and I felt like I knew her. She is very approachable and open and she makes you feel like home. She is also an amazing cook. We only met Michael briefly as he was away but we would definitely go back and make sure we can spend time with them. I can imagine they have lots of stories to tell and lots of great food to cook! Oh and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic! I can imagine myself staying there for at least a week and not getting bored! Total tranquility and peace. We are planning to go back but I suspect this place will be getting more popular by the day. So visit while it is still a hidden gem.

Room Tip: There were only two rooms when we stayed and they we both lovely. There is so much space in the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Vassia, it was great to have you stay with us, and now we have three rooms and if you call us we will always try and make space for you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
129
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Lovely hosts, in a lovely house with fantastic views. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and coffee with a nice bit of cake. Our room was very comfortable and it was great to have our own decked 'balcony' area.What more can I say. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hope you will visit again and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent two nights at Mitchelcroft during our trip around England and it was by far the best of all the B&B's we stayed at. The house is beautifully decorated on the in- and outside with a gorgeous garden area overlooking miles of green and idyllic countryside. We booked the Pond Room which couldn't have been more beautiful. A very large room with a cosy and big bed, lots of space, and the most gorgeous bathroom with two sinks, a bathtub and a shower large enough to fit 5 people in at the least - pure perfection. Also, the room has its own (!) pond in front of the terrace and an own garden area. Furthermore, Debbie was a great host, answering all our questions and assisting us with information of the area.
All in all, a perfect little B&B in a very quiet and idyllic location with a lovely host, great breakfast and the best room of our trip! Thanks for everything, Debbie!

Room Tip: Can't recommed the Pond Room highly enough! Pure bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for a smashing review, we really appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience at Mitchelcroft. Come back and see again. Xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having undertaken a number of long distance walks, my husband and I have stayed in a lot of lovely (and not so lovely) B & B's. we've had comfy beds, good food, nice surroundings, lovely hosts. But what makes Mitchelcroft extra special is that it has all these elements in bucket loads. When you first arrive you are warmly greeted and made to feel extremely welcome by both Debbie and Michael. Tea and cake was served in the garden, and what a garden! The views of the rolling Devon countryside are all around you, the house is in a truly lovely setting. There are a number of places you can sit in the garden and drink in the lovely views, but these are not the only seating areas. Each room has it's own little outside seating space where you can enjoy an early morning cuppa, or just relax after a day exploring your surroundings. We stayed in the Garden room which was lovely and contained an extremely comfortable bed. The modern bathroom contains both a bath and shower and Debbie has ensured that all needs are catered for with a wide array of toiletries. Breakfast too, is both plentiful and delicious. Debbie provides you with a breakfast menu so that you can make your choices - and there is a lot of choice - the day before, or just decide in the morning if you prefer. All the food is sourced locally where possible and is cooked to perfection. All this is served in the lovely breakfast room with a wall of glass doors which open up to bring the outdoors in. Every other guest we spoke to all said that it was one of the nicest places they had stayed and all wanted to return. Though Mitchelcroft is in the middle of nowhere, it's easy to find and the pub, The Tradesman's Arms is literally a five minute walk away and serves good food too! Above everything else, I think the owners Debbie & Michael, are what makes Mitchelcroft so special. Nothing is too much trouble and you feel that they genuinely enjoy having you as their guests. This is a truly wonderful B & B. We have been to far more expensive places that aren't half as good! We stayed there for a night at the start of the walk and returned there for the last night when we had finished the Dartmoor Way. Both my husband and I felt very excited to be returning 'home' as we knew the treat that awaited us!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarrieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you Karen, what a lovely review. When you run a bed and breakfast you never know who will walk through the door and Michael and I have been blown away with the lovely people who have walked through our door over the last year. We both hope you will be back to walk some more of Dartmoor and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

What a find! Oh if only we had been able to stay more than one night.
We had no trouble finding it even though it is in such a rural location. On arrival we received a very warm and friendly welcome from Debbie and Michael. Lovely people! The accommodation is in a stunning location with far-reaching views and so close to Dartmoor. I absolutely loved the decor throughout and could move in tomorrow. Gorgeous wood everywhere but nothing over-powering and sensitive attention to detail. We stayed in the pond-room which is huge, extremely well furnished and spotlessly clean with an amazing bathroom and walk in shower. The towels were luxurious with excellent quality complimentary hair and shower products. We've never had a hospitality tray with such a plentiful choice of refreshment . The bed was huge and extremely comfortable as were the pillows.
On arrival Debbie provided a pot of tea and home-made cake which was most welcome. We sat out on the decking over-looking the pond and our own garden space-perfect. We absolutely loved the garden which had obviously been painstakingly created into a natural meadow with pathways mown through it. Having decided to chill out and not go out for a meal, we sat outside til late at night soaking up the last of the sun, enjoying our own food and several bottles of wine. Breakfast was the best we have ever had with such variety and choice. Everything was top quality and beautifully prepared. We were extremely lucky to be there during one of the hottest spells so far and ate breakfast with the concertina windows wide open looking out over the extensive views. Absolutely perfect. We,too, will be back.

Room Tip: The pond room is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peruviandiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 17 February 2015
Thank you so much, your review is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliedrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This B&B is a lovely place to stay. We stayed here for a few nights. The welcome was warm and friendly, the hosts very helpful, the room comfortable, the breakfast absolutely excellent and delicious, and the view from the breakfast room was really stunning! We will come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Te G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Michelcroft exceeded our expectations. We went for a two night break. When we arrived Debbie showed us to our room and then brought through homemade cake and tea. We were in the Pond Room which was huge; very clean and had an amazing bathroom. I woke up early the next morning and sat on the deck outside our room, by the pond overlooking the gorgeous hills. It is in a great location- a short drive from the heart of the moor. We went out for a meal on both nights, both recommended by Debbie and Michael and they were excellent- particulary the Treby Arms. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Pond Room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we really do appreciate you taking time to write about your experience. We both hope you will come back again and see the new rooms one of which is being completed this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
12.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
5.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kilbury Manor
Kilbury Manor
#2 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchelcroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchelcroft B&B

Property: Mitchelcroft B&B
Address: Scorriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchelcroft is set in 5 acres of hayfields and garden and lies within the Dartmoor National Park, nestling in a beautiful patchwork of hillsides on the edge of the moor. Scoriton makes a good base for a longer stay. Wonderful walking either on the coast (a short drive away), the National Trust's Hembury Woods with its wild daffodils, bluebells and river dart at its base, or, of course, Dartmoor is on the doorstep. There is secure bike storage and some wonderful routes over Dartmoor direct from the house if cycling is your interest. A five minute walk from the house takes you to our lovely local pub, The Tradesman's Arms, serving great food every night of the week.Mitchelcroft is close to Holne, Ashburton, Buckfastleigh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mitchelcroft B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchelcroft B&B Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing