We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it!”
Review of Mitchelcroft B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mitchelcroft B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here recently for a week whilst on a cookery Course at Ashburton Cookery School. Having stayed at the school accommodation last time, I thought I would try something different.

Debbie and Michael couldn’t do enough for me. When I arrived, I was offered tea an cake – just what I needed after a long drive. I don’t like country lanes, so they were great at putting me at ease. Debbie suggested some walks I could try and even offered to take me out on one. They told me about the local pub and how to get there – offering me a torch to help in the darkness. Unfortunately, as I went in winter, it was dark when I arrived home after my course. Next time I would go in summer and really take in the local environment more.

They were really chatty, asking how my day went etc – and I think this makes it much more personal. Having said that they were no way invasive and so I was more than happy to chat with them.

In terms of the accommodation, the house was a little hard to find first time around, but the instructions given were really helpful so I managed.

The house itself is lovely. Really well presented, lovely small and cosy lounge with fire for guests, great dining room where I sat a few evenings. In the summer months, the view would be something to savour.

The bedroom was lovely too and a really good size. A very comfy bed, a great shower, WIFI and a balcony overlooking Dartmoor.

There is also a small library of books to borrow and a fridge for guests in the dining room– handy if you want to chill a beer for when you get home!

I would usually opt in to stay in hotels rather than B&Bs, but I must admit my experience here has changed my mind-set completely. The price was much better than a hotel and I believe it has more to offer. I had a lovely stay and cannot wait to book and return! I would thoroughly recommend Mitchelcroft!

Room Tip: Don't arrive in the dark - it will be very tricky to find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Amy and hope you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
143
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay this weekend in Debbie and Michael's beautiful home. We can't fault anything, from the warm welcome with tea and cake on arrival to the amazing breakfast views to the very comfortable bed. Exceptional bathroom. Lovely guest lounge with a roaring fire which we had all to ourselves. We stayed in the Pond room and hope to return in the summer to enjoy the private balcony area. We will definitely be recommending this place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your review Wendy and all the help and coverage you have given to Mitchelcroft over the last few months. Look forward to seeing you both again in the Autumn.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Mitchelcroft is an exceptional B&B. After a long winter cycle ride in the rurality of Dartmoor it was a real treat to experience the warmth of Debbie and Michael's welcome, a steaming pot of tea and homemade cake, and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in (in The Garden Room). The house is beautiful, the views from the dining room are first-class and the excellent breakfast was substantial enough to fuel another day of cycling! Michael locked my bike away securely overnight and had it ready for me the next morning, so it's a very cycle-friendly place. I can't wait to return and ride the High Moor Link that goes right past Mitchelcroft's front door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your review Wendy and all the help and coverage you have given to Mitchelcroft over the last few months. Look forward to seeing you both again in the Autumn.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Debbie and Michael are thoroughly wonderful hosts and with such ease made us feel completely welcome in their beautiful home. Everywhere you look is a feast for the eyes whether indoors or out and the ambiance is homely and comforting. We both felt totally looked after from tea and cake on arrival, an unexpected upgrade, to a log fire waiting for us to cosy up in front of. I cannot thank Debbie and Michael enough for providing such a wonderfully relaxing and hugely enjoyable break for us to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinnerhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and sorry it has taken a while to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but Debbie and Michael made us so welcome (felt like we had been friends for years!), down to tea and scones on arrival in a very comfortable sofa! They even loaned a torch for the dark walk down to the local pub, which is by the way also highly recommended (but don't eat for 24 hours before!) The room was spotless, breakfast excellent and the selection of beverages the best we've ever experienced. We will certainly return, IF they aren't already fully booked! David and Sue.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you David and we will look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a gem in the heart of Dartmoor! A warm welcome from Debbie the hostess, tea and cakes and your on your own. A beautiful setting and a very well appointed suite overlooking a garden pond. The room and en suite would show up even the 'One and Only' in Cape Town.
A fantastic nights sleep followed by a superb breakfast over looking a magnificent Dartmoor landscape. Do not go anywhere else, this venue is priceless and for just £90 for two people!!

Room Tip: Pond room fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for those lovely words and I went on line to look at the place in Cape Town.....Wow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

By far the best place we have stayed while we are on weekends away in England and the best value one. We actually thought it was very cheap compared to other places we have stayed in that region and others on England! I don't think I can think of anything that can be improved as everything was amazing. We stayed there for 2nights. The house is my dream house especially the dining room, kitchen and the garden! It is more like a small park than a garden. We were very lucky with the weather so we ended up enjoying the outside of this magnificent B and B. Debbie is so friendly and I felt like I knew her. She is very approachable and open and she makes you feel like home. She is also an amazing cook. We only met Michael briefly as he was away but we would definitely go back and make sure we can spend time with them. I can imagine they have lots of stories to tell and lots of great food to cook! Oh and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic! I can imagine myself staying there for at least a week and not getting bored! Total tranquility and peace. We are planning to go back but I suspect this place will be getting more popular by the day. So visit while it is still a hidden gem.

Room Tip: There were only two rooms when we stayed and they we both lovely. There is so much space in the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Vassia, it was great to have you stay with us, and now we have three rooms and if you call us we will always try and make space for you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
2.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
477 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,267 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
495 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
5.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchelcroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchelcroft B&B

Property: Mitchelcroft B&B
Address: Scorriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchelcroft is set in 5 acres of hayfields and garden and lies within the Dartmoor National Park, nestling in a beautiful patchwork of hillsides on the edge of the moor. Scoriton makes a good base for a longer stay. Wonderful walking either on the coast (a short drive away), the National Trust's Hembury Woods with its wild daffodils, bluebells and river dart at its base, or, of course, Dartmoor is on the doorstep. There is secure bike storage and some wonderful routes over Dartmoor direct from the house if cycling is your interest. A five minute walk from the house takes you to our lovely local pub, The Tradesman's Arms, serving great food every night of the week.Mitchelcroft is close to Holne, Ashburton, Buckfastleigh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mitchelcroft B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchelcroft B&B Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing