We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take earplugs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dartbridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dartbridge Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
285 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Take earplugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

First the positives: Good cooked breakfast, comfortable bed, first rate power shower and easy parking.

However, the big negative for me was the noise of traffic on the main road right in front of the hotel. If you're a light sleeper, you'll need some heavy duty earplugs. Even though our two-night stay was very good value, the traffic noise would put me off returning to the Dartbridge Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are to be avoided due to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I must thank you for your feedback as this can be an issue for light sleepers. If however you are visiting us again then please speak to myself or one of my team and we can allocate you a room near the back of th ehotel where it is much quieter.
We are pleased you enjoyed everything else and best wishes

Kes Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    150
    66
    37
    37
See reviews for
72
279
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is the first Old English Inn we have stayed in. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is delicious and I enjoyed my 'full English' on both mornings. We ate at the Inn on both evenings and both of us enjoyed the food.
The only downside to our stay was that we were in room 9 at the front which was very hot and on the busy A38. There was a fan in the room, however, it was too noisy to keep on during the night. We had to keep the window open during the first night and both found it difficult to sleep due to the noise of the traffic. On the second night we closed the window, however, it was stifling and had to open it in the early hours of the morning. All in all we didn't feel refreshed or relaxed when waking. If staying there again we would need to have a room at the rear for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank-you for your comments. I hope this has not dissuaded you from using us or Old English Inns again. The summer was an extreemly hot one this year and we will be looking into portable air con units for those days where it is far too hot. From a quieter room we do have some towards the back of the hotel so please do ask and we will endevour to make sure you have a quieter room.
I have passed your feedback onto th eteam who have worked really hard this season and they enjoy reading your feedback!
Kind Regards
Kes Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for a friends wedding reception and had one of the driest flavourless meals myself and my wife had even had which was odd seeing the reviews were favourable. The pub did not have a function room to hold weddings so the whole thing was in the restaurant with members of the public milling around in the next door bar (open plan). For a venue to offer weddings you would expect everything to run smoothly which it did not the food was still being served when the evening event should have started. I suggest if you stay do not charge things to your room as we were charged for other peoples drinks which I disputed and asked for copies of the bar bill which the staff could not provide and two weeks later have still not provided but they have managed to debit my bank account for an amount that I am still disputing. Very unprofessional staff who do not have a clue about running a pub or an event. I would avoid the breakfast which was swimming in fat and bland the only high point was the bed which was very comfortable. In a nutshell I am very annoyed that a sum of money which is being disputed was removed without my permission from my bank account which I will be taking further. The rooms could do with a refurb as the bathrooms look like they were installed in the 70's

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in this inn during the heat wave. Unfortunately, they built the bedrooms in the roof without thinking to put in air conditioning. There was a large floor fan in our room but you couldn't put it on at night (when you really needed it) because of the noise. Some of the guests had to leave their doors open when they were in during the evening to cool down! So don't stay there during a very hot summer! On the Sunday evening I ordered a roast which was overcooked and uneatable. It turns out that they cook the roasts at lunchtime, then heat them up under the grill for the evening. So if you want a roast I suggest you order one at lunchtime.

On the plus side, the bedroom was clean and the staff were very friendly and made you feel at home. The breakfasts are excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. As for the air conditioning, being an Old English Inn we were built in an age where this was not available, however for the winters we have the heating and log fires. Given this summer was extreamly hot and due to your feedback we will be investing in some portable air con units for those freak days where it's just too hot. From a food point all our food is cooked to order so i am unable to answer why your may have been grilled for you on the night in question and again i have shared this concern with my kitchen team.
Kind Regards

Kes Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the best Old English Inn we have stayed in. The friendliness of the staff was amazing. On leaving after four nights the lovely Kerry said "I hope you felt part of the family". We certainly did. All the staff went the extra mile, even to delaying their leaving after work to chat and say farewell on our last evening. Our room was clean and comfortable, the only problem was the constant traffic en route to Dartmouth.]
Thank you Kes and all your team for a relaxing and enjoyable few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hi Pat

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and i have passed your thanks onto Kerry who is probably one the most guest obsessed people i know. This year i have been blessed with finding such great talent for my team and they really have done well, i am very proud of them all. Hopefully we will see you soon and thanks once again for your lovely comments.

Best wishes

Kes & The Team at the Dartbridge Inn
(Don't forget we still have a few spaces for Christmas day lunch...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break as part of my 40th birthday celebrations. Upon arrival and throughout our stay the staff were amazing and very welcoming. The room we had was clean and adequate for our needs. The beds and pillows were really comfortable and all had fresh crisp white bedding. There was a good selection of teas and coffee in our room, not really any bathroom nik naks as such but it did have a small hand soap and small shower gel. Shower water gets very hot so be careful Room was op main road, perhaps slightly noisy for some but it did not spoil our holiday. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and coffee was served from a very hot pot by the waitress. We ate in the restaurant downstairs on both evenings, food was excellent but drink was very expensive. Very nice place, close to everything and we enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you Kez and Kiron you were both wonderful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We hope you had a fantastic 40th here at the Dartbridge Inn! Thanks for your comments i have made sure the team have seen them...Don't forget to come back and se us soon! Still got a few rooms left for Christmas :-)

Really nice to meet you both

Best wishes

Kes, Kiren and the Team at the Dartbridge Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

A delightful inn in a delightful setting. Room was a little cramped but food and service was very good. Breakfast was very good and satisfied my needs for a fry up and my wife's needs for healthy food. Only adverse comment is be carefully in the car entering or leaving on a bend on a fast road.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex24091943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, breakfast is such an important meal of the day and i am glad you enjoyed yours! We feel it's probably one of the best value for money breakfasts with it's fresh pastries every day...

We hope you had a safe journey back and look forward to seeing you soon. Maybe in time for our menu change on the 8th October

Many thanks

Kes Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#4 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilbury Manor
Kilbury Manor
#2 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Tradesman's Arms
The Tradesman's Arms
#3 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbridge Inn

Property: Dartbridge Inn
Address: Totnes Rd, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dartbridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dartbridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartbridge Hotel Buckfastleigh
Dartbridge Inn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing