We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Dartbridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dartbridge Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Small hotel from Old English Inns chain.Good location near to Buckfastleigh.
Tired looking hotel and fairly small rooms, with sloping ceiling, restricting head space.Bathroom had avocado suite, but was clean.
Staff, as usual for this chain, were lovely, always friendly and helpful.
Ate in 1 night, standard pub fayre, good portionsand reasonable prices.
Always look forward to breakfast and was not disapointed.
Stayed on a deal, so it was good value, but needs a refurb.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for your time and putting a nice comment on trip advisor about the team. We do have some rooms without the charactoristic slanting roofs and your more than welcome to request one on your next visit.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Kes & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    164
    69
    41
    39
See reviews for
78
302
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First time for us staying in this part of Devon and found this an ideal spot to base ourselves. Large friendly Pub with great staff and a good food selection for the evenings. Very close to the main road but no noise in the smallish but comfortable bedroom.No problem in recommending this and we'll certainly be returning to further our adventures in Devon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blurredcrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. We have had guests staying here a week and they were still unable to visit all the places...Hope you managed to get on the Steam Train and see Totnes as it's one of my favourites.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Many Thanks
Kes & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Located just off the A38, easy to get to and convenient for touring Dartmoor and Devon coast. Stayed 9 to 11 April 2014, check in was pleasant Kerry explained all that we needed to know, our room (#6) was clean, although the carpet could do with a deep clean, the room was a reasonable size with a good amount of storage, our room was on the corner and had an average size bathroom, again clean. Usual coffee & tea making facilities, good size flat screen TV, which kept losing the sound after it had been switched on a while. Turning off and on cured this problem. Room had double glazing, but traffic noise was evident from very early in the morning, also TV noise etc. from the adjacent room could wake you. All staff were very helpful and friendly, Kerry was very helpful and pleasant staff member. Breakfast was great and cooked & presented well. Old English Inns have got this right, shame some more expensive hotels aren't a good. Greene King beer kept well. Evening meal also great, well prepared. Good value as we stayed using a special deal. Rooms accessed from upper level car park.The hotel would benefit from some refurbishment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less traffic noise if a light sleeper. Front rooms have a nice view of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivang1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill this in. I will make sure Kerry sees you lovely comments about her service. As for the refurbishment of the rooms we are in conversations and hoping early next year we will benifit from more investment. Luckily the beds, showers and new TV's have already been done

Kind Regards
Kes & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked this for my 30th Birthday to celebrate with friends and family over lunch and the food and service was fantastic! Good portions and good value for money. My friends were really happy with the variety of the menu and the staff helped make my day really special and were very helpful with all we required. Have ate this pub about 5 times now and every time has been great! Its nice and spacious inside and has a big car park too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahhorswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We hope you had a fantastic birthday evening...We hope to see you soon

Regards

Kes & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here last Friday & Saturday night. We were given a very warm welcome by Kiren & the rest of the team. Our room was clean & comfortable, we had a room on the side of the building with a woodland view, although we could hear traffic noise, which is to be expected so close to the A38.
The food was good with plenty of selection. My steak was one of the best I'd had for a long time & rare meant rare, as ordered. Breakfast was a veritable feast, with something for even the biggest appetites.

The only downside was noise from other rooms when some guests had an earlier start than us.

Room Tip: Room 5, side room, away from busy road at front of the Dartbridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarenceCott28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. I will make sure the team read your comments. We get lots of compliments about the food and service with is warming...

Thank you once again

Regards
Kes & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The staff here during our weekend break were very helpful and friendly. The food was good especially the breakfast which had a good range of choices.
The location by the busy road junction meant it was difficult to walk into town but a good central location for touring Devon by car or public transport.
The hotel was a bit tired looking although the room was clean

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your visit. I am very pleased the team met your expectations. Our rooms will be refurbed early next year so this will be something to look forward.

Kind Regards

Kes & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have had several short breaks at other hotels in the Old English Inns Group, but this was a first at the Dartbridge. Good choice! Excellent food, very helpful and friendly servers (especially Ben and Jack), comfortable beds and a nice clean bedroom (we had expected a less-than-comfortable room, having read earlier tripadvisor reviews). Just one tip - if you want a good night's sleep, wear earplugs if you have a room at the front - traffic on the A384 can be rather noisy.

Room Tip: If you book in advance, ask for a room facing the rear - it would be quieter! Although the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for highlighting Jack and Ben, they will be pleased that they were noticed as i know they work very hard to exceed customers expectations and thank you for the room tips for other guests, we do have quieter rooms but they do not have the view...

Many Thanks
Kes & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Furzeleigh Mill
Furzeleigh Mill
#8 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilbury Manor
Kilbury Manor
#2 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbridge Inn

Property: Dartbridge Inn
Address: Totnes Rd, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dartbridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dartbridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartbridge Hotel Buckfastleigh
Dartbridge Inn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing