We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Excellent!”
Review of Dartbridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dartbridge Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Truly Excellent!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Called in June, 2014. We had an outstanding meal for an incredible price. Can't speak highly enough of this place. Staff too are all friendly and helpful. This place is well-placed, quite close to Totnes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    167
    72
    46
    39
See reviews for
83
309
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were only staying for one night, and I must say that the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was also pretty good. But, the room was small, very hot and desperately in need of sprucing up. I have to say, it was very clean, but the furniture etc. is very old fashioned and tired. The double room we had at the back of the Inn was much smaller than our son's twin room at the front, but then he had the traffic noise...

Room Tip: The front rooms are pretty bad for traffic noise, but the room we had at the back was very small wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Dartbridge, friendly attentive staff (especially Jack, Ben, Lily, Kieran, Kerry, and Caz) , well cooked food, and lovely atmosphere. Rooms were spotless and comfrotable. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from a three night break here. Although room on the small side was very clean and well equiped for a short break. In a long while, have not met such helpful, kind and considerate staff. Food was enjoyable but after three evenings would have liked a bit more variety on the menu. Look forward to returning here again very soon
Mowheels

Room Tip: Just returned from a three night stay. Although room size on the small side it was very clean and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our first experience staying at a traditional English Pub. Unfortunately we had a room facing the main road and although the windows are were double glazed the traffic noise went on most of the night. The beds however were new, clean and comfortable. We had considerable trouble with the shower ....the temperature was very hard to regulate. The carpets needed a good steam clean.....not a difficult or expensive thing to do but would be a great improvement to the place.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I last visited the Dartbridge Inn several years ago and was happy with the atmosphere, food and the service ! Although I was sad to see that this pretty and nicely situated establishment had got into the hands of "Old English Inns" a. group of 6 of us decided to go for Sunday Lunch. The table had been booked well in advance, when we arrived it wasn't set, and just had odd groups of cutlery and three glasses in place the table was sticky in places and had obviously not been wiped over. The place was not busy, considering that it was Sunday, and the weather was fair. A waiter came to the table and took our order for drinks and gave us badly stained menus ……the drinks arrived quite promptly and eventually he returned to take our order. We had time to kill whilst waiting and couldn't help noticing that there were remains of Christmas Decorations still attached to the walls…..three of us ordered starters which took 25 minutes to arrive and were very poor indeed, the prawn cocktail glass had water in the bottom of it, and some of the lettuce was brown !! We waited for over 30 minutes for the started to be cleared and eventually the main courses arrived. The turkey was acceptable, but the beef was tasteless and grey ! the presentation on the plate was poor and the vegetables overcooked. The roast potatoes were "Hollow"….by this time we had come to the conclusion that to complain would have been a waste of time. There simply was no interest in Customer satisfaction or service. When the plates were removed there was no enquiry was to why there was still food left on them. We asked for the dessert menu, but no none came to take an order……we asked for the bill on the way out, offered the cash to the Manager behind the bar and war told "just leave it there"……a most unsatisfactory visit and none of us would go again. Two of the party had had a similar experience at "The Swan" in Alton, Hampshire. This is owned by the same group, and again the reception, the food and the service were terrible. The same thing occurred when trying to order a dessert !
Having been in the Service and Catering industry for many years it occurs to met that there is a total lack of Staff training ….. such a pity !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMickyfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have passed this place lots of times, and i used to go here many yrs ago as a child. We decided to give it a go as nearly lunch time. Two female staff at the bar, and it felt as though we were interrupting them by asking about some of the menu options!

They said the menu was a new one, so they weren't too familiar with it, but seemed lacking in any desire to find out for us from the chef/kitchen.
All we wanted was a burger and a potato.

Food came quickly, but plonked down, on the sticky table it didn't look all that.

How can you ruin a spud?

Won't be back. What a shame.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
491 reviews
11.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,302 reviews
10.1 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#6 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furzeleigh Mill
Furzeleigh Mill
#8 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbridge Inn

Property: Dartbridge Inn
Address: Totnes Rd, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dartbridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dartbridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartbridge Hotel Buckfastleigh
Dartbridge Inn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing