We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small, friendly and very different visit for all the family. Run by a small dedicated team we aim to make your visit educational and fun. You can enjoy and learn about our tropical butterflies in the specially designed habitat of which you become part. You not only see the butterflies but feel the rainforest atmosphere that they enjoy as you see their amazing life cycle unfold.In the Otter Sanctuary there are three species of otter to see, our native British otter, the playful Asian short clawed otters and the large North American river otters who love to show off. Our keeper is on hand to explain all about the otters to visitors, some are here for breeding, some for retirement, some just for fun and some because they are unsuitable to be returned to the wild.Make sure to bring your camera.
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I came here with my boyfriend, mum, auntie and uncle. We really enjoyed it! The butterflies were beautiful (its very hot so make sure you wear something cooler under yout top) but my favourites were definately the otters. Its clear how much the keeper loves these otters! They are all very happy and love to entertain the visitors. The best time of day to go is feeding time. I learnt loads about otters at feeding time from the keeper. They are all proper little characters....and very cute! Its not a large place so if you are looking for a longer day out I recommend the combined ticket for a ride on the steam train and rare breeds farm too. I live locally and shall be back again soon :)

Helpful?
Thank mellymoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,101
    252
    73
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best presentation I've ever seen - I'm now into all things Otter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Exciting and informative with plenty of humour !
Really good value for money.
Tim and Chloe are experts in their field and very very funny ; )

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NicolaBoo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for posting this review, Tim and Chloe love working with our amazing otters who make it easy for them both to pass on the magic of these animals to our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Such a superb gem of a place. Tim, the keeper, is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the otters it really is contagious. You should add it to your list of things to do in Devon for sure!

Helpful?
Thank PamBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

was disappointed with the amount of butterflies and the fact that it didnt take that long to walk around the large greenhouse and then out into the otter section which again was very big, it was nice to see the otters but for the price i think we expected to see more

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bunny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review. I wonder if perhaps you missed some things during your visit? A lot of the "butterfly action" needs a bit of time and observation but once you start looking it's amazing what is going on all around you.
We try to make sure visitors have a full run down of what to look out for when they arrive and when the otter feeding times and butterfly talks are taking place. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the otters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best attractions in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Buttefly Farm and Otter Sanctuary are an excellent way to spend a few hours. Our children were entranced by the exotic butterflies, which often land on your head or hands. There is the right amount of information without being educational overload. The otter sanctuary is run by 3 volunteers and funded entirely by donations and entry fees. As well as being home to half a dozen foreign species the sanctuary also rescues injured or abandoned british otters and hopefully reintroduces them to the wild. Feeding time mustn't be missed, when the otters show their personalities and entertain the visitors. They have also been known to catch the odd seagull. Tim is very knowledgable and happy to answer questions. Don't forget to see the leaf-cutter ants nest in the reception/shop area. You can also take a picnic along the Rivr Dart nature trail and may see otters in the wild. Please do visit amd support their valuable work.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and were able to pick up on the work we enjoy doing and sharing with visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing