We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small, friendly and very different visit for all the family. Run by a small dedicated team we aim to make your visit educational and fun. You can enjoy and learn about our tropical butterflies in the specially designed habitat of which you become part. You not only see the butterflies but feel the rainforest atmosphere that they enjoy as you see their amazing life cycle unfold.In the Otter Sanctuary there are three species of otter to see, our native British otter, the playful Asian short clawed otters and the large North American river otters who love to show off. Our keeper is on hand to explain all about the otters to visitors, some are here for breeding, some for retirement, some just for fun and some because they are unsuitable to be returned to the wild.Make sure to bring your camera.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Always a fabulous visit, both years ago with children in tow, or recently just my husband and I.
The butterflies and moths are marvellous and so interesting but almost secondary to the magical world of otters.
Tim is excellent and takes you round at feeding time, talking about these gorgeous animals. You really are up close and personal, especially if you have chosen the "otter experience" £100 for 1 person or £150 for 2, where you spend at least the morning with Tim and get I. The enclosures to feed the otters. But even for us, with our £8:50 (?) tickets, with low walls and no cages, you are right there with them. Bargain for such a magical time, especially with knowing that the money goes back into feeding and saving these beautiful creatures.
Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely review and the great photographs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,118
    255
    73
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting couple of hours”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Tim, the guy who talks about the Otters is a joy to listen to. The whole place isn't very big, and you have to accept that your admission fee is to help their conservation work, but it is a very interesting and enjoyable few hours. You wouldn't really want a full day there, although the Steam Train station is virtually in the car park- so combine the two!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cliffmTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your great review. As you say combining a visit to ourselves with a trip on the South Devon Railway makes for a great day out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical otter experience!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I bought the otter experience voucher for my boyfriend last year as he has always held a fascination for them!

This morning we went along and had a brilliant time!!

We were warmly greeted by Chloe who showed as the live video feeds of the otters while she went to get Tim the keeper. Tim was absolutely fantastic. His knowledge and passion for otters was infectious and helped us through each part of our experience with a big grin!!

We were introduced to all the residents before getting to work. However I admire how Tim gets any work done with such cute faces and antics all around him!

Feeding time was so special as we got up close and personal with Jasmine and Felix! We have hundreds of brilliant photos and videos which we will share on Facebook. Especially the ones of little peppa and her frog!

All in all it was a fantastic experience that I would recommend to anyone. We adopted cheeky Mr squeaks so will definately be making the journey from Scotland again to say hello to all our new friends!

Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your great review, and your help looking after the otters. Hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have always loved otters and my kids have inherited this too. We easily spent a few hours here watching them play and feed, I could have stayed all day. Very easy to see the animals who, being fairly tame, are no longer nocturnal. The deeding tour is a must with loads of fascinating facts and led by Tim who is clearly passionate and very knowledgeable. It's infectious and with his guidance you could really see the different personalities coming through. There was a lovely family/ small feel to the place and it is obvious that the emphasis is on conversation and breeding otters rather than extorting large amounts of cash for you. Was thrilled at the £2.95 cuddly otters in the shop which my girls adored and were able to spend carefully saved pocket money on. A lovely momento of a magical day, I could have watched them for hours more. Oh and the butterflies, and chrysalises, were beautiful too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartotter, Owner at Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Make sure you stay for feeding time”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Got to be honest when I first saw otter enclosures with nothing in them and all but 2 otters not asleep I thought not good we then noticed one of 3 feeding times coming up at 4.00 pm only half hour away went to see train, came back and what a transformation Tim the keeper kept us entertained with an informative talk about the otters and all came out to see him, and perform totally fantastic pity we didn't have time to go again be warned this lasts an hour if you got a train trip booked time around this . One couple didn't and asked at desk if they could take train trip next day and told not (and it wasn't cheap) I thought rather mean and bad for business (can't see them giving it a good review) perhaps they should have made it clear to them on desk ( only young though and prob not trained properly).

Helpful?
Thank Numpty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing