We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out”

South Devon Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The South Devon Railway is one of the West Country’s best loved tourist attractions and is the longest established steam railway in the region. The former GWR branch line runs along the stunning valley of the Dart between Buckfastleigh and Totnes on a 14 mile round trip. The steam trains offer a wonderful all day, all weather attraction for families and people of all ages. The railway also has a fascinating museum, gardens, riverside walk, locomotive restoration workshops, a gift and model railway shop, refreshment rooms and more. Free car parking at Buckfastleigh, just off the A38, midway between Exeter and Plymouth; Totnes is a 500 yard walk from the main line station.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited the South Devon Railway on a recent trip to Totnes. Return fare was £12.40 which is good value for the 30 minute trip from Totnes to Buckfastleigh and back. It was wonderful to travel on the old fashioned steam train, especially as the weather was so nice. Once in Buckfastleigh we visited the Dartmoor Otters and Buckfast Abbey before returning later in the day on the train. Would highly recommend this for people of all ages, we didn't have any children with us but i'm sure they would enjoy it as much as the adults.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    231
    39
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fabulous ride through the South Devon Countryside”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

What a fantastic experience we had last week. The trains and carriages are in excellent condition. We got on at Buckfastleigh for the 45 minute ride to Totnes stopping at Staverton. The train winds along the River Dart and through beautiful country side where we saw an abundance of wildlife. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon with beautiful weather

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RC6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a great family day out”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

went on this steam train and carriages last week with my brother and his three grandchildren.they loved it and so did i.it only takes about half an hour each way but at the totnes terminus there is a rare breeds farm where you can get in with certain breeds of animals,this is extra as it is not part of south devon railway and neither is another attraction that is the otter and butterfly sanctuary.an old fashioned simple day out

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevetPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“you cannot miss!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

even though it was raining, we still jad a great day out and saw the otters and butterflies place, the mibiature railway, and the museum. I would highly recommend!! Even if trains are not for you, theres still so much to see and do like the huge gift shop and model railway...

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this trip to Totnes and back from Buckfastleigh.
Parking free and plentiful.
Food in the cafe was very nice and good value
Train tickets were fairly good value when you consider what you are travelling in and the whole experience.
Two adults , two kids and a senior citizen all thoroughly happy! Would recommend and return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 30Happy_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Devon Railway also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to South Devon Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing