We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect romantic hideaway”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of The Old Stables

50 reviews | other travellers have booked this property
Cottage 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 4 Pets not allowed Save
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Spacious Lounge -  Cosy & peaceful, wood burner, complete entertainment package
The Orangery - Tranquil open space with fruit trees and flowers
Character Kitchen - modern appliances, country-style units, terracotta floor tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BostonLuc...
Boston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Perfect romantic hideaway

Booked by my husband as a surprise for my birthday and what a delightful surprise it was. Hidden away at the bottom of the cobbled alley this cosy little cottage was everything the other reviews promised it would be, from the delightful orangery to the open beamed sitting room off which is the chapel twin bedroom. The welcome basket of produce and the milk in the fridge were such thoughtful extras. The kitchen is fabulously well equipped and leads on to the compact but private courtyard...perfect for breakfast al fresco. The open plan staircase leads up to the fabulous bathroom....with that awesome bath for two! The main bedroom is large and airy with high open beamed ceiling. I hesitate to wax too lyrical about this place as I would like to keep it secret just for us!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It's secluded location
Liked least: Lack of parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Homely and cosy
Liked least: Lack of cooking utensils and smoke detectors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pontoon23
london, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
A true hidden gem - we'll be back !

We made a last minute booking at The Old Stables based purely on the previous Trip Advisor reviews and it's proximity to Ashburton where I was doing a weekend course at the cookery school, and were so very glad that we did.

A long journey with two toddlers and a rainy unload in the street in front (tip: try to arrive before everybody gets home from work to get a parking space in the nearby streets !) made for a rather fraught arrival but the peace and calm of The Old Stables soon put those memories far behind us.

An understatedly stylish conversion, with good quality linens and towels, The Old Stables is light and welcoming and so quiet - my partner had the best night's sleep he'd had in years !
The kitchen was well equipped and the welcome basket of an organic sourdough loaf and local butter and jam was greatly appreciated.

For us the only real negative was the lack of a shower, and whilst I was in seventh heaven with the luxurious spa bath my 6'4" partner struggled to use the handheld shower unit attached to the bath.

Overall, if you're looking for a stylish, cosy, comfortable base to explore Dartmoor or the Totnes area, I wholeheartedly recommend The Old Stables. We're already planning our return visit, next time for a week !

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quirky nature of the layout, whilst still being totally practical
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
seokus_sg
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
A most comfortable abode
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Stables is a most comfortable abode, complete with a spacious and well-equipped kitchen which includes a washing machine, cable TV in the living area, speedy wifi, cheerful robins in the nearby shrubs and trees outside, and handsome feline visitors crouched on the stone wall on a sunny day. We appreciated most the comfortable bed and bed linen, waffle towels, efficient shower head and sublime tub, and admired most the marmite egg cups, leafy plants, and cuddly-looking cat doorstopper.

Tucked in a quiet corner off the main street, the house is sheltered from the winds and has picturesque views of the ancient woollen town known also for tannery. The house is a few minutes walk from the Singing Kettle tea rooms (for a most scrumptious cream tea and other breakfast or lunchtime delights) and the Co-op (for groceries), while the superstores and petrol stations in the larger town of Newton Abbot, as well as the Dartmoor ponies along the B3212 (e.g., Postbridge) and other attractions in Dartmoor National Park, are just a little over half an hour away. It's a great home to stay away from home!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
A beautiful , well -equipped cottage.Comfortable, cosy and welcoming.

Well, what a find!
My father lives in Ashburton, and we wanted to visit him over the Easter weekend. Hotels in the area were either booked up, or far to expensive to stay for 3 nights for a family of 4.
Trauling through the internet, I eventually came across The Old Stables. Loved the photos and of course the price suited.
After having friendly emails from the owner to confirm our booking , we eventually arrived after a long journey from Hampshire!
The down side was that we had to park our car along the road, and walk through a private gate. The friendly neighbours directed us to the left and through delightful plant pots and cobbles. Once inside, the welcoming scene was superb. A huge log burner with logs supplied was a relief ,as I had forgotten what it was like on the egde of Dartmoor in the cold evenings.
The kitchen was fully equipped and a welcoming basket of fresh bread, tea, coffee , jams was a great surprise.
The bedrooms were freshly made with lovely white linen and the original beams throughout the property were stunning. The bathroom was a delight with luxurious Jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately, no separate shower cubicle, but a shower head on the bath .
In Buckfastleigh there was a local Co-op and a couple of pubs and shops to explore. The Globe Inn was really friendly, and had a musical soiree on the Thursday evening.
A great fish and chip shop was opposite.
Dartmoor is a great place to explore.We went to Scorriton the next day for lunch at the Tradesman Arms. Great beer and food-highly recommend. Magnificent scenery along with great weather, we were able to see family in a truly picturesque part of the country.
We shall be back soon, having had a very comfortable stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.