We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming atmosphere”
Review of Furzeleigh Mill

Furzeleigh Mill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Furzeleigh Mill
Ranked #8 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at the Furzeleigh with my disabled brother for 3 days as part of our annual "pilgimage" to Devon. Everyone one went out of their way to make things easy for him - moving him to a more suitable room etc. (fortunately one of the guests was checking out and they were able to move my brother in). We ate in the restaurant for two of the nights and the food in restaurant was first class - treasure of a chef they have! The breakfast was excellent as well - beautifully cooked. I can't speak to highly of the service and attention we received. Yes the rooms are small, but this is a listed building so there is a certain amount of restrictions regarding what alterations are allowed. I found the bed comfortable and the room and bathroom clean.

I guess if there is a downside the kettle could be bigger, although for one person it was more than adequate. And I couldn't find a hair dryer, but then I didn't need one - my hair dries on its own.

Room Tip: Please don't expect wide spacious rooms, but they are adequate for staying overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Besucher32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed one night, view from window was lovely. Even though the inn is close to A38 you don't hear the traffic much. The owner was very helpful as I needed an early breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilledmumDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in Furzeleigh Mill Hotel for 1 night only. It was within walking distance from The South Devon Railway, close to Buckfast Abbey and is very well located for further explorations of Devon.
The room we were in was not big, but we didn't really need a big one anyway. It was spotlessly clean, warm, offered a nice hospitality tray and the bed was prettycomfortable for us.
Breakfast was beautiful with a god choice of cereals, fruit and lovely orange juice to have before cooked breakfast, prepared by order, was served. The breakfast menu is quite extensive and everybody must find something for him/her.
The place is really charming, not one of those countless soulless places. If you want a very modern spacious room, you migh prefer a different place, but you will miss on a very friendly and helpful staff and personal service.
The only downfall was that we could hear people in the next room in the evening, but we definitely will come back if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibi1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Lovely location, well situated for tourist attractions. The owners and staff are all very helpful and friendly. Excellent food and a superb breakfast that kept us going until the evening! Rooms are a good size, clean and very comfortable. Many original features of this 16th century property remain in pleasant contrast to the many 'ikea style' hotels around today.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hotel may have seen better days but still has much to offer. The rooms may be a little small but they are clean, cosy and comforting. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and welcoming. The food was very good - a very good choice at breakfast and the evening meals were interesting, well presented and reasonably priced. The hotel is well placed, easy to find and within walking distance of the South Devon Steam Railway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting relatives in the area. It is delightful. The room had a lovely view down the valley and overlooked the front garden which is well kept. The bathroom was small but adequate and in keeping with an old building(former corn mill).
The staff and owners were very friendly and meals were served in the beautiful dining room.
A good choice of breakfast, and dinner was excellent. The chef knows his sauces!The spinach filo was to die for and the family who joined us for dinner,who lived locally were most impressed. The owners were very helpful in suggesting places to visit on our second day,for example, the Round Robin trip from Totnes sailing down the Dart,across to kingswera ,back to Paignton on a steam trai and bus back to Totnes-all dovetailed for timings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

If you are looking for a modern hotel then go to a premier inn as this is a "traditional" old English mill. The decor is more Laura Ashley with dark wood beams. A fabulous breakfast. Cheeseboard n Rose wine in small hotel bar was fantastic and we arrived late and they couldn't have befn more hospitable and helpful. Very family run business we loved it. Everywhere clean. We would return to stay again if in area as other end of country to us. Lovely place. No traffic noise. Woke to see green fields. No hustle or bustle a great start to our holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogloverbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#6 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mitchelcroft B&B
Mitchelcroft B&B
#1 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
199 reviews
1 mi away
Hockmoor House
Hockmoor House
#10 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilbury Manor
Kilbury Manor
#2 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furzeleigh Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzeleigh Mill

Address: Ashburton Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzeleigh Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Furzeleigh Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzeleigh Mill Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing