We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dartmoor Delights”
Review of Furzeleigh Mill

Furzeleigh Mill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Furzeleigh Mill
Ranked #8 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We managed to grab a few days off toward the end of August and wanted to stay somewhere historic on or very close to Dartmoor. Despite being the middle of the holiday season, there were still one or two places that caught our eye and were available mid week but we opted for the 16th century former corn mill Furzleigh Mill Hotel because apart from anything else it had a car park!

What a well positioned and charming place this is. Our room had a small en-suite wc & shower and faced the front overlooking the car park but also the beautiful Dart valley. So quiet at night even though you are close to the A38 and so dark the stars were brighter than I've ever seen them. The distant sound of an owl and other nocturnal animals adds to the Dartmoor effect.

A hearty Furzleigh Inn Dartmoor Special breakfast sets you up for a whole day's exploring the many and varied places this part of Devon has to offer before returning for pre-dinner drinks in the little bar before a plentiful and delicious evening meal in the Hotel restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful giving advice on places to go as well as the busy roads to avoid to ensure we could cram in as much sight seeing as we could.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passtheportoldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

stayed for 3 nights, room was basic but comfy, decent shower and great views. had dinner one evening which was good and breakfast all 3 mornings was really nice and lots of choice. the down side was the motorway was really close and very loud. luckily it wasn't overally warm so could sleep with the windows shut but could still here the traffic and it was constant throughout the night.

Room Tip: needs double glazing as the motor way is very close and constant, breakfast very good though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdymoo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for a week and were well spoiled by Ann & Bob and their small but helpful staff. A lovely place on the edge of Dartmoor, our room had a beautiful view over the moor and was spotless, comfortable and well decorated . Excellent food in an olde worlde restaurant. We will definetly be going back there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScorpioLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at the Furzeleigh with my disabled brother for 3 days as part of our annual "pilgimage" to Devon. Everyone one went out of their way to make things easy for him - moving him to a more suitable room etc. (fortunately one of the guests was checking out and they were able to move my brother in). We ate in the restaurant for two of the nights and the food in restaurant was first class - treasure of a chef they have! The breakfast was excellent as well - beautifully cooked. I can't speak to highly of the service and attention we received. Yes the rooms are small, but this is a listed building so there is a certain amount of restrictions regarding what alterations are allowed. I found the bed comfortable and the room and bathroom clean.

I guess if there is a downside the kettle could be bigger, although for one person it was more than adequate. And I couldn't find a hair dryer, but then I didn't need one - my hair dries on its own.

Room Tip: Please don't expect wide spacious rooms, but they are adequate for staying overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Besucher32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed one night, view from window was lovely. Even though the inn is close to A38 you don't hear the traffic much. The owner was very helpful as I needed an early breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilledmumDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in Furzeleigh Mill Hotel for 1 night only. It was within walking distance from The South Devon Railway, close to Buckfast Abbey and is very well located for further explorations of Devon.
The room we were in was not big, but we didn't really need a big one anyway. It was spotlessly clean, warm, offered a nice hospitality tray and the bed was prettycomfortable for us.
Breakfast was beautiful with a god choice of cereals, fruit and lovely orange juice to have before cooked breakfast, prepared by order, was served. The breakfast menu is quite extensive and everybody must find something for him/her.
The place is really charming, not one of those countless soulless places. If you want a very modern spacious room, you migh prefer a different place, but you will miss on a very friendly and helpful staff and personal service.
The only downfall was that we could hear people in the next room in the evening, but we definitely will come back if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibi1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Lovely location, well situated for tourist attractions. The owners and staff are all very helpful and friendly. Excellent food and a superb breakfast that kept us going until the evening! Rooms are a good size, clean and very comfortable. Many original features of this 16th century property remain in pleasant contrast to the many 'ikea style' hotels around today.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#5 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hockmoor House
Hockmoor House
#10 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mitchelcroft B&B
Mitchelcroft B&B
#1 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilbury Manor
Kilbury Manor
#2 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furzeleigh Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzeleigh Mill

Address: Ashburton Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzeleigh Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Furzeleigh Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzeleigh Mill Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing