We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn

The Barn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buckfastleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckfastleigh
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed just 1night whilst working in the area. I found this a very comfortable and good sized room. A very quiet location. Very clean. I liked the breakfast tick list, so you select just what you want the evening before. The breakfast was cook perfectly. The parking is limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I recently stayed here for six nights. A nice relaxed welcoming atmosphere in a very quiet and well-hidden spot. Breakfasts were excellent and well presented and with a good choice. The bed was very comfortable. My only reservations are that the plumbing is rather noisy and the en-suite very cramped. For my taste there are far too many ornaments and nick-nacks around, but overall a very pleasant stay. The Tradesmans Inn nearby serves good and reasonable meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights at The Barn. Located within beautiful Devon countryside in a traditional farming village. Pat & Andy made me very welcome. Ideal place to visit the heart of Devon without the hassle of towns & cities. If you want to go to a town, Exeter, Torquay, Newton Abbot & Plymouth are all within a 30 minute drive.
Great breakfast & lots of advice about the surrounding area. Room was great. Very clean & well maintained. TV, shower, & free wireless internet connection. If you fancy going out for a pint, as others have said...The Tradesman Arms is 2 minute walk for food & drink.
Will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed only one night wished we had booked longer the room was lovely, breakfast excellent very friendly welcome, location just on the edge of Dartmoor was just perfect the grounds are lovely chickens roaming free Pat and Andy were very good hosts they made us feel very welcome we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The food at the pub just a short walk was very good.the farm next to the pub sold very nice clotted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRUMMIESWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed two nights at The Barn, Scorriton, near Buckfastleigh at the beginning of October, having booked a Otter Experience at the nearby Buckfast Otters and Butterflies. Beautiful location on the edge of Dartmoor. Not being a dog owner I had initial reservations before booking dog friendly accommodation. However the Pre-Raphaelite room was scrupulously clean, the bed enormous and very comfortable. The substantial and excellent breakfast was served in an almost baronial dining room and the whole Barn is filled with interesting, quirky objects. Our hosts Pat and Andy were welcoming and very helpful. It was a two minute walk to the local pub, The Tradesman's Arms, a longer distance might have been better to walk off the substantial dinners! The torch left in the bedroom for the walk to the pub was very useful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location. Shame about the weather. Stayed to attend a wedding. Most friendly hosts. Quant accommodation and very relaxing. The highlight of our two night stay was breakfast. What a spread. Delicious! Would definitely stay again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed one night attending a conference at the abbey.
Place was easy to find using sat nav.
I parked in the village but there are spaces for 2 cars at the Barn.

The double room was clean and the double bed was comfortable.
The room is tastefully decorated with the odd but fascinating pieces of personal additions thru-out the room.
There was complimentary tea/coffee and cookies.
The wifi was free and fast.
LCD TV.

The bathroom was small but I managed to shower without any issues.
There is complimentary toiletries.

The room was pretty quiet and slept well until I was awoken by someone walking upstairs.
But managed to fall back asleep.

Breakfast was full english to continental.
And home made preserves was available.

It was raining that day but there is a lovely garden and a swing if anyone wanted to sit outside.
I will return in the springif I am planning a trek to the moors.

The host and hostess are very friendly.

There is a local pub like 100m with good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
2.9 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
18.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn

Property: The Barn
Address: The Barn Close Applegarden | Scoriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckfastleigh
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Barn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing