We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Damp Smelling property”

East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked Little Cleave for our Summer holiday. On arrival we were greeted by Barbara. She proceeded to show us around our holiday let.
This property is an "upside down house". As soon as we entered the smell of damp was overpowering. When we raised this with Barbara she said she had never noticed it! I was absolutely amazed that she could stand in front of us and say that. The bedding in the children's bedding was so damp that it had to be tumble dried every night of our stay.
Barbara's solution to all of this was a couple of scented candles!
We asked if she had a de-humidifier, which she replied yes and went and got it for us. Now why would you have a de-humidifier if you don't have issues with damp.
The cleanliness of the place left a great deal to be desired, with cobwebs everywhere. Also there was an awful smell coming from the double bedroom en suite, which turned out to be the drains. We got rid of this by cleaning them ourselves.
We managed to make our stay bearable by purchasing plug in air fresheners and keeping the dehumidifier on and scented candles burning whenever we were in.
There were also a couple of health and safety as well. The first was with the games room, which was unusable, due to everything being covered in bird excrement. The second was with the property itself, in the bathroom the ceiling light was about 12 inches from the shower head. This light was 230 volts with no visible water ingress protection rating to be seen, looking at it it did not appear fit for purpose.
All in all an awful holiday, poor customer service, Barbara never enquired if things were OK after our initial problems. You really expect more for the best part of a thousand pounds a week. The one positive note was our kids had a good time and made some lovely friends whilst there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RossEcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing break,we stayed in Great Cleave, one of the three beautiful barn conversions,close to Chagford.We made use of the lovely heated swimming pool,so handy after a day out walking on Dartmoor,great pubs nearby,and so easy to pop into Exeter and also not far from some fantastic surfing beaches. We had numerous chats with Barbara the owner,who gave us advice on where to visit etc she had also provided fresh flowers and a bottle of wine,plus logs for the woodburner if the weather changed.
Already booked for next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Wonderful cottage, in a beautiful location. This is the second time we have stayed here and we will definitely be back. The cottage is ideal for fabulous walks especially the walk from Drogo Castle down to Fingle Bridge which is stunning. The cottage is so dog friendly and we loved having Tilly to visit us too. The swimming pool was lovely after a long days walking. Thank you for a wonderful break. Cathy and Adrian Neylan

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathycrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Well what can I say, we had a fantastic stay at east underdown cottages, we stayed with friends for a special birthday weekend, everything was perfect, lovely setting everything one would need in the cottage, also got to see the other cottages which are also lovely, swimming pool was a luxury and the local countryside was beautiful, we took our two dogs which also made our short break special as these cottages are dog friendly ! we met Barbara the owner and her children who were all lovely and very helpful and might I say the children had perfect manners, what a lovely family, well as a result of such a wonderful stay we are returning to stay again very soon this time for a whole week, can't wait !!! Mr & Mrs Hudson, Clevedon, South West

Room Tip: Both rooms are very cosy in little orchard
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Wow what a fantastic week for a special 40th birthday surprise! We had a ball, accommodation was wonderful, just as the website showed. Tim and Barbara couldn't do enough to make our stay more special. Ages covered 12-48 (!!!) all had great time. Can't thank you enough, be back ASAP.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneandMicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

On arriving for our second trip to East Underdown (taking all 3 cottages) we were not greeted by the owners, which wasn't too much of an issue as we had been before.
One day we finally saw the owner's wife (Barbara Clark) outside the properties, I smiled nicely and said Good Morning though she would not even make eye contact, I found this weird but gave her the benefit of the doubt as she had small children and it was half term so they may have been playing up.
During our weeks stay we knocked on numerous occasions on the Clark's door as the wet leaves on the decking were treacherous and we had some injuries with the children falling and my sister falling on leaving a cottage and hurting her wrist and hand, we needed a broom to clear the leaves but we could not find one in our properties so we went over to the owners house to ask for one there was no answer despite being able to see the children playing in the living room.
The outside lighting was broken in Little Cleave and Old Orchard making it pitch black at night so we also knocked to get this changed but still no answer.
On the final day my mother in law fell between the properties (due to the lack of lighting) over a wooden plant pot holder and cut her leg so severely we had to call an ambulance, we knocked AGAIN on the Clark's door and still no reply despite their being lights on and movement in the house.
My Mother-in-Law was taken to hospital overnight and endured 12 stitches to her leg.
The next day and on departure still we knocked at their door and still no answer.
On returning home I emailed Barbara Clark to inform her of the accident and also to ask why we hadn't seen them? she gave no real explanation and didn't even enquire after how my Mother in Law was or indeed send her wishes.
We also asked to return to East Underdown for October Half term despite all these problems as the location is perfect. I was informed by Mrs Clark that we couldn't book as she was waiting to hear from another family as they wanted to book ONE cottage, we were going to book all THREE. Despite them being available on their website. We were also promised an email back to let us know. This was in November and we are still WAITING for a reply.
We were in my opinion perfect guests, very clean and making sure there was covers on the furniture as we took 2 dogs. So this in itself completely baffles me.
Please give great consideration before booking these cottages as if anything goes wrong you are TOTALLY on your own.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Nice small complex of cottages with excellent pool facility with current pump, small barn with games for the kids which our two used most days. We stayed in Little Cleave which was a reasonable size for a family of four plus the dog. Garden/BBQ area nice, if not a little overgrown, but weather permitting a great area to site in the evening. The bedrooms and bathrooms were on the ground floor and of a reasonable size. The kitchen is on the small size but I guess when on hols you don't want to spend too long in there?? Our main criticism was the cleanliness upon arrival, there was a significant amount of dust, an old sock and other bits that suggested the cleaning hadn't been done that well. This applied to the lounge area and bedrooms, would also agree with other visitors comments regarding the beds. Whilst we had a great holiday and consider the cottages in a good location for touring Dartmoor, considering they have a 5* rating we found them a little 'tired'. Owner on hand to deal with any problems during the stay which is re-assuring as in a rural location. Great for dogs which several on site including 'Tilly' who is a bit of a character.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cashman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
1.0 mi away
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Higher Weddicott Farm
Higher Weddicott Farm
#1 of 15 in Chagford
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages

Address: East Underdown East Underdown | Drewsteignton, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chagford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
East Underdown Luxury Holiday Cottages Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing