We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub”
Review of Ring O'Bells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ring O'Bells
Ranked #4 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ashburton, devon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was the second time in a fortnight my wife and I visited this pub, we live in Ashburton, about 12 miles away. It's a lovely pub. We both had the fish and chips, which are sooooo tasty. The service is good, and the food came out very quickly. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    67
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
108
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The best & my most favorite experience of our 2 week English vacation was at Ring O Bells & Dartmoor National Park. Charm doesn't begin to describe Ring O Bells but it's a start. Our lovely hostess Fran was warm & welcoming. We enjoyed our room, pub food & breakfast, The dogs really made us feel at home. On our 2nd night a band played in the pub. They sounded great. We were exhausted & stayed in our room but the sound wasn't loud enough to disturb us. The local ales served were the icing on the cake. Parking could be a little problem whoever we found a great parking space each day we were there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Really cosy room, which was very clean and tidy. Loved the little extra luxury of a bath robe.

We had a good meal in the pub, which served a nice selection of local produce and a great choice of local ales.

Beware if you're not a fan of dogs - there's one that lives in the pub and many who visit it during opening hours.

Chagford is a beautiful, quaint village and we recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyCupOfTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed at The Ring o Bells while visiting family in the area. The staff were really welcoming, the room was nicely furnished and spacious, and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We spent some time exploring the surrounding area; Castle Drogo is close by and really worth exploring.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed at The Ring o Bells while visiting family in the area. The staff were really welcoming, the room was nicely furnished and spacious, and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We spent some time exploring the surrounding area; Castle Drogo is close by and really worth exploring.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ring O'Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring O'Bells

Property: Ring O'Bells
Address: 44 The Square, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ring O'Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the accommodation at The Ring O’ Bells consists of four en-suite bedrooms which have all been designed and decorated to a great standard. All rooms are well appointed with flat-screen LCD televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and hairdryers. Retreat and relax at The Ring O’ Bells and enjoy the dramatic landscape of The Dartmoor National Park, a haven for walkers and cyclists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Ring O'Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring O'Bells Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing