We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly pub”
Review of Ring O'Bells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ring O'Bells
Ranked #4 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We came across this village while on a Sunday drive and stopped in the Ring o Bells for some lunch, it was very welcoming and the food was good and well presented, we will be returning for Sunday lunch next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and i shall look forward to seeing you for Sunday lunch soon.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    67
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
107
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Good plain food, cooked well, served with a smile. Staff pleasant. Pub basic but clean. Great for a quick lunch in a delightful town. Lots of locals which is always a good sign! Only problem (!) is parking but that's not unusual for Chagford!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal. As you noticed we are a local favorite, and for good reasons we have a strong following of repeat custom - By making the Pub the hub/ heart of the community, we like to believe we provide a service to the people and keep the old style spirit of the pub alive (as it seems to be dying out these days with chains snapping up the free houses that are left). We do hope you visit again.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We ate here Good Friday evening. For us the food we ate was just 'good pub grub' nothing special and reasonably priced. However we would eat here again as the place was very welcoming and friendly. That evening the place was heaving as it was a music night. No PA system so a little difficult to hear the lovely bluegrass group over the crowd which was a shame as what we could hear was brilliant. Very dog friendly and lovely to see the bowl of water set out for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezziehoohahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We like to provide good quality pub food, we don't like to dress it up, as we are a small Inn that welcomes travelers and locals alike. Good beer, decent food for a decent price, and warm welcoming company. I'm glad you got to enjoy a music night with us - it was a rare chance to have a touring Canadian group come in, who were traveling light and without a PA system so it wasn't a loud night and i'm sorry you were unable to hear them fully, as they were excellent. We do hope you come again soon,

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

What a super place! Stopped for lunch in Chagford and noted that dogs were welcome. And what a welcome! Bowl of water and dog biscuits offered and greatfully accepted by our two westies. Enough abiut dogs: our lunch was super too. Properly cooked Cornish pasty and chips enjoyed by my husband, while I tucked into one of the day's specials, a very tasty goat's cheese tart. My husband also enjoyed a couple of pints of Jail Ale. Traditional decor, looks like it was recently updated. Staff very friendly and welcoming. We'll definitely go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie195847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very grateful you stopped by for lunch, and that your westies enjoyed their stay too. We try to welcome everyone with a warm smile, and provide service that brings you back time, and time again. I'm glad we were able to do this for you, and i do hope to see you again very soon.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Absolutely wonderful hotel in a fantastic location: very quaint, good food and a nice room. I even loved the hosts' friendly black labrador. I would happily recommend it to anybody. Would go again tomorrow.


Michael Drain

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely response. I very happy we were able to accommodate yourself to the standards we pride ourselves on; Good food and a good night rest. i'm glad you found us and i do hope you return soon.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Booked last min for a visit to family. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms a good size, well appointed and immaculately clean. Good choice of items on the breakfast menu. Will definitely be back when we are in the area. Also free wifi for guests was an added bonus and good selection on info provided in the room on local attractions. Very dog friendly place and very quiet so a good nights sleep :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for your response. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and i hope we see you again soon.

Many Thanks

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Having never visited the location before, I was made to feel straight at home first by Becky who took time to explain where everything was that I needed, then by Max who took no time in making sure everything was ok.

Taking advantage of a fantastic evening Korma and a Thatchers Gold

The only complaint was I was only staying the one night :(

Still trying to figure out when i can make a excuse to come back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenmicrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much. Our doors are open all year round, so i'm sure you'll be able to find an excuse on day. Very glad you enjoyed you stay, and hope we see you again soon.

Many Thanks

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,069 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#2 of 15 in Chagford
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#3 of 15 in Chagford
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ring O'Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring O'Bells

Property: Ring O'Bells
Address: 44 The Square, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ring O'Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the accommodation at The Ring O’ Bells consists of four en-suite bedrooms which have all been designed and decorated to a great standard. All rooms are well appointed with flat-screen LCD televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and hairdryers. Retreat and relax at The Ring O’ Bells and enjoy the dramatic landscape of The Dartmoor National Park, a haven for walkers and cyclists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ring O'Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring O'Bells Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing