We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ring O'Bells Chagford 8-12 July 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ring O'Bells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ring O'Bells
Ranked #4 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ring O'Bells Chagford 8-12 July 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very good quality room with a superb view overlooking the square and the Moors beyond. Staff very pleasant and professional, breakfast and dinner both offered a wide choice for a hotel without a large number of rooms. And everything was cooked to perfection. Make sure you like dogs as they come with the staff and the pub regulars ... and all of them (people and dogs) are reassuringly friendly. A proper country inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good; nos 3 and 4 have the view over the Square but are slightly more noisy (if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and i do hoe you come back again. We are only small, with only 4 rooms, but we ensure that a full selection of meals and drink is available for guests - be it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. All cooked and prepared by our excellent chefs that we are very fortunate to have.

Many Thanks once again,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    62
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
99
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here after a wonderful eating experience at Gidleigh Park. Wonderful old pub dating from the 12th Century. Charming landlady and great team. Delicious breakfast, clean comfortble room. Thank you! We'll come again another day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your charming review. I'm so glad you wish to stay again, and we look forward to your next stay. We work hard to provide excellence, and it is greatly appreciated and motivating when we can see the results coming back so positive.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A charming location and very friendly people both sides of the bar. Room was lovely, clean and shower was perfect. Breakfast was first class and I will certainly be going back as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncefranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. Chagford is a lovely setting in a fabulous location with so much to see and do that once you come here, you end up back time and time again. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and very happy you enjoyed your breakfast which is all sourced locally and prepared by our excellent chefs.

We do hope you come back soon.
Many Thanks,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My sister and I had a genuinely warm welcome. Our room was spotless off a wide landing/sitting area where there are books, maps and laptop to read/use. Excellent breakfast. The only possible problem for some could be the long set of stairs to the bedrooms. There is a lack of pretension that appeals- a very good pub with rooms. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CharlieWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy that we were able to accommodate you both. The staff work very hard to keep the rooms clean, and making sure you are welcomed warmly is of high priority as soon as you enter. We are a small B&B Inn that likes to bring kind warming relations to everyone who comes in with a simple smile and greeting, making sure the atmosphere is set for good night, and you are able to retreat and relax without all the fuss of big hotels. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and i do hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We came across this village while on a Sunday drive and stopped in the Ring o Bells for some lunch, it was very welcoming and the food was good and well presented, we will be returning for Sunday lunch next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and i shall look forward to seeing you for Sunday lunch soon.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Good plain food, cooked well, served with a smile. Staff pleasant. Pub basic but clean. Great for a quick lunch in a delightful town. Lots of locals which is always a good sign! Only problem (!) is parking but that's not unusual for Chagford!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal. As you noticed we are a local favorite, and for good reasons we have a strong following of repeat custom - By making the Pub the hub/ heart of the community, we like to believe we provide a service to the people and keep the old style spirit of the pub alive (as it seems to be dying out these days with chains snapping up the free houses that are left). We do hope you visit again.

Many Thanks,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We ate here Good Friday evening. For us the food we ate was just 'good pub grub' nothing special and reasonably priced. However we would eat here again as the place was very welcoming and friendly. That evening the place was heaving as it was a music night. No PA system so a little difficult to hear the lovely bluegrass group over the crowd which was a shame as what we could hear was brilliant. Very dog friendly and lovely to see the bowl of water set out for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezziehoohahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We like to provide good quality pub food, we don't like to dress it up, as we are a small Inn that welcomes travelers and locals alike. Good beer, decent food for a decent price, and warm welcoming company. I'm glad you got to enjoy a music night with us - it was a rare chance to have a touring Canadian group come in, who were traveling light and without a PA system so it wasn't a loud night and i'm sorry you were unable to hear them fully, as they were excellent. We do hope you come again soon,

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
3.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
9.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ring O'Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring O'Bells

Property: Ring O'Bells
Address: 44 The Square, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ring O'Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the accommodation at The Ring O’ Bells consists of four en-suite bedrooms which have all been designed and decorated to a great standard. All rooms are well appointed with flat-screen LCD televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and hairdryers. Retreat and relax at The Ring O’ Bells and enjoy the dramatic landscape of The Dartmoor National Park, a haven for walkers and cyclists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ring O'Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring O'Bells Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing