We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mill End is a well managed and very comfortable, country-house hotel and restaurant in superb surroundings”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I recently held a function for 26 guests at Mill End. This required exclusive use of the hotel's facilities (including all of their rooms) for one night. It was shortly after the hotel's refurbishment under new owners and was therefore something of a 'test' of the hotel's capabilities. They met the challenge well. A simple self-service clotted cream tea was provided for guests on arrival, followed later by a champagne 'reception' in the charming lounge and finally a four course dinner. By arrangement there was a choice of two main courses (sea bream or beef wellington) for dinner, although there is a much wider choice in the standard menu. The need to provide dishes for 26 guests, all at the same time, must have been a challenge for the kitchen and as a result some of the fish was slightly over-cooked but this would almost certainly not have happened in different circumstances. All guests were impressed by the presentation and quality of the food and the efficient and friendly service.

The full English breakfast was all that one might expect and their excellent Sunday lunch is very good value.

The public areas of the hotel are very well furnished and impeccably clean, although (at the time) the ground floor toilets were in need of some refurbishment to bring them up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. The master suite is of an unusually high standard, large and very comfortable, although the over-bath shower could be improved and a glass bath screen would be more appropriate than a shower curtain. The two junior suites were obviously smaller but of an equally high standard. The other rooms varied significantly in size but all were reasonably well furnished and clean. The smallest room on the ground floor is tight and would be better furnished as a single.

The service throughout was excellent. The new owner and his wife are very much 'hands-on' and the hotel manager is first class. We were well looked after and nothing was too much trouble - even though the last guests did not go to bed until nearly two in the morning.

In summary, Mill End is an excellent small hotel with a very good restaurant. It has been significantly improved under the new ownership/management and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFrogPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful relaxing time. When we arrived people were enjoying afternoon tea on the lawn in the unseasonally warm sunshine. This is a delightful country hotel, pretty and stylish, with lovely nooks to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. Food was excellent, of special note was the fantastic breakfast. Our only regret was not spending more time here. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We spent 2 nights this weekend at Mill End hotel in Chagford, devon and it could not have been better. We were warmly welcomed as late arrivals, Portered up to our room that had the comfiest bed ever, spotless with charming attention to detail (super toiletries of really good sizes), lovely views of the grounds and an air of peace and tranquility.

Breakfast and dinner the most sumptuous meals, beautifully presented with charming and attentive staff. Our Sunday lunch was equally exceptional - so much so we wished to meet the chefs to congratulate them on such consistent high standards. Fabulous wine and a really welcoming bar area.

The owners (Peter and Sue Davies) are completely delightful and very welcoming. The entire place was spotless with lovely little touches like daily reports on the weather!

The grounds are lovely, perfect for a lighter lunch or afternoon tea.

My husband was very happy he could fish there and I shall we going riding on my next visit.

Lovely shops In nearby Chagford and plenty of wonderful walks and country pubs.

We could recommend a visit her more and will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaCarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We came here for dinner as guests of 2 friends and, given the setting, were looking forward to a great evening. The food however, was very mediocre for the prices charged, and the service left much to be desired. Slow and inattentive. Maybe you were having a bad night. It was our first time. Will we be back? Not sure.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
9  Thank daveandsally33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Lovely place, very relaxing and a centre for walking and fishing. The ciusine is of a very high standard with properly trained staff. If you like the countryside you'll like Mill End.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

just back from a wonderful weekend at the Mill End with my lovely partner. when you have 3 kids what you want for a weekend is good food, peace and quiet, nice setting, lovely service, a good night sleep and good company! Mill End delivered on all of the above... Highly recommend.... Can't wait to go back when the weather is warmer.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIGHTONBLONDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We returned here for the second time in a few years because we love the fantastic location. We were delighted to see the new owners have invested in making hotel more homely and comfortable. The service and food remains exceptional.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NigelLambe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,426 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,099 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
347 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: £104 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing