We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Celebration, two years late!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Special Celebration, two years late!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My wife and I had visited the Mill End Hotel about four years ago to have a cream team and thought it would be nice to stay here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, owing to one thing or another we finally made it almost two years overdue!

Our stay was very enjoyable, the Hotel is well placed for discovering the east side of Dartmoor, and only half an hour from Exeter.

We booked into a King Size double (Erme) on the ground floor with views over the garden, the room has a private patio, which we could not use, to cold! The room was comfortable, with a small settee, TV and the normal extras, although no biscuits with the tea and coffee facilities.

The bathroom was large and well appointed with a good shower. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well.

The Hotel has a number of small lounges for guests, the biggest one has a real fire. These are comfortable and cosy. Wi-fi is available but only in the lounges owing to the thickness of the walls.

We had all are meals in the hotel during our three night stay. The breakfasts provided good choice and were very good, the evening menu was varied with a lot of choice and the food well prepared and tasty. Good choice of wines and local beers.

Service was very good and friendly. We had a very nice stay, which included a walk down the Teign valley over to Drewesteignton and on to Castle Drogo. Unfortunately the Drewe Arms is now closed. Visited Chagford and the excellent Pepperpot Art Gallery were we purchased a couple of watercolours of Lydford Gorge.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would strongly recommend the hotel if it falls within you budget!

Room Tip: We were booked into Erme, very nice overlooking the garden with a small private patio, the only down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdmiralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
On behalf of the whole team at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that we were able to play a part in your special celebration!

We were glad that you liked your room (we have three rooms like this one with private patios overlooking the quiet rear gardens, which are particularly delightful in the summer months!).
Our chefs were delighted that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant, and asked me to thank you for your kind feedback.

It sounds as if you managed to enjoy getting out and about on glorious Dartmoor while you were here. There's plenty more to enjoy, so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    111
    22
    16
    9
See reviews for
53
315
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband, myself, daughter and son in law stayed 3 nights.
Slept really well, breakfast was really good.
We ate 2 nights at the hotel, I really can not fault the service or the food.
The wine was good and we are difficult wine drinkers, BUT what we ordered was good.
We will definetly go again.
Only down point was that in our room the Dart, some one needs to look at the curtains as the hooks are broken on the rail, that is the window looking out onto the terrace, this is a minor detail!
Gilleken belgium.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilleken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We thoroughly enjoyed the pleasure of your company here at Mill End, and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I rarely post bad reviews on Tripadvisor but the dinner experience at Mill End was so bad I felt compelled to let other people know so at least they save their pennies. we were staying in the area and after seeing the lovely hotel and surroundings thought this would be a good place for a good meal on the last evening of our trip. we took a quick glance at tripadvisor reviews and they seemed ok so we went for it (huge mistake as we read the reviews of the hotel rather than the restaurant itself!). The food was simply bad and incredibly overpriced. Despite being served in incredibly hot plates the meals themselves were lukewarm at best (in fact, my fish was cold). The bread was stale, the carrots on the side vegetables were so overcooked you couldn't hold them with your fork and the sauce was so strong and sweet it overpowered anything else on the plate. we obviously skipped dessert as at that point we just wanted to leave. but here's my real issue: the bill was £90. yes, almost £100 for 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 soft drinks. No wine, no glass of champagne, no caviar... just a basic meal for two with sparkling water. if it had been a pub and £40 we would have left disappointed but instead we were simply angry for paying so much money on a dinner that was worse than a ready-made meal from the supermarket. They must take advantage of the out-of-towners who don't know the area very well and get fooled by the pretty garden outside the hotel! oh, and we ended up ordering room-service when we got back to the hotel we were staying at as we were still hungry and craving for a nice warm meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tiffany765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
I was extremely concerned to read your comments, and please accept my sincere apologies for your poor experience.
I am, for the moment, at a loss to explain your experience, as our restaurant normally achieves very high levels of customer satisfaction, both on Tripadvisor and in direct feedback from our customers.
It is unfortunate that we weren't aware of your dissatisfaction at the time, as we would have done our very best to put things right for you immediately.
I would be very grateful for the opportunity to investigate your experience in more detail, so that we can identify and correct any failings. I would be most appreciative if you could contact me with details of the date of your visit, so that we can investigate and respond fully.
In the meantime, again my apologies.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axbridge
Level Contributor
157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at this pleasant small hotel conveniently situated on the northern edge of Dartmoor. Our room, West Okemont, was spacious and overlooked the gardens and nearby countryside and despite being fairly near the road it was extremely quiet. The room had a certain "shabby chic" to it although our feeling was that it could soon be in line for a revamp. The bathroom was large with bath and fixed overhead shower. Toilettries were all good quality and towels large and fluffy. My one gripe was the cold slate floor, slippers would have been much appreciated!
The food was generous (especially breakfast) and of good quality but unfortunately we were presented with exactly the same menu on both evenings. There was a choice of 5 starters, mains and puds but it would have added to our enjoyment if maybe one or two items had changed for the next day.
The staff were most welcoming and were very professional in their approach.
To sum up, we had a very pleasant stay in a lovely setting convenient for exploring Dartmoor and its wild surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay - we are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location on the edge of glorious Dartmoor!

I am glad that you found your room West Okement to be spacious and quiet. It is a very popular room, but we do agree that it is ready for an upgrade, and this is currently being planned as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. I do entirely understand your comment regarding the repetition of the menu on your second night, and am pleased to confirm that we have now introduced a brand new menu with a comprehensive range of starters, main courses and desserts (but still with the same focus on quality local produce prepared with care and presented with flair).

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed one night - from the start we were made to feel welcome and our room was lovely - very comfy, well appointed. Walk to Chagford delightful - along the river. Public rooms comfy and relaxed, with an assortment of games available. Good food, local produce, very enjoyable stay and would definitely go again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments.

We were glad that you liked your room (each of our rooms has its own style and character - and they are all named after Dartmoor rivers), and that we made you feel welcome.

It's good that you managed to fit in a walk to Chagford along the riverbank. It's lovely at any time of year, but the snowdrops and daffodils are delightful at the moment.

We hope you'll visit us again soon. Perhaps you'll stay a little longer next time?!

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Here you will find a small country house (more than a hotel) with personal service and attention. The main house has a great restaurant on premises, and an eclectic assortment of rooms where you can sit and enjoy an escape from the city or suburban life. Roaring fires and great walks...and if you forget your wellies there are a few pairs of boots to wear. Dinner at the restaurant is excellent, and lots of home made/local produce dishes to satisfy. Personal and friendly service from all staff members, and rooms that are comfortable with good toiletries, towels and nice beds. The walks nearby are 'english postcard' countryside - a river, trees, sheep, meadows, stone walls and quirky village! perfect... and if you are a dog owner, this is the place for you. All dogs are welcome and catered for individually. Easy to get to, and ample parking space (in a proper lot!) plus the benefit of only 14 other rooms/guests - it is a peaceful retreat in Devon.

Room Tip: each room is different..so go on line and check which 'river' you want to be in. Rooms in ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We were delighted to read your comments, and to hear that you enjoyed your "perfect little escape" to Mill End! We were particularly pleased that you enjoyed our country-house welcome and delicious dining (the local produce really does make a difference we think, and helps to support our local producers too).

It sounds like you found time to enjoy a little of the local area. Chagford was voted no.3 in yesterday's "Sunday Times Best Places to Live in Britain" for those who enjoy the outdoors, and has so much to offer. We hope you'll visit again soon, so that you can experience another slice of Mill End, Chagford, and the wonderful Dartmoor National Park.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent our wedding night here and I was keen to return with my husband on his birthday. On arrival and despite the booking being under my name, only my husband was addressed in the office. The room was fine as it was part of a dinner, b & b deal and the view was beautiful. Dinner was very average and none of the dishes were on any level memorable. I had asked for a little candle in my husband's dessert to mark his birthday. This didnt happen. Add on's were overall expensive. A pot of tea for two was £5 without any biscuits etc. A shot of better brand whisky and brandy came to £17. Our gin & tonics were charged twice on our bill at £26 in total which I had to ring back and ensure they rectified. I would not return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank manjit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Firstly, thank you for returning to Mill End to celebrate your husband's birthday. I am glad that you enjoyed your room - it's one of our favourites too, especially for the views across the Teign valley to Castle Drogo.
I am very sorry that we didn't mark your husband's birthday with a candle in his dessert. We did have a note of his birthday, and were all ready to put a candle in his dessert, but your dessert choices of cheese plate and chocolate mousse made it difficult. But we should have made a fuss of your husband in some other way, and I'm sorry we didn't handle this as well as we should have.
I am also sorry about the double-charge on your bill. This charge was reversed immediately it was picked up - but please do get in touch if this hasn't been reflected on your credit card account.
We were interested to read your comments regarding prices of extras. We aim to offer good value, by providing high quality, in lovely surroundings, at a reasonable price. We continually review our pricing, and your feedback will of course be taking into account.
Thank you for taking the trouble to provide your feedback. Customer feedback is the life-blood of any customer service business, and we always use feedback to further improve the quality of our service.
I hope that you will consider a return visit at a future date, and that we will be able to restore your confidence.
With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Property: Mill End Hotel
Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing