We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night stay should have stayed longer”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed at the Mill End three times now, every time whilst on the way to holiday in Cornwall and every time our stay has been excellent. We were warmly welcomed on arrival on Friday afternoon after a horrendous journey stuck in traffic on the M6 southbound at J15-J14 (2 hour delay) and then stuck on the way to Chagford with lorries struggling to get past each other in the narrow lanes.

We had dinner which was top class, scallops followed by pork – the crackling was super crunchy and very tasty. My wife has asparagus followed by Steak and Ale pie which she said was very nice. The waiters were friendly and efficient and the restaurant is delightful – sit near to the waterwheel if you can, it adds to the ambience. I wasn’t too keen on the dessert but I wouldn’t have complained about it.

The bed was large and comfortable and the room was quite large and very quiet – a very comfortable evening. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good.

Next time we will stay here longer and spend less time in Cornwall because it’s a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

One night is never enough! But we were very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We do welcome many guests who, like yourselves, find us to be the perfect stopover on a trip down to Cornwall - especially as we are just five minutes from the A30 (and yet a million miles away!).

Head Chef Chris Billingsley and his team were very pleased that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant.

Thank you for your kind feedback. Do come and see us at Mill End again soon - and stay a little longer in Devon next time!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was the second time we had stayed at this lovely hotel. We take our dog with us and the facilities are brilliant. The hotel is in lovely grounds which you can take a Stroll or walk your dog. We stayed last year when it was snowing and it was beautiful. We stayed in the same room both times as it suited our needs perfectly. The breakfast and evening meal is of excellent quality and plenty of it !. The staff are very polite and professional and cant do enough for you.
All in all my favourite place to go to get away and relax and chill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaPixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for coming to stay with us at Mill End again - we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

"Relaxing" is precisely what we are about here at Mill End, and I am very pleased that you found this to be the case!

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very pleasant small hotel on the edge of Dartmoor. Very friendly staff and excellent food. Although we only stayed one night, we can highly recommend Mill End Hotel for a short getaway or a longer sojourn in wonderful Devon countryside. Pet pigs on a part of the lawn and a working water wheel add to the ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. We were delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us (and that you managed to meet our pet pigs!). Hopefully you'll visit us again soon - you'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Mill End hotel is situated in a beautiful peaceful spot. We stayed 3 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel was very comfortable,the rooms were very good .lovely modern bathroom. The staff were very helpfull and friendly,and the hotel has a lovely warm atmosphere.Good food,and pretty gardens.It is situated just outside Chagford which itself a delighfullittle town,and very near Castle Drogo which is well worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalderdashSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

On behalf of everyone here at Mill End, thank you for such kind comments.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, were well looked after, and that you managed to find time to explore the delights of lovely Chagford and the wider Dartmoor National Park.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon - hopefully for a longer stay next time!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mill End. The staff were very pleasant, the accommodation comfortable and the surroundings enchanting. We stayed for 3 nights with our 7 month old baby. We ate breakfast every morning and dinner one evening in the restaurant; the food was excellent, with a good choice of local produce.

We stayed in the East Okement room. It was spacious, clean, and comfortable with a large bathroom. The bed was huge and the duvet cloud-like!

My only criticism would be the lack of high-chairs in the dining room. I appreciate the hotel is small however, a spare high chair would be beneficial for the times that more than one infant is staying. We had our booster seat in tow so, this wasn't a major problem, just a slight inconvenience.

The village of Chagford is within walking distance (about 25 minutes) and has plenty of places to eat, etc. I would recommend a visit to Castle Drogo (although currently undergoing refurbishment) and Lydford Gorge, both National Trust.

It is worth noting that phone reception at the Mill End can be intermittent in the room and that Wifi is available but not in all rooms, due to the thickness of the walls. It is available in the Main Lounge area.

The Mill End is perfect if you are looking for a quiet retreat, with a more personal experience. It is the furthest away from a 'chain' hotel you can get, which is exactly what we were looking for. We will certainly be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We were delighted that you all enjoyed your break at Mill End. And our chefs were very pleased that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. We are so fortunate to have such abundent and delicious local produce, and a team of talented chefs who use this local produce to create wonderful dishes!

Thank you for your suggestion regarding an extra high chair. A very valid point, and we will get onto this.

Do come back to see us at Mill End again soon. You'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We enjoyed another excellent stay at Mill End Hotel.
The bedroom, bathroom and towels were lovely.
The food was delicious, and all the staff were very friendly.
Look forward to visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments.

We were delighted that you chose to visit us again, and that you again enjoyed your stay (and our chefs were very pleased that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant).

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mill End again soon.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Visited with our 6 month Rottweiler puppy.
The welcome we got was very good and we arrived early not expecting to get into our room but was told although wasn't quite ready if we waited they would have it ready soon-which they did.
After our initial worry about staying in a hotel with a dog and a puppy at that, we did settle down very well and the pup loved it.
The location is just stunning, very quiet (bit too quiet for us) but the village of Chagford is a beautiful country walk away and a little longer to drive. So if you are looking for a pub then best to drive to Chagford, get a taxi back and then enjoy a nice country walk to retrieve your car in the morning!
Breakfast was divine, highly recommend the fresh kippers, but the staff will do anything you request.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Location was quiet but beautiful.
Rooms were clean enough.
Fresh towels, flannels and added bonus of all toiletries were always on hand.
If you are a dog owner, dog towels were always available.
Beds were very comfy.

Room Tip: If you are a dog owner ask for a ground floor room as the back door opens up to the most beautiful g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We were very pleased to read you kind comments, and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am pleased that you felt at home with us, and so did your Rottweiler! I am also glad that you found time to explore lovely Chagford.
Hopefully you will visit us again soon - and enjoy more of those delicious kippers for breakfast!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,387 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
11.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: £93 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing