We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Delightful'”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Mill End Hotel,Chagford last Weekend, and what a delight it was. Its a great hotel with a lovely peacefull atmosphere as soon as you walk in, they have a lovely lounge really cosy with an open fire. The staff were all very polite and attentive with nothing to much trouble, the food was excellent with a good variable menu and extensive wine list. Our room was on the first floor over looking the gardens, nicely decorated with a lovely large bath and shower. The location of the Mill End is great for walking and getting out and about around Dartmoor.
We will definitely go back and visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP1846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

On behalf of everyone here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you chose Mill End, and that you had a "delightful" time with us!

We do hope that you'll visit us again soon.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

The weekend had been a gift and was one to be cherished. The atmosphere was great on a cold November evening and the food and service appreciated. The attitude towards dog owners and our requirement to keep a pet with us most welcome. The lounge fire was super giving great ambience for the time of year. The position near super walks was great as the car could be forgotten for at least a day. The rooms were warm and cosy and the immediate access from the garden was great and would also be much enjoyed in the summer.
The service and attention by staff was appreciated also. The history was of note and to be appreciated also by those of us rushing about and using the jet engine!!!
We will return.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff to describe the rooms and then choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

We were delighted that you enjoyed your special weekend with us, and that you enjoying staying nice and warm in front of our log fire despite the chilly weather outside!

I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the lovely walks right on our doorstep - as you say, it's a treat sometimes to just leave the car in the car park and explore on foot.

We hope to have the pleasuring of welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, thank you for your kind and generous comments.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Mill End near Chagford recently, the room, food and service were all excellent. A very friendly, comfortable hotel with good walks from the doorstep and many more challenging hikes just a short drive away. Our thanks to Mike and all the staff for making our stay outstanding in every respect.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nutmeg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

On behalf of the whole team at Mill End, thank you for your kind feedback.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that managed to fit in a few great Dartmoor walks during your stay.

Hope to see you again soon - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Long weekend with 2 children. You are in a small country house, easy to find for the area but quiet, very near excellent Chagford (traditional Dartmoor village, nice deli and shops). Lots of walking around the area from the hotel. Dog friendly - ground floor rooms and gardens ideal. Food, service, surroundings excellent; lovely atmosphere, staff very helpful for such a small place. Rooms characterful and clean and everything worked. They did children's high tea and flexed menu for us by arrangement. I thought very good value for the quality of the room and the cooking.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank AJPW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you all had a very happy time with us here at Mill End.

Our chefs were also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant. We are fortunate to have fantastic local Devon produce at our disposal!

We hope you'll visit us again soon. You'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Actually stayed here in 2012 but didn't review the hotel, however when reading some of those reviews which were poor I was compelled to write my own.
We booked through late rooms and had a great deal, on arrival I was more than excited to see the hotel and it's setting, very grand very serene and a great get away from it all location.
The house itself is tastefully, classically decorated, a very home away from home kind of feel, no stuffy or off putting staff just very friendly and helpful and very at ease as some hotels and hotel staff are very sterile, so this was great to see.
The room was great, the bed very comfy, the only negative point here was that the bathroom was a bit cold and the damp had made the windows a bit mouldy, we were on the ground floor with a huge window where we could walk straight out into the grounds, which I might add were beautiful in every respect and if you didn't know it, it could have been just us and know one else in that hotel it was perfect, we had a courtesy call to ask if we were ok and the lady explained to us that we could walk to chagford through the woodlands and countryside to the village, we did this and to our surprise we passed an outdoor lido which was great only wished we had took our swimwear, the village was very very pretty a gem in the middle of nowhere a great selection of pubs and restaurants and everyone was so friendly and helpful, one gentleman informed us that the chagford festival was on which again if we had done our research we would have certainly gone, we had a lovely evening before walking back with the sound of Katy tunstal in the far distance, it was magical, we returned to the room and had a very good nights sleep, in the morning we had breakfast in a very bright sunny open restaurant, the food was beyond perfect, in fact we had only wished we had stayed longer but it was a spur of the moment booking for the weekend for my partners birthday, we paid the bill and was told that the hotel was getting a make over in the new year which would probably explain the slightly negative comment about the bathroom, we assumed that the problem was being addressed but hoped that there wouldn't be to many changes as it's great to see a hotel remain with its charm and character, in my eyes there are far to many of these staged boutique looking hotels, which end up looking almost like one another, which you then easily forget and forget your stay.
We do hope we can return soon to chagford and the hotel and again have a weekend to remember, maybe try it in the winter when the log fires are roaring!! Thank you for a perfect week end and see you again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide such a comprehensive review of your stay with us here at Mill End. We were delighted that you had such a great time.

We are very fortunate to have such a magical setting, on the banks of the beautiful River Teign, and we agree that this lovely bit of Dartmoor is quite enchanting!

We were particularly pleased that you found us to be "home away from home", as that's exactly the atmosphere we aim to create - a welcome haven of comfort and luxury, and a sense of being "at home" from the moment you arrive.

Do come and visit again soon - you'll be very welcome - and yes, the log fires are gorgeous in Winter!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A last minute booking in the Teign Suite. Thank you to everyone who made our short stay so pleasant. Beautifully situated near to Chagford, lovely breakfast- full English cooked to perfection. All local ingredients. Gorgeous outlook- trees looked like New England foliage, farm animals to go to see, and although close to the road, it was very quiet and very little traffic seen. Lovely old watermill to watch and could be seen from our room, There are several lounges all decorated to a high standard, one with a large log fire and a study area with a computer should you wish to use it.
Our Suite of bedroom and lounge was beautiful, along with a modern large bathroom made our trip special. The most outstanding thing at this hotel was the relaxed and happy atmosphere. Guests all spoke and interacted in the lounges. The worst thing about the weekend was that we had to leave! But we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarletbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

On behalf of everyone here at Mill End, thank you for such lovely comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found a happy and relaxed atmosphere.

Hopefully you will visit us again soon - you'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is excellent Hotel with Great Service, others hotels can only learn from them :) Clean room, large bed, spotless bathroom, lovely décor. Very impressed with service in the restaurant ! Very professional. Breakfast to die for :) Superb !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagmarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Your kind comments are very much appreciated by the whole team here at Mill End.

We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. You'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,387 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
11.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: £93 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing