We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed one night when visiting relatives to attend a 50th Wedding Anniversary party. We were very fortunate with the weather and were able to sit in the garden to have lunch. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable with full bathroom. Service very good. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. Regrettably we didn't have dinner as we went out but the dining room looked very inviting and the menu very tempting. Location is wonderful for walkers. We will definitely be back and will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your kind comments regarding your recent stay - we were all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was particularly pleased that you enjoyed our delicious Dartmoor breakfast - some might say the most important meal of the day!

I am delighted to read that you'll be coming back for another visit - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Mill End hotel is perfectly located for walks on Dartmoor straight from the hotel door. What's more it provides a warm welcome on your return with a great bootroom for soggy clothes and boots and deep baths to rest weary limbs. We stayed for husband's big birthday celebration with childrneand partners and we all had superb rooms with views of lambs!

The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms well equppied and spacious with Dratmoor granite tiles in our junior suite. The White Company toiletries are a bouns too with robs and fluffy towels.

The food was all tasty, although occasionally I would have liked it a little hotter. The service however was really exceptional, attentive and obliging. We were alloed to keep one room so we could fresshen up for our Sunday lunch!

Many thanks to all the staff for making it a wonderful celebration!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evertwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you chose Mill End for your husband's "big birthday" celebration - it was our pleasure to welcome you!

I was particularly pleased that you found the service to be exceptional. We aim to create an environment where our service is attentive, friendly and discrete, where every guest feels at home, in-keeping with our country house atmosphere.

Hopefully you'll come back to see us soon (no need to wait for another "big birthday"!) - you'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We lunched here and came away highly delighted. For little more than the prices in nearby pubs, we were offered silver service and a fixed price two or three course menu that provided a good range of choices. Service was excellent, as was the food. The old mill building has a number of very comfortable country-house lounges: the restaurant mixes a traditional setting with some modern flair. It is difficult to better the setting - by the babbling River Teign and with views of Dartmoor. There’s a highly presentable garden for relaxing in when the weather permits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

On behalf of everyone here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our very special location on the banks of the glorious River Teign.

Do come back soon - for our rather splendid and traditional Sunday Lunch perhaps? You'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed one night last week at Mill End. The hotel is in a very beautiful spot in Dartmoor and we would have liked to have stayed longer - the walks from the hotel looked full of promise by a lovely stream. The staff were attentive without being fussy - the lounges very comfortable with a log fire - the bedroom looked out over the stream and was very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable - 2 "home made" biscuits were a great touch. Breakfast was one of the best experienced in a hotel. We certainly hope to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinsy250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind feedback. We were delighted that you had such a "fantastic time" here!

I was particularly pleased to read your comments regarding our breakfast. We think breakfast should always be treated as a very special occasion, and we were delighted that you enjoyed it!

Do visit us at Mill End again soon - perhaps for a little longer next time? You'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a great night away at Mill End. Really relaxing, cosy & well looked after.
We live not far away in Somerset, but found Mill End an ideal place to escape to. We took Bimble, our miniature Schnauzer, who loved the attention and the welcome to all parts of the hotel (quite rightly, not the restaurant though).
Lovely walks from the hotel - really enjoyed walking up the river to Chagford - would definitely recommend it.
Food in the evening was lovely & the setting with the waterwheel delightful.
Great place, well organised & great team - well done!

Room Tip: We had Bovey - overlooking the front lawn, Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We were delighted to read your kind comments following your recent stay at Mill End - thank you!

Also very pleased that Bimble enjoyed the delights of Mill End and the lovely walks along the riverbank from the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. You'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 1 night and had a lovely time. Our room was cosy and the shower was awesome!!! The views and grounds are beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and was delicious!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We were delighted to read your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at Mill End.

I am pleased that our team here at Mill End looked after you well, and that you enjoyed our grounds and the beautiful views which we are very fortunate to have.

Breakfast is always a very special meal as far as we are concerned, and I'm delighted that you enjoyed breakfast with us!

Do come back soon - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just back from a three night break at Mill End and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are superb attending to your every need, without being intrusive. We ate two evenings in the restaurant and the quality and choice of food was exceptional, breakfast was a similar experience, with plenty of option and a plateful to set you up for the day. The location on the banks of the river Teign with views of Castle Drago on the hillside (although the national Trust has it covered in sheeting while repairs are taking place) couldn't be better. There are walks straight out of the door along the Teign Gorge and the moors are on the doorstep. Highly recommended and we would happily stay here again when in the area.

Two minor points (and these are not meant as a complaint!). The building is old, and floorboards creak and there is no mobile signal at all, so if either of these bother you (not me) you have been forewarned.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dart Junior Suite, which has a huge balcony to sit out on and a similar sized bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

On behalf of everyone here at Mill End, thank you for your glowing comments regarding your recent stay.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your time with us (it was our pleasure to look after you!) and our chefs were particularly pleased to read your kind comments regarding the food you enjoyed in our restaurant.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. You'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,426 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,099 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
347 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: £104 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing