We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious hotel in gorgeous grounds - perfect romantic trip!”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise for my birthday. I couldn't have imagined anywhere more lovely and delightful - I have literally no criticisms to make. The room was extremely comfortable and looked out onto the beautiful extensive gardens full of cherry trees, we could even see lambs playing from our room. The service was amazingly helpful and attentive, and dinner was delicious. So so much character, it was very tough to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursulasagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments - we were delighted that you had such a lovely, romantic time here at Mill End! The floor-to-ceiling windows in our ground-floor rooms are particularly lovely at this time of year, with the gardens in all their Spring glory.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the service and the food in our restaurant - I have passed your kind comments on to our team in the restaurant and kitchen.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon - you'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We visited for lunch and had the very good value £20 3 course lunch menu and £18 bottle of wine. Service was exemplary and the food was well presented / cooked. We were able to sit in the lovely garden before and after but decided on the charming restaurant to eat in.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ExeterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments - we were delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us! Our £20 three-course lunch is available every day of the week - including Sunday when we offer a very traditional and indulgent "proper" Sunday lunch in the restaurant.

Do come back for lunch again soon (or perhaps stay the night?) - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stopped and had a delightful lunch, served by an attentive waiter in a charming restaurant and having been fed and watered decided to go for a lovely walk. Then returned for a scrumptious cream tea with the most enormous light and fluffy scones and my word a pot of cream and jam my wife said "Darling I can feel another walk coming on"? all in all a delightful moment at this lovely hotel. We will visit again and next time when we are down in this part of the world we will come and stay like another guest who brought their dogs with them.

Room Tip: we did not stay but had a lunch and tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 600Reality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for joining us for lunch, and for your kind comments.

I was particularly pleased that you also managed to find time for a lovely walk - it's such a delightful time of year to explore the walks along the River Teign from the hotel.

Do come back to see us at Mill End again soon - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed one night when visiting relatives to attend a 50th Wedding Anniversary party. We were very fortunate with the weather and were able to sit in the garden to have lunch. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable with full bathroom. Service very good. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. Regrettably we didn't have dinner as we went out but the dining room looked very inviting and the menu very tempting. Location is wonderful for walkers. We will definitely be back and will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your kind comments regarding your recent stay - we were all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was particularly pleased that you enjoyed our delicious Dartmoor breakfast - some might say the most important meal of the day!

I am delighted to read that you'll be coming back for another visit - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Mill End hotel is perfectly located for walks on Dartmoor straight from the hotel door. What's more it provides a warm welcome on your return with a great bootroom for soggy clothes and boots and deep baths to rest weary limbs. We stayed for husband's big birthday celebration with childrneand partners and we all had superb rooms with views of lambs!

The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms well equppied and spacious with Dratmoor granite tiles in our junior suite. The White Company toiletries are a bouns too with robs and fluffy towels.

The food was all tasty, although occasionally I would have liked it a little hotter. The service however was really exceptional, attentive and obliging. We were alloed to keep one room so we could fresshen up for our Sunday lunch!

Many thanks to all the staff for making it a wonderful celebration!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evertwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you chose Mill End for your husband's "big birthday" celebration - it was our pleasure to welcome you!

I was particularly pleased that you found the service to be exceptional. We aim to create an environment where our service is attentive, friendly and discrete, where every guest feels at home, in-keeping with our country house atmosphere.

Hopefully you'll come back to see us soon (no need to wait for another "big birthday"!) - you'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We lunched here and came away highly delighted. For little more than the prices in nearby pubs, we were offered silver service and a fixed price two or three course menu that provided a good range of choices. Service was excellent, as was the food. The old mill building has a number of very comfortable country-house lounges: the restaurant mixes a traditional setting with some modern flair. It is difficult to better the setting - by the babbling River Teign and with views of Dartmoor. There’s a highly presentable garden for relaxing in when the weather permits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

On behalf of everyone here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our very special location on the banks of the glorious River Teign.

Do come back soon - for our rather splendid and traditional Sunday Lunch perhaps? You'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed one night last week at Mill End. The hotel is in a very beautiful spot in Dartmoor and we would have liked to have stayed longer - the walks from the hotel looked full of promise by a lovely stream. The staff were attentive without being fussy - the lounges very comfortable with a log fire - the bedroom looked out over the stream and was very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable - 2 "home made" biscuits were a great touch. Breakfast was one of the best experienced in a hotel. We certainly hope to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinsy250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind feedback. We were delighted that you had such a "fantastic time" here!

I was particularly pleased to read your comments regarding our breakfast. We think breakfast should always be treated as a very special occasion, and we were delighted that you enjoyed it!

Do visit us at Mill End again soon - perhaps for a little longer next time? You'll be very welcome.

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,129 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,392 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
11.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: £93 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing