We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Mill End is a charming county hotel on the edge of Dartmoor, the location is excellent for walks to Fringle bridge and Drogo Castle and a short drive to Chagford village and the Moors.

We have visited this dog friendly hotel several times now and we have come across a very rare find - a Hotel that remains professional yet friendly, with excellent food which has remained consistent ( a rare find indeed) with beautiful surroundings and a peaceful location. There is a 'boot room' specifically for cleaning down your pet after a long walk with dog towels provided. I note the previous comments regarding ground in dirt in the carpet but I did notice several guests walking around with Wellies and walking boots after trekking - The boot room is available to all guests and not just canines and perhaps this could be encouraged to save the appearance of the main thoroughfares. Dogs are allowed in all areas other than the restaurant however during our visit we only saw dogs in the grounds and did not hear them in the room.

I cannot rate the quality of the food served at dinner enough - the chefs are obviously very talented and the food is exquisite, the fish was full of flavour and melted in your month and the pork was superb - the ambiance is attentive yet relaxed and even if you do not stay at this hotel the restaurant is an absolute must to dine and I would highly recommend it.

We like the relaxed atmosphere of the Mill and would highly recommend it, especially to people who enjoy walking and wish to have a friendly comfortable base to return to at the end of a long day trekking.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful each with their own design however, the Dart and Teign Suite and the most sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank harrycatSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide your kind comments. We were delighted that you had such a happy and relaxing stay with us - precisely the kind of experience we aim to create!

Our chefs were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant. We are very fortunate to have such an abundant larder of gorgeous Devon produce here on our doorstep - it makes all the difference!

We enjoyed looking after you, and hope that we will see you at Mill End again soon - you'll be very welcome!

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a lovely Sunday lunch, couldn't fault the food and service! Lovely location, ideal for those who love to walk. Thoroughly recommend. So peaceful, lovely gardens, lovely quiet lounge to relax and have coffee,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We were very pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us. We think that Sunday Lunch should always be a special occasion!

Do come back again soon, for another delicious Sunday Lunch or perhaps one of our traditional Devon Cream Teas? You'll be very welcome!

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay for two days and (given earlier criticism) we noted that staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. However as non dog owners we would hesitate to recommend the hotel.

We liked:
* Location by river with enjoyable walks
* Well cooked and presented food - though some may find large portions off putting
* Charming gardens and pleasant country house hotel appearance
* Comfortable bed
* Roomy suite with good size bathroom (though only shower head above bath) and pleasant living room

We disliked:
* Single glazed window meant that road noise could disturb
* Lack of any privacy curtains for first floor room meant that you either needed to be fully dressed, have the curtains fully closed or else be on display to guests sitting out in the garden
* Wardrobe doors and drawers were ill fitting and stuck
* Dinner menu dated (steak with a grilled tomato, and mushroom...come back the 1970s)
* Dinner was mostly meat orientated, no salad or pasta main dish,...not a mid summer menu
* Dogs have access to all public areas (we saw none in the restaurant) and I think are allowed in all rooms - the minimal additional charge raises questions of how well rooms will be cleaned after their canine guests
* Consequently we found the public rooms smelt strongly and the carpets showed signs of ground in dirt
* Finally we had minimal night time disturbance but the floor boards are extremely creaky so if someone wanders around during the middle of the night you will know all about it

Room Tip: Top floor rooms will avoid noise from creaky ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide your feedback. We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and our chefs were particularly pleased that you found our food to be well cooked and presented. I am sorry that your found our portion sizes to be a little too large - we like to ensure that everyone leaves our restaurant well satisfied, but are always very happy to prepare smaller portions on request.

I was very concerned and surprised to read that you found a dog odour in our public areas. I will certainly ensure that any additional housekeeping requirement is attended to. Whilst we aim to be very "dog-friendly", only around 15% of our guests are travelling with a dog, which normally ensures that non dog-owners are equally at home. I would reassure you that dogs are not permitted in our restaurant, for the obvious hygiene reasons.

Thank you for letting us know about the problem with your wardrobe door and drawers. I will ensure that this is attended to without delay.

I am pleased that there were many aspects of your stay which you enjoyed, and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future - you will be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at this hotel. It is beautifully located and we had a lovely ground floor bedroom which opened out onto a private deck with chairs. The only disappointment we had was food. Well not the food itself but availability. After a four and half hour drive we were looking forward to having something to eat - a little sandwich. Unfortunately you cannot get one after 1430 and there is no compromise. You can get something sweet a slice of cake or a scone. Unfortunately i don't have a sweet tooth so this was disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tvrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide your comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

I do apologise for your disappointment with the lack of food provision in the afternoon of your arrival. Our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and evening meals, but we don't advertise a full menu in the afternoons once lunch service has finished. We do, however, provide delicious Devon Cream Teas, cakes, biscuits and toasted tea-cakes, and are very happy to provide a selection of sandwiches or a cold platter of cheese or meats in the afternoon if you let us know of your requirements in advance.

I hope that we will see you at Mill End again in the future - you will be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay, feeling refreshed and relaxed. The hotel is surrounded by fields, woods and a stream and is a little oasis of calm. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and the service was excellent. Our bedroom was tastefully furnished and had a huge bathroom. Breakfast is cooked to order - a nice touch. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the food was delicious if a little pricey.

A couple of minor niggles... you have to ask for bread and you pay extra. The paintwork in our room was looking a little tired. Rooms at the front of the hotel are quite near the road - ask for one at the back if you are a light sleeper.

There is plenty to do nearby. The quirky little town of Chagford is a short walk away, with some interesting shops and even an outdoor swimming pool! Dartmoor is on the doorstep and the coast is less than an hour away.

The hotel has the feel of a country manor and is perfect for cosy weekends. You can even take your dog.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mill End, and that you left feeling "refreshed and relaxed"!

Whilst all of our rooms are generally quiet, the rooms in our Garden Wing towards the back of the hotel are particularly peaceful, overlooking our wooded riverside gardens. Don't hesitate to ask for one of these rooms when you next stay - we we will always do our best to oblige.

I am sorry that you identified a few deficiencies in the paintwork. We have an on-going programme of improvement and refurbishment, although with such a beautiful historic building it does take us a little time to get through everything!

I was pleased that you enjoyed exploring the local area. There is so much to see and do in this lovely part of Devon, and hopefully you'll visit again soon to explore a little more - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Super hotel, in great location with friendly and welcoming staff. We stayed three nights and will be back for more. We have a dog and had a room with access to garden. There were several walks straight out of hotel. Suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pantill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

On behalf of all of us here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay - it was our pleasure to look after you.

I do hope you'll visit us again soon - you'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Superb hotel in a wonderful setting, great service from all the staff and nothing was too much trouble - would recommend for an overnight stay or indeed a full holiday. Don't wait to long to try it out - you won't be disappointed.

Don't forget you can take your dog - we didn't this time, but we never heard any disturbance from those that did. The dogs had their own tack room with clean towels and a cleaning area

Room Tip: All appear to be equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed discovering our "Dartmoor Delight"!

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the service you received from the Mill End team. It was our pleasure to look after you.

Hopefully you'll visit us again soon (maybe for a little longer next time? - There's so much to see and do!). You'll be very welcome!

With kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
2.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,163 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,438 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
15.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: £100 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing