We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B and B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highbury Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lovely place to stay with extremely welcoming hosts. The 3 bedrooms were charming, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, what a choice! I would have no hesitation in recommending Highbury and would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a fantastic place to stay at!
We only spent one night in Chagford but John and Jenny welcomed us very warmly.
Their house is wonderful and very well decorated.
Our room was charming, ultra clean and extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was simply delicious.
Everything was perfect in fact and if we ever go back to Dartmoor we will definitely try to stay at Highbury again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having read the previous reviews, I had really high expectations of Highbury Bed and Breakfast - we were not disappointed! John and Jenny are excellent hosts and the standard of accommodation they offer is fantastic.
We had booked all three of their rooms for our party of six as we were dining at Gidleigh Park that evening for birthday celebrations. John and Jenny welcomed us with a smile and a very welcome pot of tea despite our early arrival and were so helpful in providing glasses (and expert wine waiter skills!) for our pre-dinner champagne, encouraging us to use the guest lounge and their lovely gardens to relax in before we needed to get ready to leave for dinner.
The rooms were spotless and decorated/furnished to an exceptionally high standard, the facilities within the rooms provided everything we needed, the breakfast was a delight and both John and Jenny went out of their way to ensure that we all had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. John and Jenny manage to provide an excellent balance of warm hospitality and making you feel 'at home' whilst also giving space and privacy to their guests.
We would certainly recommend Highbury as an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hospitality, service and surroundings in this fantastic B&B could not have been better. We visited as a group of 3 couples, so used all 3 rooms . We stayed here as we were celebrating our fabulous friends 50th, with dinner at Gidleigh park.

All the rooms were lovely, 2 were en-suite. We stayed in a room with a fantastic 4 poster bed which had its own bathroom, just across a small quiet landing. Bathrobes were provided for the short step across which was a very nice touch. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Incredible views from the bedroom across fields. The breakfast was varied and delicious.

We would highly recommend that anyone lucky enough to be dining at Gidleigh Park stay at Highbury, which is not only lovely but great value for money given its quality. Alternatively just stay there because it is so good. We very much aim to return! Ali & Alan W

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, but the room with 4 poster very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There is not a lot I can say that hasn't already been said by others. It is a Beautiful Edwardian House filled with very tasteful antique furniture. John and Jenny look after their guests with thoughtfulness and pride. The breakfast has many choices and there must be one or more for everybody. We arrived late on a Friday evening due to traffic disruption to our journey and there was a delicious pre-ordered meal awaiting us. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The meal was delicious and well presented and of a very high standard. She also accommodated my food intolerances extremely well.

There is beautiful countryside for several miles in all direction and set not too far from Highbury House is a National Trust Property, Castle Drogo. It is in the process of being restored at the moment although one can still have access to the interior of the castle. Our visit to this area was to attend a wedding , however, we hope to return to take in Castle Drogo which apparently has the most wonderful views from the top of the castle.

We needed a taxi on Sunday morning. Mobile phone signals are not good in this area, one can text but not talk. However, Jenny quickly located a taxi for us on her land-line. Nothing seemed to be too much for John and Jenny, they are perfect hosts.

If there was 6 stars to give I would have given this B & B six.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My nephew treated me to dinner at Gidleigh Park for my birthday - that's what I call a present! Looking for somewhere to stay in Chagford. I read the reviews of Highbury and from the moment I rang to enquire about a room, I was hooked on the idea of staying there. John and Jenny were warm and welcoming and interested in why we were staying in the area. They gave us some great ideas for day trips out and always asked after our day/evening when they saw us again. The house is about a mile from Chagford but walking to and from the town is no problem and probably to be recommended after a meal at one of the hotels and restaurants! We ate at the Three Crowns and Whiddons Eatery - I can highly recommend both. So, do give Highbury a go - you will be looked after extremely well with fab breakfasts and interesting suggestions for things to do. John even ran us to Gidleigh when the taxi didn't turn up on time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When you go to Dartmoor, we highly recomment B&B Highbury.
The room and bathroom are proper, spacious and in warm english style.
Breakfast, diner and care are very good and are served with hospitality and cordiality. John and Jenny will also kindly assist you by choosing day trips.
We have enjoyed our stay at Highbury very much. If we go to Dartmoor again, surely Highbury will be our choice!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marijke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.2 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#531 of 1,068 in London
493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Angel Islington Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
172.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton London Angel Islington
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton – London Islington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highbury Bed & Breakfast
Address: Highbury Highbury Highbury, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highbury Bed & Breakfast is a stylish and comfortable home, just outside the vibrant town of Chagford. Easy to find, with the stunning scenery of Dartmoor on your doorstep, this is the perfect location to explore from. Offering a luxurious super-queen-size 4-poster bedroom, a twin-bedded en-suite and breakfasts with eggs from our own hens, we take pride in our attention to detail and warm welcome, providing a memorable stay and a desire to visit us again! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highbury Bed & Breakfast Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing