We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime.”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My stay was luxurious and we were treated like royalty. The room service was excellent and we enjoyed the complimentary Madeira wine in the large tub.The views from the room was spectacular.
The staff were friendly and it generally felt quite relaxed. I found it a bit difficult to understand some of the accents when the staff were explaining the food that was on my plate, but the food and service were 5*. The food was beautiful and was a taste sensation. We felt like we had a good choice and the amounts were substantial.
My girlfriend overheard one of the guests sneering at us because we weren't having wine with our meal, he said that we must be poor! It was a delight when we went to our room, and he noticed this as he was about to get in his car to drive back to Exeter. This was a genuine luxury break for us, one that I will always remember, if you can treat yourself,I'd highly recommend a stay here (especially if you love your food!)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaseK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    101
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
105
765
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I don't think you will find better service anywhere in the UK. This wonderful hotel is everything other reviewers have said, in a low key, private setting. But aside from the fabulous food and fairytale location, it's main asset is the fabulous staff. My husband was taken unexpectedly ill during our time here, and not only did the staff arrange for an emergency doctor, but they were genuinely concerned as to his wellbeing. Everyone seemed to know, yet everyone was discreet enough to only intrude when we needed help. He recovered and we completed a fantastic stay with the wonderful seasonal menu (our tasting menu having been rudely interrupted the night before). To cap it all, the tasting menu course and drinks which we had consumed before he was taken ill were discreetly omitted from our final bill.
I must say I am very spoiled (and very picky about service!) and have been to some of the best hotels in the world, and the service we received during our stay in Gidleigh Park is amongst the best I have come across. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough: it is well worth your precious holiday time.

Room Tip: The hot-tub room is a must book for couples....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelicityTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My partner and I came here to celebrate both our engagement and my birthday for lunch. We were very much looking forward to dining here and had high hopes. We weren't disappointed! The service was fantastic, friendly and efficient. The staff were very welcoming and knowledgeable. Even the manager came over to say hello. Our meal was just AMAZING! Every course was mouth wateringly delicious both to look at and taste. One of the best meals we've had. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, the surroundings, comfort and service. We could not fault a thing and cannot wait to go back - next time for dinner and stay over! A wonderful added treat was 'happy birthday' in my petit fours! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Well another visit to this perfect spot, quite mild February weather allowed us briefly to have the luxury of a glass of champagne taken outside with that view of the utterly immaculate gardens , the tumbling stream , the vegetable garden the fields in the distance .
I really feel that these last few reviews on this site say it all -food perfect-but in a good way - service-staff appeared to anticipate our every need, doors were opened, our favourite table
Reserved for us not one false note , Damian from Biarritz ensures that we guests are unaware of the work that goes on under the surface to present such a pleasant aspect to all visitors.
We had just come from chewton glen and crucially the food is so much better here and as soon as we arrived we really felt "at home" so a wonderful couple of days.
They exceed your expectations here.
We have had the hayter room in the loft which is spacious and quiet for our last few stays for families with kids it does have a separate extra bedroom with two singles.
Unusually for star chefs Michael caines their wonderful chef was in evidence on our visit.
Really as an escape for a few days I can't think of a nicer place.

Room Tip: Hayter has two bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had decided to go to Gidleigh Park for lunch only after Alex Polizzi saying how fab it was. Well............before we got to the door it was opened for us and from then on courtesy, attention and extremely pleasant staff made this an experience that will have to be repeated when we have saved up enough again!! The Hotel is in amazing grounds, the views are spectacular and I dont know if I can find the words to describe the michelin star food or the wine we were recommended, but it was the best Sancerre I have ever had and I didnt know that food could taste like that!!! Well done to ever single person there, you deserve every award you have and some that havent been invented!!!... When something is as expensive as Gidleigh is you do expect high standards, but Gidleigh doesn't disapoint! Thank you all for a very special memory.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therocks2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

from the moment you drive up the narrow drive, you get a glimpse of the magnificent Tudor /Edwardian building which holds a truly amazing experience. The staff are impeccably trained being discreet and efficient whilst being warm,charming and helpful.All dietary needs are catered for without compromise and with minimum fuss.The dishes are presented with a brief description by the staff which leaves you wanting to taste each individual component to see how it compliments the dish as a whole. It was truly an assault on your taste sensation as well as the eyes. he chefs are extremely talented and must be commended.All the homeward journey we kept thinking of the new taste experience to talk about - and it was well worth the 240 mile round trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loszahories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

As a treat I took some of my staff for a lunch at the end of January and as we are in the catering industry as well, albeit a much smaller operation, I wanted to open their minds as to what can be achievable. It was a wonderful day and gave us all inspiration. From the beginning to the end we were looked after by great staff, some stupendous food, expensive you might think, but this is a labour of love and the passion flows through and by the time you pay you understand how much work is put in to achieve these results.
I was very cheeky and asked if we could see the cellar, I am sure they don't want to be invaded with guests asking for a tour all the time, but the gentleman was very obliging, and to top it all Mr.Caines gave us a quick insight into his kitchen. Thankyou it was much appreciated , but unfortunately my staff now think we need a million other things in our kitchen!!Go to Gidleigh Park and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park Hotel

Property: Gidleigh Park Hotel
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, Tudor-style country house hotel set in 45 acres of secluded gardens and woodlands – 2 miles west of Chagford on the banks of the North Teign River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Gidleigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford
Hotel Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing