We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect every time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What can you say, perfect, excellent, superb. Micheal has done himself proud with this hotel, never lets you down and excellent service and food. Always a pleasure to visit and nothing is too much trouble for the fantastic staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemima b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Jemima b

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your visit to Gidleigh Park, I know Michael and the staff will be pleased to read your review and I can honestly say it makes us all very proud to know we please our guests, especially as consistency is key to what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    99
    37
    9
    2
See reviews for
105
752
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having read previous reviews, we had high expectations. Gidleigh Park More than lived up to it's reputation. The view from our room looked over the lawns and river. All the facilities were tasteful and faultless. Every member of staff made you feel that nothing was too much trouble. For example, we went on the woodland walk and on returning to the hotel the duty manager insisted that we let them clean our shoes immediately. The signature menu in the restaurant was terrific and the standard of cuisine and service fully met their two MIchelin star rating and a third should be on the way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellippiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Tellippiat

Thank you ever so much for your very kind review. We are so pleased to have lived up to your expectations and we appreciate your views on the third star.
The team here will be very proud to read your comments on the service and of course Michael and the team will be happy to know you enjoyed the Signature menu.
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post the review your comments are greatly appreciated. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Having driven down a typically narrow and alluring Dartmoor road, approximately two miles out of Chagford, my husband and I arrived at the exquisitely beautiful Tudor style country house. We parked our car, walked a very short distance to the reception area and it was at this moment that we knew we would be treated to a very relaxing stay.

The door was opened for us and a gentleman named Adam kindly took our bag up to the room. Ann-Marie, the reservationist showed us the drawing room, bar area and en route to our room, the pantry, an are where you can help yourselves to hot drinks, natural spring water, yoghurts and home made biscuits (my favourite was the shortbread). As we settled in to our elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean room, Wallabrook, we heard a knock at the door. On answering it, we were greeted by a young lady delivering us two complimentary glasses of champagne, a gift from Gidleigh Park as we were celebrating our mini moon. A friend of ours had arranged with the staff for the room to be romantically decorated with roses and rose petals and for a box of home made chocolates to be on the side when we arrived (they were delicious!).

After taking a relaxing bath and getting ready for dinner, we made our way downstairs and enjoyed aperitifs and canapés in the drawing room. Magali, one of the sommeliers suggested a bottle of wine to enjoy with the eight (ten with canapés and petit fours) course signature menu, which completed the meal beautifully. The food was cooked and presented to perfection! After our meal, we kindly asked if we could enjoy the petit fours in our bedroom and this was no issue for the staff to organise.

The following morning we had a morning tea tray and newspaper delivered to our room. Having enjoyed tea and biscuits in our bedroom, we went down to breakfast. We were offered a selection of breakfasts, including a cooked English breakfast, Eggs Benedict and Porridge with whiskey. We both chose the cooked English breakfast which was again cooked and presented to perfection. After breakfast, we went back up to our room, gathered a few items and walked through the prepossessing manicured gardens and up to Dartmoor.

Arriving back at the hotel, we relaxed in our room before heading downstairs to the conservatory where we enjoyed a Gidleigh Park full afternoon tea! It was delicious and a well deserved treat after our morning walk. During our stay we were also offered a tour of the wine cellar which we found very interesting!

There is no other place like Gidleigh Park, we'd certainly recommend it and we'll definitely be back! We wish to take this opportunity to thank all the staff for their exceptionally high standards of service!

Room Tip: Wallabrook was amazing and overlooked the gardens at the front of Gidleigh Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingalways51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Travellingalways51

It is fantastic to hear you both enjoyed your mini moon with us, it is always lovely when our guests choose to celebrate such special occasions here at Gidleigh. Our team are so pleased you have left with such fond memories and it is so nice you have singled out people who helped make your day a special one. Of course Michael and the kitchen team are glad to hear the cuisine was to your liking and I know Magali was happy to select your wine for the evening.
We thank you very much for your kind words and appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gidleigh Park for future celebrations. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Expectations were surpassed by a long anticipated stay at Gidleigh. We arrived quite late for dinner and it was no issue to staff and kitchen alike for which we were very grateful. Challenging drive in the dark, but excellent directions and a magically lit approach. Superb, subtle and appropriate service. We were made to feel ultra special from start to finish.
Special Birthday treat of Michael Caines' Signature Menu with Wine Flight. Unparalleled cuisine (as we knew it would be). All divinely presented with intricate flavour. Can't single out anything but a special mention for the seafood bisque, Cornish salt cod,and duck. Dining staff superb, again a special mention for Sarah one of the Sommeliers who was quite new, but had such a manner and knowledge and assisted with non-acidic wines. A bright career ahead for her, plus Daniel and Andrew.
Beautiful front facing room with sumptuous bathroom including heated relaxation bed. Didn't know whether to stroll in the grounds or recline in luxury in the bedroom. Did both on the best of sunny days with spring starting to burst.
One night was definitely not enough and the list of reasons to come back is a long one. I had dreamed of Gidleigh for many years and it was beyond imagination in every way. Country elegance as opposed to the affordable luxury of Brownsword City Abode Hotels, where the quality, brand and values also shine through.
Gidleigh is an English Jewel.

Room Tip: Front facing to hear the River Teign rushing by and have the sun streaming in. Magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Catherine O

We are so pleased to have surpassed your expectations, especially as this was a long awaited special occasion. Thank you very much for your kind comments on the staff and service, we are of course very proud of our team and the passion for their work does shine through to our guests.
Michael and his kitchen team will of course be very proud to hear the food was unparalleled.
Please do come and visit us again soon and thank you for your lovely review. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a simply wonderful lunch this weekend. It more than lived up to our expectations. Perfect service, food divine and came away feeling totally spoilt. I've wanted to come to Gidleigh Park for a long time and my only disappointment was it was only lunch and not an overnight stay! We enjoyed the winter special lunch - melt in your mouth food. The coconut, pineapple and mango pudding was stunning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mwdsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Mwdsc

We are very glad to hear you left Gidleigh Park feeling absolutely spoilt, especially as you have wanted to visit us for a while. May be next time you will be able to stay with us and we can really spoil you. Thank you very much for your kind review, Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Even though we have been here before it's important I believe to share that that this experience was just as good in every way as our last stay. Service standards are maintained by everyone and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are perfect and the grounds a joy to stroll around

We ate twice in the restaurant and once in Chagford village, all wonderful culinary experiences. If you haven't experienced Michael Caines "Oranges Three Ways" then your missing a real treat!!

On a personal note I'd like to thank the management for the card that was waiting for me, not only to celebrate my birthday but to extend their condolences at the recent death of my father. Lovely touch and much appreciated.

See you soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artisancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear ArtDecoCat

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on us.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you back for your birthday stay.
I must also thank you for your kind words regarding your experience, consistency is key and we strive to maintain a high standard. I do agree with you, the Orange plate is amazing and everybody should try it at least once.
We really look forward to welcoming you back, Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We visited Gidleigh Park for afternoon tea as a special treat for my Wife's birthday. We've stayed in a number of 5* hotels, but this was simply amazing.

The staff we excellent, the lounge was formal, but relaxing and the food was incredible. I love the little extra touches like the Happy Birthday chocolate.

Compared to The Langham and The Chesterfield, it was also excellent value!

Hopefully we'll make it back soon to eat and stay for a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Adam D

We are very glad you thought so highly of your visit to Gidlleigh Park for your wife's birthday tea.
We understand the importance of special occasions and try our best to make them days to remember. We do hope you get the opportunity to stay with us in the near future. Thank you ever so much for your kind words. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,163 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
369 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
459 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park Hotel

Property: Gidleigh Park Hotel
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, Tudor-style country house hotel set in 45 acres of secluded gardens and woodlands – 2 miles west of Chagford on the banks of the North Teign River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gidleigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford
Hotel Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing