We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Cant recommend it enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Ash Vale, Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it! Cant recommend it enough.”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We spent two nights at Gidleigh on a gourmet break as part of my husbands 50th birthday celebrations. And it was a break that we will never forget, for all the right reasons. We chose a master room, Huccaby which was spacious and very comfortable, and with fantastic views over the valley. Loved the stand alone bath and seperate wet room. We dined in the restaurant each evening and had both the Tasting Menu and the A la carte, and both were fabulous, the wine list deserves a good peruse too. Recommend the gourmet picnic. Service again in all areas was faultless. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollinsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    101
    38
    9
    2
See reviews for
105
763
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our 3rd visit, so should say it all.

Although quite difficilt to get to, long single track lane with few passing places, once there we realised why we had chosen to stay here for the 3rd time.

Staff, rooms and restaurant are all superb and without fault although we did move after the 1st night into a valley room as the Cranbrook room although beautifully furnished and very spacious was spoilt by the splendid bathroom overlooking a fire escape!

Once again, perfection in Devon, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HcopterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We have stayed here before. The rooms are comfortable and of reasonable size. There is no swimming pool or spa, but Dartmoor is right on the doorstep. It feels a bit like an Agatha Christie hotel brought right up to date (no murders or jewel robberies, though) - it's sort of old-fashioned and modern at the same time. 2 Michelin stars make for fabulous eating, but beware the tasting menus - they are delicious but take much longer to serve than dishes from the al la carte menu, for some reason.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Am a bit late with my review, we stayed here for a 4 night Chritmas break.
The food was as outstanding as you would expect although very rich. I was not terribly specific with my dislikes when I booked and found the menu to be heavy on the game / fish (not my favourites). However, the staff soon picked up on this and despite it being Xmas the chef was really helpful at tweaking the dishes / menus - outstanding.
The staff are amazing, really professional and friendly (they really are attentive) and the whole vibe is one of relaxed comfort.
The rooms are luxurious, all furnished differently and have really smart contemporary styled bathrooms.
There are few facilities available here in Winter (they have tennis etc in the Summer) so if you don't like curling up reading a book in front of a log fire or walking the moors you might find yourself at a loose end. From the hotel grounds you can walk via woods and trails onto Dartmoor which we needed to do to burn off the numerous calories consumed with each excellent meal.
Gripes (and these are real nitpicks):
Our underfloor heating was not working which in the middle of winter is not ideal. However, this was dealt with professionally and as soon as possible we were moved to a different room etc.
Breakfast - maybe after the top notch dinners you noticed the difference in the cooking but breakfast always seemed a disappointment - it was typical hotel standard and never really had the wow factor. On occasion the food was extremely slow in arriving - one morning we waited 50 mins for haddock which then arrived cold.
However, we have already booked for Xmas 2010 which tells you more than any review could.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katkin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Gidleigh Park is outstanding from the service you get from their expectionally friendly and helpful staff to the amazing rooms and spectacular setting.

It is a place to be enjoyed and indulge. The food was incredible and their are a variety of activities both at the hotel and in the surrounding area to take advantage of. I think the website potentially doesn't do all the facilities at the hotel or its beauty justice. There are many tiny touches that finish off the experience like the amazing putting green, dog kennels and pantry.

The Park is set back in the national park - and it is well signposted from Chagford but I'd recommend taking a decent map with you or the Tom Tom! However from there its easy to get around the area to enjoy Dartmoor.

To the reviewer who mentioned the bill - its a 5 star hotel with a 2 star michelin restaurant... what do you expect?! As we were leaving two seperate groups were re-booking as they checked out. Says it all really.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Recently went here with my family for my birthday. The food was as spectacular as ever. The service was efficiant: friendly without being obsequious. I can't fault it, although the bill was even more spectacular than the setting.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foweylocal1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We arrived at the hotel with a car full of equipment including fishing rods and cycles. We were warmly greeted by a lot of the Hotels staff as we eneterd the property, and met our hostess who described the format of the evening and enquired what we planned to do during the day. Our daughter is quite young so we were concerened about leaving her in the room while we dined, but neednt have worried; even when the listening device did not appear to work between the room and recepiton (who were happy to listen for any stirrings) a babysitter was provided immediatley.

We could have made more of the surrounding area, which is stunning, with a bit more forward planning, but had a very relaxing time pottering around local villages and visiting the steam railway much to our daughters delight.

The food was incredible, I have never experienced such fine quality, and the service was attentive and unintrusive.

I will definitley return to this hotel, hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipper1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
20.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park Hotel

Property: Gidleigh Park Hotel
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, Tudor-style country house hotel set in 45 acres of secluded gardens and woodlands – 2 miles west of Chagford on the banks of the North Teign River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Gidleigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford
Hotel Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park Hotel Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing