We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Sandy Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Park Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I booked the dining room out one saturday in May just gone for my dads birthday and it was amazing. The staff were attentive and friendly, the food was superb and they were really accomodating. We stayed in the room without the ensuite which wasnt a problem and at £60 including 2 full englishes it was an absolute bargain! The food was prompt and lovely and the fact that it is a family run business makes it super-inviting. My uncle has since gone back as he loved it, and i will too.
Great even for a drink as its just off the A30 and much better than a service station!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlysLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

The perfect country pub, in a delightful area, with welcoming log fires and a good selection of local beers. Excellent service from friendly staff, with very good food, selected from a varied menu. Our rooms, the en-suite ones, were warm, comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was superb and the bill reasonable. Without doubt, we will pay a return visit.

Room Tip: Go for room 3 or 4, with the en-suite bathrooms, to save padding along the corridor in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narnia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Delightful old country pub tucked away in small village near Chagford on the edge of Dartmoor. Friendly comfortable bar with dogs and log fire, Good food, excellent service then the most comfortable bed I have seen for a long time - then a fantastic cooked breakfast. Perfect for a weekend break - we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

we had a lovely stay with you, thank-you. the food was delicious and our room was spotless and warm and comfortable. there was only one thing that dissapointed us, it was the parking situation. as all your rooms were full, all the other guests had to park and your staff , we had to park along side of the road. but on the whole a most enjoyable stay. thank-you again . k and r

Room Tip: we were in room 3, it was the biggest of the 5 rooms available, and had an en-suite. lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stopped here for a night on the way back from Cornwall and found it to be very good. The owners and staff were most welcoming and the accommodation was very comfortable. Good beer and excellent food, well above the standard that you would normally expect from a small country pub.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have seen this place ebb and flow over the years and after a period of change it seems to have settled in well under the able stewardship of Shona and Matthew together with their parents/in-laws, Bruce and Tanya. They are a good team and provide a warm welcome and excellent service. It is a good solid traditonal English country pub with comfy rooms above. It keeps a good range of local ales and provides food - a good couple of notches above the average "pub grub". A positive experience is certain from the welcome to the even more welcome bill on departure (it is very good value). Go and support them with your custom - it's important we all keep our pub heritage intact and out of the clutches of the odious and charmless pub chains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is a great pub and a lovely place to stay the night. The owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful, even offering to drive us personally to the wedding we had to go to when we could not get a taxi to collect us. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was delicious. I wish we could've stayed longer!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Zed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chagford hotels
2.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Crowns Chagford
Three Crowns Chagford
#1 of 15 in Chagford
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#3 of 15 in Chagford
235 reviews
2.3 mi away
Higher Weddicott Farm
Higher Weddicott Farm
#2 of 15 in Chagford
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#4 of 15 in Chagford
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Park Inn

Address: Sandy Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range: £46 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandy Park Hotel Chagford
Sandy Park Inn Chagford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing