We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the scale amazing!”

Gidleigh Park Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$89 - US$231
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. At the heart of the hotel, the elegant and intimate two Michelin-starred restaurant provides a sophisticated backdrop to Executive Chef, Michael Wignall's decadent tasting and à la carte menus. One of the most respected chefs in the UK, Michael Wignall has won Michelin stars in every kitchen he has headed since being awarded his first star in 1993. Michael is famed for his respect for food and an ever evolving style which creates unique dishes full of flavour and underpinned by a contemporary, less formal approach to fine cuisine. Describing his food as ‘modern, technical and meaningful’, each element features to add flavour or texture, enticing diners to experience new combinations and ingredients complemented by vegetables and herbs picked from Gidleigh Park’s own kitchen garden. Matching the high standards in the kitchen, Gidleigh Park’s internationally renowned wine cellar accommodates over 1,300 bins and 13,000 bottles from around the world. Home to a selection of European, New World and Bio Dynamic wines, the cellar offers one of the most impressive wine lists in the British Isles. Join us for lunch, afternoon tea or dinner and enjoy your choice of tasting or à la carte menus, dedicated to the finest seasonal ingredients.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Off the scale amazing!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic lunch, beautiful setting, attentive staff. Perfect afternoon in the summer sunshine. The anniversary lunch was sublime.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Nikolah72

We couldn't be more happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, thank you for the review, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    64
    31
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

after getting stuck on the M5 motorway 15/07/2014 for 3 hours accident near taunton thought we would miss out on our booking BUt they extended the lunch timetable for us..
Amazing place......superb restaurant was as expected for 2 star michelin
Outstanding service and food was fantastic
we had the tasting menu....
highly recommended
will be going again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snookybaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear snookybaz

Very pleased to hear you enjoyed lunch with us, especially after the long journey to us, we really appreciate your review. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not an excellent experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Having read all the glowing accolades posted about Gidleigh I feel it almost treasonable to write a criticism: The main skate-wing course that my guest had ordered had to be returned to the kitchen as it was under cooked. This should not happen in a cafe let alone in a two Michelin starred restaurant. Obviously this was replaced but it did rather spoil what should have been a delightful day and one we had been looking forward to for some time. Just one more comment; the tables were all in use in the dining rooms so they were obviously busy but my companion could actually rub shoulders with the guest sitting at the next table,again something you really wouldn't expect. a propos to nothing but whilst you are visiting this area ,do make a point of visiting Castle Drogo to see the work being carried out by the National Trust on the property.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Hazel W

As we mentioned in reply to your recent letter we are sorry the experience you had at Gidleigh Park left you feeling disappointed, thank you for your feedback we will of course look critically at everything we do to insure our high standards are maintained. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed beyond belief.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I wanted to give my husband a lovely treat whilst on holiday and booked lunch at Gidleigh Park having long admired Michael Caines. We did arrive late having got hopelessly lost and were warmly welcomed. We had drinks on the terrace which was very pleasant and enjoyed the wonderful garden view.
We were shown into a dining room and seated and it became apparent that the other guests were all talking in whispers. There was absolutely no atmosphere at all and we found our Summer luncheon menu and food a huge disappointment. My main course was so over seasoned and I do like my salt. The portions were very small and the baby vegetables had no flavour,if I had any potato I certainly couldn't find it. The chef had kindly made a diabetic ice cream to accompany a chopped fruit salad ( reminded me of the tins of fruit cocktail) for my husband which we appreciated.
We returned to Dartmouth feeling so ripped off . Sorry but not in the same league as the wonderful Le Manoir.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hillgrovechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Hillgrovechris

We are very disappointed to hear your experience of Gidleigh Park was not to your liking, should you wish to contact us to discuss your luncheon further I would be interested to hear from you. generalmanager@gidleigh.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“High excitement for high tea!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were visiting friends in Devon and were very lucky indeed when they took us to Gidleigh Park so that we could experience an English high tea. We were delighted with the grounds, the presentation and the service we received. We each chose different teas and were impressed that the staff could remember who was having which tea. We enjoyed tasting the range of sandwiches, cakes and pastries but the scones with strawberry jam and traditional clotted cream were the standout. They were quite simply the best scones we have ever had and really did 'melt in our mouths'.
One of the waiters was from Portugal and as we had recently been there it was great to talk with him about his home country.
This has to be the most magnificent place in which to enjoy a true 'Devonshire tea'.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Baligirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien B, General Manager at Gidleigh Park Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Wendy F

It is lovely to hear you enjoyed Afternoon Tea with us recently, we also agree the scones are fantastic, they are lovingly made each day by Andy our Pastry chef who has worked with Michael Caines for 17 years here at Gidleigh. I will let Marco our waiter know you enjoyed speaking with him, he will be very pleased. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gidleigh Park Restaurant also viewed

Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Gidleigh Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing