We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, idyllic, quiet, lovely. Delightful stay.”

Holmans Wood Holiday Park
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmans Wood Holiday Park
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful, idyllic, quiet, lovely. Delightful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a quiet and friendly site where we were made to feel very welcome. The wardens were so helpful and left out a box of ball games every day of our stay for our daughter. The facilities were clean and well kept, there was lots of information on the surrounding area in the information area, and games and books to borrow. The large area in the middle of the site for games had a lovely play area for children and was full of rabbits every evening. Wild strawberries and flowers abound in this idyllic setting. Highly recommended. So much to do in the area. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KB752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This campsite is unfortunately very close to the main noisy road which can be heard at all times of the day and night (even though a previous review said you couldn't). The camp site itself is on a slope - no flat pitches and the bathroom facilities although exceptionally clean are very dated. There is no plug socket in the facilities anywhere where you can plug in a hairdryer or tongs and the hairdryer provided is useless. On two occasions my children left shower gel in the cublicle and this had disappeared by the time we went back to find it! Also this site has many long term inhabitants - who are owners of statics - and they are very unfriendly towards the campers, but I have often found this to be the case on mixed sites. The wardens however were very nice and helpful and the thatched pub down the road is lovely. The area itself is fantastically located for both Dartmoor and Halden Forest. It did rain while we stayed and the campsite itself became very muddy which meant you couldn't park by your tent or you would be stuck in the mud!

Room Tip: River Dart Country Park - half hour down the road - much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a last minute booking for the bank holiday weekend for a short break, most places were fully booked but here they went out of their way to fir us in (2 caravans) The site is easy to get to and is very well run. Very clean and tidy and very friendly staff. The location was perfect with easy access to Dartmoor or to the coast. Would recommend this to anyone as it is so peaceful surrounded by open country side yet only a short distance from the main road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynIan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton Bassett
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Holmans Wood and we chose to make our booking based on the great internet reviews. We normally choose Caravan Club sites as we like to be assured of well maintained and run sites and although this isn't a CC site it is run by the most friendly and welcoming wardens we have ever met and the facilities and standards are very high. The site is very easy to find and has easy access for a 6.5m motorhome. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and shown to our pitch which had water, electric, space for our privacy room and our car! We felt so at home straight away and enjoyed spotting the wildlife. The location is great for walking into Chudleigh for the local shops and facilities as well as exploring the beaches, Dartmoor and Exeter by car. All the other campers were friendly and considerate and we chatted easily to them.
I would definitely recommend this site to anyone of any age at any time of the year and we are already planning dates to return.
Thank you very much for a great Bank Holiday weekend break, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 2rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is our third year at this site, it's so quiet and peaceful the only noise is from all the different bird that visit us. The site is so well run and clean, the staff and owners are so friendly and helpful. My husband is disabled and if I need help with any heavy work like putting up the awning or the cover at the end of the season the wardens are always ready to help.
We love it here and our family do too. My sister is now a regular camper too she moved from a nearby site to be on this beautiful site.
Mrs F M Read
Lancashire

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

what a friendly site ,the owners and wardens are so nice ,the grounds are so neat and tidy,the toilet and showers are spotless,we shall bebooking again for next year ,best we have been to in south devon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45rich18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our first visit to this site in our tourer, when booked felt the main A38 was very close, but this proved to be no issue, very quiet and peaceful, this is a well run site, the childrens play area is seperate from the main sited area, and this is well enforced by the wardens, this is a breath of fresh air, showing respect for others peace and quiet, there is a pub down the way from the site, the Highwaymans Arms, 5 min walk, quite an expensive venue, but OK if you just want a couple of pints, Chudliegh is definitely a drive although posted as a walk, to the centre it is a good 30mins + walk, the well stocked shop is a 5 minute walk up the road which is the local filling station on the main A38 but safe to walk to, toilets and showers are clean and tidy, there is controlled access to the site by way of swipe card for added security, will certainly revisit this site, Trago Mills is 6 miles away and Newton Abbott about 10 miles a super town with loads of quirky shops aswell as well known high street brand shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
5.1 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
0.7 mi away
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Chudleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haulfryn Finlake
Haulfryn Finlake
#1 of 2 in Chudleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmans Wood Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmans Wood Holiday Park

Property: Holmans Wood Holiday Park
Address: Harcombe Cross, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chudleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmans Wood Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Holmans Wood Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmans Wood Holiday Park Devon/Chudleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing