We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the glen!”
Review of Glen Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chudleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Chudleigh B&B and Inns
Weston Turville, Bucks,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the glen!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We're in our 70s and after many years experience of B&B we can do no more than heartily recommend Glen Cottage. Jill and Terry are delightful hosts and this impression is enhanced by their informal and friendly approach to their guests.

The 'Cottage' is situated in an old overgrown craggy quarry where peregrine falcons and kingfishers are to be seen. The extensive informal gardens are delightful and it is difficult to imagine anything more peaceful.

On first arrival you may be disturbed by a view of old vehicles in need of repair but please set that impression aside - proceed and you will enter the realms of a real gem.
We would entirely agree with the previous and favourable reviews of Glen Cottage.

Room Tip: We were shown around all the rooms by Jill. If the rest of the rooms are as comfortable as room 6 th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Costa del Sol
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Firstly must say that we cannot understand the negative review by well-fine. It is obvious that he/she doesn't speak English well, so perhaps they didn't understand Terry and Jill, who are the most delightful and helpful hosts. The rooms and beds are superbly comfortable and well-appointed, with very good bathrooms (we had a tour of the whole house). We certainly had no problems with the soundproofing, sleeping very well with no disturbance from other guests, the hosts, or their 'male chicken' (cockerel)! Glen Cottage is great value for money in a wonderful part of the country. We are returning there for 3 nights in August of this year, hence this late posted review of our stay some time ago.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

What am amazing cottage - it is set in the most beautiful grounds and is very peaceful. The hosts Terry and Jill are very hospitable and know the area very well - Terry was born in the cottage! There is wonderful wildlife...peregrin falcons, a kingfisher, cockerel (who isn't a nuisance), blackbirds, wrens... it is so peaceful and the hosts go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They spolit my daughter and let her play on their piano... they even gave her an Easter egg and bunny rabbit. Very sweet indeed... and not forgetting the teddy toast! This is excellent value for money and in a great central position to explore Devon. Thanks Jill and Terry. See you in June!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing - we liked the four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have stayed at this B&B many times and have enjoyed every visit. Jill & Terry are the nicest people and the friendliest i have ever had the privilage to meet,The cottage is indeed very beautiful and the rooms are very well decorated and furnished to a high standard,you could not ask for anything more in the rooms.The garden is very large and very beautiful,even the chicken adds character to the surroundings.If i could i would love to stay at this cottage on a regular basis as i do enjoy my visits to Devon. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The cottage was very beautiful and the garden was big and lovely. The breakfast was good and filling. However, three problems with this B&B:

1) Poor soundproof - we could hear people conversation very well from next doors, corridor and downstairs! In the morning was the worst - not only did we hear people talking in the early morning, but also the host's male chicken was making noise for a long period of time...

2) The bed - it was not comfortable and the cover was too thick. We were either too hot under the cover or too cold when put our legs or arms out of the cover. We didn't have good night sleep for two nights.

3) The host - they were friendly but didn't have a good knowledge of their area. We were relying on them to tell us which pub was good but they just didn't know well! We wanted to try the Manor Inn but only knew that they didn't do food on Monday when we arrived! We were very disappointed.

We think that the host should think of the customers' point of view rather than what suit them best. We thought that we would pay £10 less than what they asked for!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
1.5 mi away
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Chudleigh
74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Farmborough House
Farmborough House
#2 of 6 in Chudleigh
40 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cridford Inn
The Cridford Inn
#1 of 1 in Trusham
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Haulfryn Finlake
Haulfryn Finlake
#1 of 2 in Chudleigh
1,022 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holmans Wood Holiday Park
Holmans Wood Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Chudleigh
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Cottage

Property: Glen Cottage
Address: Rock Road, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chudleigh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Glen Cottage Devon/Chudleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing