We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jill & Terry, Devon's finest hosts”
Review of Glen Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chudleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Chudleigh B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jill & Terry, Devon's finest hosts”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at Glen Cottage in July 2014, to attend my friend's wedding at nearby Ugbrooke House. I was welcomed by Jill with a lovely smile, who showed me to my bedroom, which immediately felt like home. I enjoyed a lovely siesta with cool air coming in through the window, to refresh myself after the train journey from London. It's a short walk from Glen Cottage into Chudleigh village, where I enjoyed meeting the village characters. I turned in quite early though, there was something about Glen Cottage pulling me back home! The next morning, I enjoyed Jill's delicious breakfast and I relaxed in the lovely garden at Glen Cottage, even doing a few handstands and cartwheels out there, I just felt so happy. Terry called out from the pathway above. 'Can you catch?' he said. 'Yes,' I said. Terry threw me a freshly picked plum and I ate it on the grass and it tasted like heaven, sweet and juicy. I stayed in the garden all morning, enjoying the splash of the fountain on the pond, breathed in and out and thought this is just the perfect antidote to busy London life, I feel restored! So many more kindnesses from Jill and Terry during my stay, fantastic hosts with interesting stories that kept me entertained. It has left me searching to find another reason, and soon, to return to Glen Cottage. Magical.

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlottetarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have been staying at glen cottage for several years whilst visiting family, the cottage and gardens are the most beautiful I have ever seen, the rooms are large and comfortable and the breakfast is delicious . The hosts are lovely friendly, welcoming and very helpful we never want to leave , I would definitely recommend and can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colyton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed Christmas night whilst visiting family in Chudleigh. Warm, comfortable, electric blanket in bed, also quiet, lovely building and setting.
Did not think we would manage a full breakfast on Boxing Day morning, we did and it was excellent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed just one night while passing on business, It is situated down a little dark lane, but I was pleasantly surprised, a warm friendly welcome a large room and a great breakfast, I would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at this delightful B and B last April. Formerly the master's house of the adjacent worked out quarry it has an idyllic setting with a lake and stream running through the grounds. We had a large comfortable room with a 4 poster bed and views out on to a cliff at the top of which was a perigrine falcons' nest. We occasionally caught sight of the falcons on the wing as well as a heron fishing in the lake..Mrs Shears is an excellent host and provides hearty breakfasts. All this at a very reasonable price together with it's proximity to Dartmoor, the coast and other tourist attractions make for high recommendation.

Room Tip: Both sides have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelovertrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearsted
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first stay here and we stayed for 5 nights. If you want an excellent B&B in a fascinating 17th century building, then this is the place for you, especially if you are interested in wildlife. Peregrine Falcons, Kingfishers, Herons and Foxes have all been seen here. We saw the Falcon on several occasions and heard an owl one night. The owners, Terry & Jill, are a welcoming, friendly Devonian couple who run the B&B on an informal basis. The room we had was very comfortable (one of two four-poster bed rooms available) with a great view of the grounds. Room rates are very reasonable and represent very good value in our opinion. The breakfast each day was wonderful with a wide choice of cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt, toast and a lovely cooked breakfast which Jill will adapt willingly to your choice. Jill’s homemade marmalade and jam were superb too. We recommend Glen Cottage and we will be looking to stay there again on our future trips to Devon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have good views of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearsted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent time there and beleive it Jill is such an excellent host. We went there in a group of three families, and we enjoyed every bit of our stay there.
Breakfast was so good with all kind of varied stuff.
In short the best B&B with such a reasonable tarriff.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadiq W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
1.5 mi away
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
Amberley Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Chudleigh
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Farmborough House
Farmborough House
#2 of 6 in Chudleigh
40 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cridford Inn
The Cridford Inn
#1 of 1 in Trusham
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Haulfryn Finlake
Haulfryn Finlake
#1 of 2 in Chudleigh
1,006 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holmans Wood Holiday Park
Holmans Wood Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Chudleigh
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Cottage

Property: Glen Cottage
Address: Rock Road, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chudleigh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Glen Cottage Devon/Chudleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing