We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uk holiday”
Review of Haulfryn Finlake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haulfryn Finlake
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Uk holiday”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a 6 person deluxe woodland lodge - and when we arrived we were told that it wasn't available due to a flood - so we could be moved to a 4 person one instead - this was dank, dirty and smelly (wet dog smell, door handle hanging off, leather sofa - missing the leather, and them just plain depressing) - I complained and we were moved to a country superior lodge instead - TR15 - very light, brighter and modern -very nice indeed - just very disappointed that the only reason for booking at finlake was due to the tree houses, that we ended up not staying in!! Also we found out - that because every lodge is private owned, each one is different, so you could be paying the same money as someone staying in the lodge next to you - and they could have every included - including well maintained and you could be in a dump!! Check before booking to see what you are going to get!!! Where we stayed was very nice and we did have a good time - just beware!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkiwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Finlake.

I am aware that on the day of your arrival we had unforeseen maintenance issue with the 6 berth accommodation you had been allocated. We noted that there were two people in your party, on your arrival we were able to offer you the 4 berth equivalent in the same category or a 6 berth country lodge that you accepted.

We once again apologise for the inconvenience on arrival and are glad you were able to chose a lodge to your liking to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    281
    107
    42
    47
See reviews for
634
182
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maunsy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we just got back from a 3 night stay in lodge 53, this lodge has got to be one of the best due to its location. we were not over looked and had a fabulous hot tub and sauna. i have read some reviews people moaning about cob webs on the lodges?? you are in a forest so its to be expected!!! we had a really tasty Sunday carvery at the retreat you need to book as it gets really busy. the swimming pools are quite small considering how large the complex is, the indoor pool and changing rooms are very dated. We done the tree top walking which was amazing and really good value for money £12.00 per head for 1 hour.

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days, and in this time we were unable to book treatments at the spa, they were fully booked. I was really disappointed as was looking forward to a relaxing back massage. I think they should have more staff.

All this said we had a great break and will be returning shortly.

Room Tip: take dish washing tablets with you as the on site store is very expensive. there is a co-op just 5 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maunsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in a Woodland Deluxe Lodge.

You are able to pre book at Finesse Beauty, we can provide you with the treatment brochure and contact details at the time of your next booking. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to book for a treatment on this visit.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to Finlake in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in a Woodland Deluxe Lodge Four and was delighted by the standard of our accommodation. The fittings were ideal to make our stay more pleasant. A good size fridge freezer, oven with grill, dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave, all the utensils and equipment you could need.

An open plan layout meant the three year old could play happily and the crawling/toddling baby could explore without getting under our toes all the time.

Comfortable beds and good sized rooms, clean bathrooms and great shower. The hot tub made our stay special and relaxing.

The site facilities were a little lacking with a three year old and a baby in tow, but they were happy to enjoy a walk about the beautiful site. The on-site shop was closed the entire time we stayed. The restaurant/bar had a good range of meals and were child friendly.

The indoor pool was a little disappointing, the only working shower was cold.

A great first experience at hoseasons and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viciouslittlething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Finlake.

After the Easter holidays we carried out remedial work in both the male and female changing rooms this would have addressed the points that you raised regarding the shower. We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced.

As well as Finlake The Haulfryn Group own a further four parks in the South of England, with options of both coastal and country locations.
We look forwards to welcoming you to one of our parks in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a woodland lodge 6 and i have to say it was a very high standard of accomodation. The kitchen was very well equiped with washer/dryer, fridge/freezer and a dishwasher which is very unusual. The sauna and hot tub were very good and we used both a lot. The sites gym had some very good equipment as well as a steam room and sauna. The reception staff were very friendly and always helpful as was all the staff we met. We also used the sites riding stables which was great fun and had well cared for horses. overall I would recommend this holiday park and will definately be using them again!.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie7798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Woodland Deluxe Lodges.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to Finlake very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been holidaying at Finlake now since 2002! Unfortunately the lodge we stayed at a Deer Park was the most shabby lodge we have every stayed in..... There was mould on the curtains and the general upkeep of the lodge let the whole site down. There are definitely better lodges on this site as we have stayed in them!!!! Unfortunately the cleanliness of this lodge also let down the housekeeping side of the team and the fact that there was broken glass under the sink upon our arrival which resulted in a cut thumb only proved our point. However, the incident was dealt with quickly and professionally. If I was rating Finlake on this one visit then I would give it a thumbs down, but having visited it a number of times over the last 12 Years It gets a thumbs up for me for value, location and staff friendliness

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had booked this as pure escapism, when I booked we were told that a travel cot would not fit in the bedroom, but assured a moses basket would, they were right. The bedroom was tight, the bathroom door did not open fully, but hit the bed, not a problem for us, but may have been for a larger person.
Having the hot tub was a luxury, such good fun to bubble away once the children were in bed.

Very clean accommodation, slightly annoying to have to go out and buy washing up liquid and washing up brush but hey ho.

Swimming pool was very clean, only used indoor one, but outdoor one looked great fun.
Playground was super with areas for younger and older children

Don't think we had appreciated that it was a caravan when we booked, which was slightly annoying, but more our fault than the company, word to the wise, book direct rather than through Hoseasons, prices are different.

Very helpful staff, would definitely return

Room Tip: Bramble 20 is in a corner location, hot tub not overlooked at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummy_yummy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a review following you recent stay with us. We are glad to read that you had a enjoyable break.

The country accommodation is 12ft in width which as you mention do not allow space for a cot , however all of the woodland lodges can comfortably fit a cot in the master bedrooms.

If you liked the style of accommodation that you stayed in my suggestion would be to enquire about a Superior Country 4 VIP next time they are 20ft in width giving increased internal space throughout including larger bedrooms.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having been to Finlake last year on holiday, we really enjoyed it and decided to return this year. We were hoping for a bit more of a luxurious lodge so when booking we requested a lodge in the Templar Rise part of the site which has the newest lodges and booked a Country Six VIP Platinum lodge with hot tub (same type of lodge booked last year).

We weren't disappointed with the lodge but it was not perhaps not as luxury as we would have liked for the price we paid. As there were only two of us, the main bedroom was fine but I don't think you could really have more than 4 adults staying in the lodge although it does sleep 6.
Bathroom really nice, good big bath and ensuite to master bedroom. Living room was also nice with leather sofas and decent sized tv.
We did feel the kitchen was smaller than previous lodges we have stayed in - there was not really much cupboard space to put food etc and the fridge was small with no compartments in it.
Some of the cutlery was quite dirty and the freezer had spilt ice cream in it - the rest of the lodge, however, was spotlessly clean.
Great hot tub which was cleaned everyday.
The pub/restaurant on the site serves very good food although quite pricey - nice atmosphere and good outdoor seating area for warmer days.

Finlake is a gorgeous and very well maintained park. Very relaxing and scenic and just a lovely place to stay. A very big park with plenty of walks and things to do. Partner enjoyed the free golf course and there are brand new tennis courts also.

I would definitely return to Finlake as have enjoyed our holidays here. I would recommend booking a larger lodge than you need in terms of space.
The park is absolutely stunning but my only criticism is that I think a little bit more attention could possibly be paid to the inside of the lodges to ensure cleanliness and a touch of luxury, especially the more pricey lodges.

Great location for visiting South Devon - near to all main roads and plenty to see and visit nearby.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Book larger lodge than needed. When booking, request which area of the park you would like to stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Finlake, we are gad to read you enjoyed your stay and made use of the facilities on the park. We share all comments with the teams and I have bought the comments regarding the cutlery and freezer to the head housekeepers attention.

We are delighted that you are coming back to Finlake, you may be interested to know that the footprint of the lodges are the same size whether they are a four or six berth. If there are two of you in your party I would suggest considering a four berth lodge for your next stay. You will find the bedrooms and living area to be more spacious.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to Finlake in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chudleigh
8.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,245 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
11.8 mi away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haulfryn Finlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haulfryn Finlake

Property: Haulfryn Finlake
Address: Barley Lane, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chudleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chudleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Haulfryn Finlake 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the edge of Dartmoor yet still close to stunning beaches, Finlake combines 130 acres of magnificent Devon countryside, miles of beautiful woods, an abundance of wildlife and outstanding leisure facilities to create the perfect holiday location.At Haulfryn Finlake we offer an exclusive range of caravans and lodges for the discerning holiday home owner, as well as fantastic short break holiday getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Haulfryn Finlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haulfryn Finlake Hotel Chudleigh
Haulfryn Finlake Devon/Chudleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing