We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly, food excellent and beautiful peaceful surrounding areas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badgers Holt

Badgers Holt
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Dartmeet
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“friendly, food excellent and beautiful peaceful surrounding areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Badgers Holt is a fantastic place to visit, it's surrounding beauty with the river dart running through plus the animals roaming freely. The restaurant serves up top standard food and has a bar licence which is very reasonably priced. Most of all you have to try the home made scones with clotted cream and jam it's to die for.Not forgetting the very friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluemooncolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    65
    39
    27
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonable prices, idyllic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I am surprised by some of the negative reviews to this place, I visited again recently and found everything to be as good as usual. The place could do with a revamp, but to sit outside on the picnic tables and have a cream tea by the river on a nice day cant be beaten. As it was on this occasion had food in the restaurant and it was served quickly and hot by friendly staff and it was a good size portion. Place was clean and well presented, yes tiored, but I don't look at that, I look at the positives.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food was inedible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went on a trip down memory lane on a recent holiday and went to Dartmeet which was as charming as we remembered. We decided to go for lunch and tried Badgers Holt and really wished we hadn't bothered. The place is stuck in a time warp and seriously needed updating. The bathroom was a seriously unpleasant experience but back to the food. I can't remember the last time I paid for food this terrible. We ordered toasted panini's and they were basically not toasted, came out under cooked, just awful. We all left our food and we had paid £5.95 each for the pleasure. Just drive past and don't stop...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asmurray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cream tea - like rock cakes!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

we visited Badgers Holt on Wednesday 2nd July 2014, purchased cream tea, for £5.75 each. The cream was plentiful so was the jam, however, the Scones were as hard as rock cakes and crumbled inside the moment you opened them. The Scones did not appear fresh for the day and made an experience unenjoyable! I would suggest for the price and updating of the restaurant a better ambience would be provided if fresh scones being baked on the premises that day. The
scones were warm but leaves me to conclude they were put in the microwave to freshen up as the exterior was very hard! I would NOT recommend this as a Devon Cream Tea, there are better ones elsewhere and less "touristy". We will not be back. We live in North Devon so we
are fully aware of what a decent and less costly true cream tea is. And there are them about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stop when in Dartmoor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice place for a stopover. Plenty parking, one can walk, look at the birds, sit next to the river and enjoy a lunch inside or outside. Kids can walk about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Badgers Holt also viewed

Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
Hexworthy, Dartmeet
 
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Badgers Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing