We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what all B and Bs should be like”
Review of Hilltop B&B

Hilltop B&B
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holne
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Lovely hosts and that is actually the most important thing a B and B can provide. Beautiful home and interesting people who obviously enjoy having guests stay in their house . Cup of tea and cake on arrival and nice breakfast . Really enjoyed the stay and the chat about the world economy !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMLTRADING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We really enjoyed our one night's stay, whilst walking the Two Moors Way, at Hilltop in Holne. Mike and Gill are interesting, genteel and kind hosts and we were delighted to be able to share their home and garden on our short visit. We were welcomed with tea and home made cake in the garden when we arrived and were made to feel very "looked-after". Gill's home-made jam is exceptional and the best encountered during our whole trip! The local inn - the Church House - is excellent and we had a very good meal there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monmouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

What a lovely welcome we were greated with when we arrived here having walked from Ivybridge as part of the Two Moors Way, we were offered Tea & Cake in the garden and the hosts were more than happy to help with anything we needed or just leave us alone to sit and relax.
The rooms are really nicely done and a good size too, the only thing that you could ask for is a TV or a double bed as neither are available, but being out on the moor is not about watching TV. You feel very much like you are staying with friends and not in an anonymous hotel. Breakfast is well done and offers a good variety.
There is a lovely pub just down the round and fantastic scenery all around you that you can see from your window and walk to without need for a car, what more could you want? Plus if you do want any tips Gill and Mike are only too happy to help.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

We found this B&B by chance - it is on the 2 Moors Way (walkers path) on Dartmoor in the village of Holne. There were 2 guest rooms - spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. Our room was large - with 2 single beds and a spare bed for a third person. The views of Dartmoor from the room were wonderful. They have a beautiful water garden and ponds too (so not very suitable for young children). The immaculate bathroom (shower and bath) was down the corridor but as no one was in the other guest room it was used only by us. (There was a washbasin in the room too). The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a B&B! Full english - with local sausages/bacon and eggs from the farm in the village, homemade jams etc. I am a vegetarian and Gill was happy to do grapefruit, yoghurts etc. Gill and Mike were wonderful hosts - so welcoming, full of local knowledge and keen walkers themselves. They saved us from a lot of 'tourist traps' and sent us off to discover lesser known Dartmoor! On the day we arrived Gill gave us homemade cake and a cup of tea (which you don't get in a lot of B&B's!) and we always had fresh milk in the room for tea and coffee. They had 2 very friendly black labradors called Tess and Hebe who liked to be made a fuss of! Great pub in the village (not that cheap but fantastic food) called the Church House Inn which is 2 or 3 minutes walk from the house. Lots of other pubs that you could drive to as well. Will be going back!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflowergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holne
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,290 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop B&B

Address: 2 Moors Way, Holne, Dartmoor National Park, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Holne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holne
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hilltop B&B Holne, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing