We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, excellent accomadation.”
other travellers have booked this property
View over Scoriton village and valley from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Scoriton village and valley from the garden
Garden view from the balcony and front door of the Walkers Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View over Scoriton village and valley from the garden
Garden view from the balcony and front door of the Walkers Retreat
Private entrance to the Walkers Retreat
Well equipped kitchen on both sides of the  entrance door with electric hob, oven, microwave etc.
Kitchen with electric hob and oven, toaster, sugar, coffee, tea etc.
Living area with free view tv and dvd player. Reclining chair and sofa. Door to bedroom
Overview of kitchen, dining  and living area
Living area with comfortable reclining chair and sofa. Books and information about area provided
Dining area for three persons. Sideboard for cutlery, cups, plates etc. Great view from window
Super king size bed and comfortable chair in the well heated bedroom
Beauty table, wardrobe, chair and extra towels in bedroom
Bath robes provided. Door leads to toilet (same level) and stairs going down to shower room
Beauty table, chair in bedroom. Great view from window. Door leads to living area
Shower room with washing/ dryer machine and plenty of towels
Stairs going down to shower room, shampoo and shower gel provided
Private parking within the grounds
Quiet and tranquil atmosphere around the property
View from wooden bench on side of the garden
Lovely view over the Moor and garden (winter)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Holne, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
keith r
1 review
“Great location, excellent accomadation.”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just below the moors, and not too far from the sea, just what we wanted. The big bonus was the flat is very comfortable and the owners supplied all the little things it,s great not to have to think about taking with us, tea, coffee, eggs milk , salt etc, and even dog blankets and treats.
Lovely , thoughtful owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thank you very much Keith for taking the time to write such a kind review. We’re very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again one day,
Best wishes,
Samantha & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppysmit...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic location with excellent views and the hosts were very welcoming. Very clean, tidy and well stocked for self catering! Lovely comfy bed. Beautiful large garden which we were able to make use of during our stay. Would definately recommend to family and friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your property and the garden. Many thanks for recommending it to friends. Much appreciated.
Best wishes,
Samantha & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WidelyTra...
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, peaceful”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Walkers Retreat. The apartment is cosy but not cramped; is well equipped for preparing your own meals; and the bed is very comfortable and large. Samantha welcomed us on our arrival and explained how things worked. There was fresh milk and eggs in the fridge and the usual assortment of tea/coffee (plunger) for us to enjoy. It was also particularly nice to be able to sit out in the garden in the afternoon having a quiet drink whilst enjoying the very very nice valley views. Also, the local community store (which we would also highly recommend you visit - even just for some of their home made cakes with tea/coffee) is only a 5 minute walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grace h
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

what is not clear from the photos is that this is a stand alone apartment on top of a garage- I had thought it was connected to the main house but was delighted that we were in a separate little annex with our own entrance, privacy and lovely unspoiled views.

the setting is wonderful. the kitchen is furnished to a high standard, the bed was like sleeping in a cloud. I wanted to take it home with me. there were lots of local guides provided so we felt we had lots of information at our fingertips to make good informed decisions on where to walk.

the location is perfect for walking straight out of the property to find trails or also take a drive for a more central walk across the moors.

the village shop is also just a short walk away and stocks some very lovely fresh bread and pasties. its a real shame that the local pub has closed but we drove one village over and were very warmly welcomed for a good local ale and cider.

if I were intending to return to Dartmoor I'd want to stay here again but I like exploring new places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bed
Liked least: leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Dear guests,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Much appreciated and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Walkers Retreat.
Yes the pub in Holne is closed for now but we hope for a reopening before the summer starts. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the next pub on in the village of Scoriton, which you can see in the view from the property. Have you tried the local tearoom for lunch/ cakes?
We hope you will come back to the Dartmoor area one day.
Thanks for your stay,
Samantha & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightons...
Peacehaven Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money 5*****”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stumbled across this place on the internet by accident really but so glad we did.
Accomodation was excellent and the owners try to think of everything to make your stay a good one. Weather at the time for us was a bit hit and miss but didnt really detract from our stay.
Based at the bottom of Dartmoor National Park and well within reach of destinations for day trips This self catering apartment was just right for the two of us for a holiday break.
Previous poster has more or less said everything else that can be said.
Samantha and Alex were really nice hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
RECOMMENDED.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodation / views.
Liked least: Single track with passing area approach roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous haven”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We arrived in wild, wet weather and were immediately welcomed by Samantha and Alex to this lovely haven. It was perfect! It was separate accommodation from the main residence but within the grounds. There was space to park the car and access was up a few stairs and along a small veranda where you can sit and have your tea/coffee. There were 2 rooms - a large, kitchen-living combination room and the bedroom. It was both roomy and snug, with lovely furniture and beautifully and tastefully decorated. The kitchen was excellently equipped for self-catering and with welcome extras like tea, coffee, eggs, milk and other kitchen things thoughtfully provided. There were lots of great books to read as well as information material about the local area. The huge, soft, comfortable bed provided a marvellous night's sleep and was hard to get out of! The toilet was conveniently located just outside the bedroom and the downstairs bathroom, accessed by a carpeted stairway, had a great hot shower and a washing machine that was also a drier.
Samantha and Alex were the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble, and yet our privacy was assured and respected. They were warm, friendly and helpful. Alex came through the rain to check that all was well after I'd asked for the heat to be cranked up and Sam gave me one of her own baking trays to use. Alex also provided some very helpful car rental advice. Of course it was very peaceful and quiet in such a lovely rural setting with delightful grounds and views. Look for squirrels. This is a truly exceptional place and I have no hesitation in highly recommending it. The tiny village of Holne is a nearby stroll away, so be sure to drop in to the Tea Room for marvellous cream tea and pick up supplies in the shop. We met Malcolm, who was an avid bird-watcher like me, who gave us wonderful advice on places to visit in the area. Our one regret is that we did not stay longer. Next time! Thanks so much Samantha and Alex.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort and hospitality
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable accommodation, fabulous location”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Beautiful location. Very warm and welcoming hosts - very thoughtful and helpful - nothing too much trouble. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and very helpful owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Dear Keith,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our Walkers Retreat. That is very much appreciated.
It's always very helpful and motivating that our accommodation is comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward having you back one day.

Best wishes,
Samantha & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing