We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Certificate of Excellence
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
273 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fabulous few days”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited for a two night break here in this wonderful hotel on Dartmoor to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. The staff made our room already to surprise him complete with balloons, huge bunch of flowers,homemade choccies, prosseco chilling away and just as we arrived a pint of Thatchers Gold on ice ready for him to start on. It was perfect. We ate and drank the three days well away and did chair aerobics with an ocassional swim to keep slightly active apart from lifting glasses of wine, cider or a whisky or so. The food, ambience,staff, everything was wonderful, the hotel is set in glorious grounds within sight of Haytor Rock.Although the weather was somewhat inclement it did not stop us from having a super time dining and enjoying ourselves.
A local lady, Emma from Emmas cake creations from Newton Abbot made my husband a super duper 50th Birthday cake of choccy fudge 5 layers encased in a delicious choccy icing all in the shape of my husbands golf bag, complete with a model of our kittencat and our Guernsey cows from a past life, sitting on a grass icing with tees and a golf ball. The cake was utterly delicious and such a wonderful masterpeice, I highly recommend.She kindly took it to the hotel for me so that my husband was not aware of the cake until it was served with coffee on his special day.
On the Saturday morning a pre 1920's car rally past the grounds of the hotel which was a lovely sight to see as was the gatherings of families for a wedding anniversary and the wedding parties resplendid in their wedding atire. The hotel was busy with all these different activities taking place, yet no one was perplexed or hurried and all seemed so effortlesly done for all the different lunches in the different areas of the hotel for all their very special days. Children played on the extensive grounds and people were drinking champagne beside the pergola and ponds and photos of the wedding parties upon the gardens, all so very English and lovely.
Highly recommend this hotel for a special time to spend with loved ones, for special days, delicious dinners and for time for quietness, It is a lovely spot to have a holiday in and I wish I could come for Christmas or a New Year, all so wonderfully decadent.
We shall return.
Thank you all for making it such a lovely time for both myself and my husband

Room Tip: Deluxe/Superior/Junior suite all at the top of the hotel with wonderful views at the front to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    113
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
104
227
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

From my initial phone call to book a table to the moment we left this hotel the service was first class. Nothing was too much trouble and even the young waiters had a sense of humour. We arrived early as this was a family get together so had pre dinner drinks in the comfortable lounge. The dining room was beautifully laid out with a pianist performing throughout the meal. The £20 sunday lunch menu was superb. The food looked good, tasted good and was extremely good value for money. There were no faults, no complaints just 5 very happy customers who would visit again without thinking twice. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

3 generations of the family were very well looked after, excellent food and service in wonderful settings. If anyone is thinking of hosting a birthday party for a grand parent and want to be able to enjoy the day yourself and have happy children then I can highly recommend coming here. We all had a dip in the pool to make it a memorable and very special family day. A group family photo with Haytor in the background will give my father many happy memories in years to come. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is in a very green area and is very comfortable. The whole place is relaxing and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

If you are after some peace and quiet, this is the best place to go. Have never felt so relaxed and at peace: clean air, no noise, no city bustle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My brother In-law and wife had their wedding reception at the hotel. The hotel is situated on the edge of Dartmoor in a lovely location, on arrival we all received a warm welcome. There was 15 of us in the party we had a 3 course meal and drinks. The service and food was excellent, all members of staff look after use all day. My sister in-law and husband stay there for 2 nights and praised the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

To Richard & Team at the Ilsington Hotel
On behalf of Stover School I would like to thank you very much for all you did to ensure our visitors from the British Council and Agents had a hugely successful couple of days this week. We have had some fantastic feedback and really appreciate all you did. One comment was the best they had had! With best wishes and thank you
JACQUI WARRENDER, PA to the Principal, Stover School

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here as a treat to ourselves after a busy biking weekend on dartmoor, it did not disappoint. Fabulous situation, gorgeous surroundings, friendly welcoming staff, lovely lovely good in the blue tiger inn and the most enormous, huge comfortable bed. And the spa was just what we needed too. Really enjoyable, lovely treat.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cvt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilsington
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
18.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
23.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilsington Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilsington Country House Hotel

Property: Ilsington Country House Hotel
Address: Ilsington Village | Nr Newton Abbot, Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ilsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilsington Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated country house hotel is set in 11 acres of private land within the boundaries of the Dartmoor National Park. Award winning food is served in the main Restaurant whilst the Blue Tiger Inn with its large sun terrace offers more informal dishes of excellent quality. Emphasis is on local produce and homemade creations.Beautiful new Spa opening early 2015 with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, gym and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilsington Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilsington Country Hotel
Best Western Newton Abbot
Hotel Ilsington Country
Ilsington Country House Hotel Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing