We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor food, dirty restaurant and toilets.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hunting Lodge

The Hunting Lodge
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Ivybridge
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor food, dirty restaurant and toilets.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Went here for a Sunday carvery with parents and sister and it was one of the worst I have ever had. Although the portions were generous, the beef was tough (my sister took it all home for her dog!). The vegetables were below average in taste and the apple sauce was watery and tasteless. To top it all the toilets were a disgrace, dirty and apparently the ammonia smell in the gents brought tears to the eyes. The table we sat at was sticky as it had not been cleaned properly and the whole place was grubby. Such a shame, went there a few years ago and it was much better. Not surprised it was empty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    32
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I will never go back, and never recommend The Hunting Lodge to anyone after my experience there tonight. I ordered a lasagne, should've come with a spoon it was so runny, awful. My sister ordered a chilli, it was so hot (steam), she literally burnt her mouth. When the "food" arrived at our table, it was virtually thrown on the table by someone who obviously had not had any training in hospitality/customer service, either that or he just did not care. When it was time to settle up, I asked if they appreciated feedback, to be told, " it depends what it is"! No apology for the rubbish food ,or the poor service, or that someone burnt their mouth on over-microwaved sub-standard chilli. God awful folks, don't go there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible food and no service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I visited here last Saturday evening. As we hadn't booked a table we arrived early thinking that we would have a better chance of getting a table. The Hunting Lodge was already busy and one part of the restaurant was closed off for some reason so we found that there was only one table available which was close to the bar, not ideal but seemed more comfortable than the tables with bench seats that we passed on our way through. Maybe I was wrong there as the back of my chair kept moving so much I felt it would give way if lent against it fully. Not wanting to spoil the evening for my wife I said nothing.

I then had to go to the bar to order my food. I ordered a medium rare sirloin steak and a chicken dish for my wife.

When a waiter arrived he asked who was having the steak and unceremoniously dropped the cutlery on the table. After what was not an unreasonable amount of time our food arrived. Without a word he just dropped (literally) the plates on the table and left. As I said I had ordered my steak medium rare - it arrived well done to burnt. We never saw our waiter again and a waitress serving tables nearby ignored my attempts to get her attention.

Unhappily I decided to make the best of it. The well done half of my steak had little flavour but the other half was very dry and completely inedible. My wife didn't finish her food either. Her only comment to me was 'I don't want to spend the rest of the evening here and I don't think we should eat here again'.

I had to return to the bar to pay my bill and I told the woman who came to serve me my thoughts on the service we received and how my steak was not cooked as I ordered it. I said that I resented paying for such bad food. Her response was 'Oh' and then presented me with a bill for the full amount.

I paid, I left and I won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BrandyMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“love an evening here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love going here during the week for cheap but filling meals. Steak, chips, peas and mushrooms or Beer battered cod with chips.
Or at weekends their carvery is amazing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alison551646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Generously Portioned Carvery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful carvery to celebrate my Dad's 65th birthday. 5 of us all went and all of us enjoyed it. Would recommend to others. Great priced carvery for the generous portion of meat that you receive, we all left full and satisfied!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgil8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hunting Lodge also viewed

Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing