We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Ivybridge B&B and Inns
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ok....”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here for a family party.
The pub itself is ok - looks tired but clean.
We booked the four poster room, the lady that checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. That's where the good service stopped!
The room itself was large, but quite dark, as it has a small window which faces out on to the road.
Some nice touches in the room like a chaise lounge and a decanter of sherry, as well as tea and coffee making facilities.
we ate at the Inn on both nights we were there, the first night was was friends, and the food was plentiful and tasty.
The second night was the party,and we have tons of food, but again very nice, no complaints.
My only real complaint was with some of the staff. The owner was pretty miserable the whole time we were there, didnt say much and never looked happy.
Another member of staff was also quite grumpy and curt at times, obviously not happy in her job!
Would I stay again - probably not to be honest, I would look around for somewhere else.

Room Tip: The family room was very small, the four poster room quite noisy from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeynveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    19
    23
    11
See reviews for
22
28
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon,UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Reading these reviews it is easy to see who gets the Sportsmans Inn and who doesn't.....If you want an authentic, cosy, friendly and interesting Devon pub/hotel full of genuine people and wonderful staff then you've found it! As a local for the last 9 years this establishment has provided our family so much entertainment with Themed Birthday Bashes, Comedy Nights and Darts Nights featuring top national acts, Vegas Style Casino Nights, Fantastic Tribute Singers - just close your eyes and Neil Diamond IS appearing in Ivybridge, Charity Auctions and Quizzes, not to mention New Years Eve Extravaganzas with stunning food and entertainment for under £40. If you are impressed with the bland corporate makeover that national chains provide then you may not value the whimsical charms of "The Sporties" and its eccentric and very loveable crew. BUT I have spoken to hundreds of guests ('cos it's that kind of place!) who are absolutely delighted to have stumbled upon this little Dartmoor Gem and can't wait to tell others. For the record, I am a university lecturer with very high standards and have travelled the world staying in 4-5 star establishments yet nowhere beats The Sportsmans Inn for a genuinely good night out. PS Weekend entertainment winds up by midnight so there's plenty of time to sleep ; )

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GerriDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We started our 8 day coast to coast at the Sportsmans Inn - It's a very welcoming place to stay and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Food and drinks of a decent standard for a B&B pub. Room is relatively basic but about right for the price.

We were also kindly allowed to park our car for the time of our work which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShoreRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the end of November, the general outside appearance was a bit tatty, the reception area seating was well worn, sit on the material covered settees and you needed help to get up from it, dining area reasonably good and clean, meals and wine were a bit pricey, but food was of good standard, the included breakfast was quite adequate, large bar area. Staff were all multiskilled an needed to be there wasn't many of them, but all good natured and helpful. The only real criticism was on Friday there was a Kariokie night until midnight with nowhere to get away from it and Saturday there was a Pop duet again until midnight.
The Hotel is right on the main road, most bedrooms face the road, so road traffic at all times, other bedrooms spoilt by the Friday Saturday Entertainment,(noise limiters do not exist there.
We would stay again, but not from friday to monday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrinklyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We only live across the road but have recommended the Sportsmanship to friends and even Metropolitan police officers. Pleasant staff and a friendly owner called Bill. They sell Doom Bar too! Food has improved greatly recently and still good value for money. As Ivybridge goes it is perhaps the best place for a good Sunday lunch. Would like a more modern juke box but hey that is not really a criticism!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillstarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

it was our daughters wedding. when we arrived the owner was there to greet us we felt at ease and made to feel very welcome. The food was fantastic all three courses were tasty and hot..the evening buffet wow all i can say is well done to the chef and kitchen staff.The waitresses and bar staff were extremely professional friendly and helpful.Our bedroom decorated beautifully it was very clean. The owners have in my opinon a very dedicated team of staff. Thankyou for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenandchris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The sportsman inn is a welcoming pub & inn. The rooms have been freshly renovated so the previous reviews that mention bad quality can be proven to be wrong. There is entertainment for everyone. Tina Turner tributes one night, Jazzy Piano players the next and to finish the weekend off, a fabulous comedian. I stayed there with my family and we had a great time, the entertainment was a brilliant piano player playing a variety of genre's including some oldies. I enjoyed my stay, and will be back again in august.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivybridge
3.1 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ivybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ivy Barn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel

Property: The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ivybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ivybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sportsmans Inn And Ivybridge Hotel
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing