We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Ivybridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Clean room but my husband couldn't find the tv remote and the tv would not work without it ..so one of the staff tried to find us one with no success and because hotel was fully booked we couldn't change rooms.we went for a drink in the town as the bar was empty. Got a kebab that was rotten and that was that not a good night. However the full devon breakfast the next morning put us on good spirits that was lovely then we settled the bill and checked out with no apology for the no tv situation and no discount offerd very strange land lord we will not stay there again as they didn't seem interested in there customers had things been worse but staff more friendly we would of laughed and returned but not after the land lord was so abrupt np way ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purdeyisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Me and my family went out for a family meal here today, I think by far it's the WORST place we have ever been,food so over cooked you had a hard job getting the knife in it, meat we where served was 90% fat, microwaved gravey and then we found hairs in it,the 2 young waitresses were very helpfull but the manager was very rude and couldn't care, no apology ,refuses to pay
100% terrible, you have been warned

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Cloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

All the staff were great, the room comfortable and clean, the meals were excellent, the drinks prices perhaps a little on the high side but the room price with inclusive breakfast made the stay very good value

Room Tip: not much room in the bathroom in twin bedded room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acp525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was the only accommodation available when we arrived in Ivybridge in pouring rain.Given booking from I Site office.Rather tired looking old hotel in need of tlc.Friendly female staff member welcomed us.Our room was in need of redecorating and a good spring clean.However the bed was comfortable and the bathroom functional.Did notice other rooms had been recently refurbished, so ask for one of those if you stay here.
Evening meal was very good but breakfast disappointing and greasy.The staff on the morning shift were most unprofessional,arguing in front of guests and giving most of their attention to delivery men and their friends who called in.We had to seek out the man on duty in the dining room so that we could pay our bill and be on our way.NEED SOME NEW STAFF!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hillsflat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Don't bother- there are much better places in Ivybridge for a drink. The landlord is very loud and brash, the front of house managers are terrible at their jobs and are attrocious to their staff (except the female FOH manager.) The food is poor standard and terribly overcooked. They do theme nights with end up being horrendous. Seriously- go somewhere with a better atmosphere and spend a lot less for a better night.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else. Expensive for what you get, and that's not much. Dated.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFreakShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A regular meeting place for me and friends. The food is easily 5* quality, with the menu changing frequently to reflect seasonality and has a price range to suit all pockets. We attend the quizzes and karaoke too and the theme nights are also really good fun (look out for the annual St George's day evening!!).

The beer is good too with a vast selection of local ales. The inner decor is olde wordy and characterful, just right for a country pub, and hasn't been overly commercialized.

Bill is the archetypical grumpy English landlord, but has a heart of gold underneath it all and does a lot of fundraising for local and national charities. The theme evenings are always run in aid of something from the local hospice to Diabetes UK to National Crohns and Colitis Association.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Good parking with easy access to the rooms. Greeted by a friendly receptionist and shown to our room. There was persistant road noise although it did not affect the quality of sleep as the bed was so comfortable.
There was the usual complimentary tea & coffee tray with bottled water (39p according to the label) and a hairdryer, which was useful. There was a third-full decanter of sherry with two glasses that smelled of sherry and clearly hadn't been washed properly. The room could do with a thorough clean and a bit of refurbishment. There was mould on the net curtains, the shower curtain and around the bath taps. The lock on the en-suite door didn't work and the door would open at random. The floorboards creaked with every step.
Breakfast was fine and freshly cooked. However, it's the only place I've stayed where I've had to make my own cup of tea. Teapots would be helpful. Most people just put their cups on their table as the cups did not fit the saucers. Also had to use one of the two domestic toasters next to the tea to make toast. A bit inconvenient if more than two people wanted toast at the same time. I've given it an "average" score. It was worse than average, but better than "poor". An odd place, OK for an overnight stay but no more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pintofbitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivybridge
2.8 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
210 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
537 reviews
5.9 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
451 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ivybridge
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel

Address: Exeter Road, Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ivybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ivybridge
Price Range: £69 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sportsmans Inn And Ivybridge Hotel
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing