We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Trying a bit harder - possibly on the way up?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sportsman's Inn

The Sportsman's Inn
Ranked #25 of 35 Restaurants in Ivybridge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,297 reviews
702 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,245 helpful votes
“Trying a bit harder - possibly on the way up?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I had a meal again for the first time in a while recently - I think the menu was more or less the same but I think there may be a different chef as the food when it arrived looked a bit more high end. We received a pre-starter of mushroom soup with compliments of the house, which was a nice touch. The mains of steak and ale pie were just OK though - whilst they looked good, they were rather watery and the hand cut chips could have been crisper. The onion rings were good though. Service was a bit lacking. it took a long time to bring us our sauces. Overall an improvement in quality but still a bit of a way to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    15
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food to be had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a friendly welcome from the staff although they appeared to be short staffed on this occasion and disappeared without taking a drinks order. The menu covered all tastes from pub classics to a fresh menu which changes regularly and the price range is reasonable. The family choices ranged from duck in Cointreau, salmon, pork loin with Stilton and a vegetable roast with goat's cheese. All arrived looking freshly prepared, and was beautifully cooked, but could have done with a few more veg, perhaps to share from a side dish. The overall look of the restaurant has been tidied up over the last year or so, even the chairs are more comfy, and it is becoming the regular place to drop in with visiting family and friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Remembrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fair price good entertainment overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

stayed the night, good price instead of taxi home, room was comfortable although hot as upstairs from kitchen and choping of food sounds were heard from the kitchen at times. The entertainment for the night was fun and enjoyable and food was okay for the event (1 had slightly under cooked chicken) otherwise a good value night out

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sensible Food - Sensible Prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Atmosphere good, staff wonderful, and food always good - a nice place to eat and enjoy with friends.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IscaFortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The welcome was warm but sadly this isn't always enough.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Average pub fare and a little greasy although the burger itself was pretty decent and served in a ciabatta. The owners slightly sarcastic manner makes me think he's a frustrated old school comic but to be fair at least 3 of the staff made a point of saying hello went we went in and this makes a difference, particularly as this was our first visit.
Overall not brilliant but you probably wouldn't be too dissapointed if this was your local pub - there are far worse. If you are visiting, I recommend you enter from the front, unless you like walking past the loos (if you park out the back).
Won't be rushing back but wouldn't rule it out for a couple of pints. And, guys, if you are reading this....£35 for a night with Stan Boardman? Are you for real??

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sportsman's Inn also viewed

Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Sportsman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing