We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So awful, we shall not be returning!”

Endsleigh Garden and Leisure
Ranked #31 of 35 Restaurants in Ivybridge
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ample references and entries on the search engines. This is the biggest and busiest garden centre in South Devon and has been extended over twenty years to include a vast leisure shop with a big and very well used restaurant cafe used especially by families and older people. It has become a destination in itself and has a good name for fresh local produce and home baking. Very surprised it is not already in the Tripadvisor food listings. I recommend it.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So awful, we shall not be returning!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having lunched at Endsleigh's restaurant today, I am writing this review while still suffering the indigestion! My large cappuchino coffee had no coffee flavour whatsoever and tasted like a cup of warm water with some frothy milk and cinnamon on top. Then our lunch arrived ... Well, the "freshly battered cod" was probably straight out of a packet and warmed up in a microwave - as were the chips ( both soggy and lukewarm). My wife's roast pork was completely tasteless she said, as was the apple sauce that came with it - both served lukewarm. In fact - as we left - she told me the best part of the meal was the bottle of fizzy water! Never again !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    49
    52
    68
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have been on 3 separate occasions to give them the benefit of the doubt but each time was terrible, The 1st time we had lunch of jacket potatoes one with chilli and one with prawns, the chilli was barely warm and insipid and the prawns were put on the potato not in any sauce just plain prawns, the potatoes were shrivelled and dry and looked as though they had been cooked 12 hours ago and again were warm at best and served with no butter !!
2nd time was breakfast, we had poached egg and a sausage bap, the eggs came out absolutely solid so we sent them back and asked for soft eggs to the amazement of the staff, when we asked where it was half an hour later they said it was because breakfast had really finished so we had to wait as they were on lunches, it was 10.15am ???? the sausage bap was no better 3 unsliced half cooked hard sausages chucked on the table and they all rolled out of the roll, they were all but raw, we asked for refund and left. 3rd and last time we went in afternoon for tea and cake, Victoria sponge was wet and heavy and the scones were rock solid the little cream portion was actually out of date by 2 days, when I took it back to the boy he just said "ok take another " .
If you want good lunch or evening meal go to the Hunting Lodge on the other side of the road, excellent food, good portions and very friendly staff. Avoid Endsleigh like the plague.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sharpyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
223 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“So bad it almost defies description!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped to break our journey to Cornwall.

The overpriced food was extremely poor,and the coffee like coloured water.The cafe area was untidy and far from clean. The person on the till continued a heated discussion with another member of staff (supervisor?) rather than make eye contact or do anything other than state the price to the customers.

We could not understand how they have any customers!

We walked around the Centre before leaving - some good quality plants but also plenty of not so well looked after ones! Staff seem to have plenty of time to chat to each other despite abandoned boxes of stock,plants,etc awaiting attention.

What has happened? - when we visited some years ago this was a well run,thriving business offering good quality at reasonable prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BOBOK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good quality breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Been to Endsleigh for a breakfast a few times, very good quality for the full English, it's nice that you can have poached or fried or scrambled eggs. If I can make a tiny criticism it's that I normally choose the poached option, and the two eggs are always cooked differently! Apart from that, I think it's excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We live locally and have been here twice now but i seems this place is like all other garden centers like this " very overpriced ". The cafe is poor and reminds me of the ones in motorway services , at least with them you know what the food will be like but this place should do better.
They have a nice pet area and craft area.We will go again but only to get specific things we know they have and can't get anywhere else locally.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rae022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Endsleigh Garden and Leisure also viewed

Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Endsleigh Garden and Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing