We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place,excellent food but !!”
Review of The Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Ivybridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed one night 8th July, our room was a cabin in the grounds and although small was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Evening meal in the restaurant was excellent and we enjoyed a drink at the friendly bar, the décor and furnishing throughout are lovely.
The service at breakfast unfortunately was a shambles, the waitress served on a last come first served basis! After a long wait we were informed that the mornings meat delivery hadn't arrived so they had to rush out and buy more, however when the food did arrive it was excellent. On checking out we were given a discount to compensate which is why I have still rated it highly.
The good point outweighed the bad and I would still recommend it as it is an ideal place to stay when visiting the area or passing through.

Room Tip: The cabins furthest away are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eileenthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in room 9 for 2 nights and the room was gorgeous to look at, seemed almost brand new and i think it had just been refurbished. There is a hairdryer, wardrobe, chest of drawers and the bathroom is beautiful with free shampoos, shower gel etc. My major issue with the room was the dressing table....there is a dressing table with a stool underneath but no mirror in front of it to do your make-up or hair in?! We were there for a wedding so i found this really irritating and had to stand above a chest of drawers doing my make up in a mirror that was at an awful height, i just don't understand why the mirror isn't just above the dressing table? My friends were in the ad-joining room to ours and their mirror was above the dressing table but it was about 2 feet above it so you couldn't see in it once you sat down, it's a simple thing to fix so I suggest management sorts this simple thing out as it is an inconvenience. Bed was really comfy, slept like a baby both nights and wifi works well in the room.

The next part is not so good- the staff......my goodness the restaurant staff need to get their act together not only at dinner but also at breakfast (mainly at breakfast) dinner was lovely as the chef is fantastic so once you get the food you have a treat but the poor chef is being let down badly by his front of staff. The breakfast staff wander around like they don't have a clue what they're up to. My 3 friends ordered their breakfast at 9.40am as one of them had a taxi booked for 10.10am and 40 mins later there was still no sign of breakfast and one girl had had to leave hungry after paying for breakfast as part of her B&B package. Basically we were told the girl who took the order had then gone off shift and not passed over the order! How ridiculous. Both mornings breakfast was a joke, waiting ages to even order a simple cup of tea let alone your actual breakfast. I think my mate waited about 20mins for a glass of water on day 1 and 30 mins for an espresso on day 2. Not good enough, they're really letting down a fantastic hotel that is gorgeous and the food is amazing once it comes out so the staff just need to get some proper training.

I would recommend this hotel for it's lovely village location and modern decor (be warned there is nothing around other than 2 pubs, no local shop etc) but if you drive it's fine. Rooms gorgeous, just be warned about breakfast and maybe get down there half an hour earlier than originally intended! Hopefully they'll improve their service and your review will be a 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: The rooms outdoor are huge, one room is a family room and the other is a large double. The rooms ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannie85uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked this hotel for one night to make a surprise visit to family. Upon arrival we were shown to our room (No 1) by the on duty manager whom told us this was their best room. On first appearances the room is lovely, very spacious with a day bed that could sleep children if you are a family visiting. The room is tastefully decorated, no wardrobe though or anywhere to put other clothes if you were staying longer. The blinds didn't do much to block out the early morning sun either, would have been better with material blinds covering the whole window. The bed was large & very comfortable although the duvet cover didn't cover the whole bed. For us this wasn't so much a problem as when we stayed it was very warm. Some things missing from the room, no telephone or any information regarding meal times etc & no the duty manager didn't mention this either. The bathroom was nice, although small sink & the tap did seem to large for the space but otherwise clean & tidy. Now for the bad parts. I had booked a table for 4 at 8pm, our family were coming to eat with us & we were all very much looking forward to eating the food of the head chef Ben Palmer. When we went into the restaurant the waitress told us immediately that they were a chef down so there would be a very long wait but as we had nowhere else to go we sat down & ordered nibbles etc to see us through. To cut a long story short we did not get our main meals until 10.15pm & our guests had their taxi booked for 10.30pm. Throughout the night we discovered the chef we were expecting to see had actually left the Anchor Inn after being poached by another hotel & that the sous chef for that night was sick so the 'new head chef' had to do all covers by himself with just 2 waitresses. My problem with this is that they still advertise this chef as still working at the Anchor Inn & at no point did the on duty manager ( a different one) come in & apologise for the delays, this was left to the very young girls out front serving. I must say though that when we did get our food it was very nice, Martin the chef did an amazing job under very difficult circumstances & the two young waitresses were amazing. I could go on about other things but I just haven't got the time as I want to e-mail the hotel owners directly. This little place could be amazing, the rooms are beautifully decorated, they just need to sort out the restaurant staffing issues fast before they loose many more customers & tell managers that their duties are in their job title, you are meant to manager! Although I have given 3 for service I would like to give the waitresses 5 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparky1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew N, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Anchor and we fully take on board your comments and look to use them to improve, grow and move the business forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice little pub in a nice little village. Ideal for a day or two but room a bit small for any longer. Staff are friendly and the food in the restaurant was good. Dinner was nice and well served and the breakfast was fine but no fresh fruit. The room we had was above the dining room and we could hear some noisy diners but they did not go on too late. Secure and ample parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sittee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First off be aware that the village of Ugborough is about 5 miles from the Town of Ivybridge. Ugborough is a lovely idyllic village with another pub/Resturant within walking distance. The Anchor has been recently renovated to a fantastic standard. The quality of our room and en suite shower room was first class. As with other reviews I would agree that storage space was minimal but you will appreciate the expertly painted wardrobe on the wall with hooks in!

Good comfortable king bed with feathered bedding & feathered quilt. Our room was above the Resturant so was a touch noisy until it shut, a good nights sleep was obtained after.

Our meal in the well presented Resturant was very nice the vegetarian main course was wonderful. Service was good with no delays between courses. The Resturant staff were helpful and pleasant but seemed to lack knowledge about the menu.

Our freshly cooked breakfast was most excellent.

TIP: There are several courtyard rooms adjacent to the parking area at the back of the Inn. I think these for obvious reasons would be quieter. With the added advantage that you can come & go as you please as the manager locks the main building for the night.

Overall a pleasant stay that I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DennisOdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good: adequately spacious room; comfortable bed; tasty breakfasts; friendly, helpful staff. Evening meals looked good although we ate elsewhere (visiting family). Delightful village, and the added bonus of a short stroll to the Ship Inn in the evening for a good pint of Tribute.

Not so good: in summer, the blinds in the bedrooms are spectacularly inadequate if you want to sleep undisturbed beyond 5am. Dark curtains in front of the blinds would make a huge improvement. Very little storage space (and no wardrobe - obviously) although we're not fussy and are happy to live out of a suitcase.

Quirky: the painted 'wardrobes'... We missed the bonkers waitress-cum-cleaner who enlivened our last stay - bring her back!

Room Tip: Several of the bedrooms are above the kitchen, so a little noisy in the morning (but only if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I, along with my husband and four other members of our family, stayed at the Anchor Inn as we were in Ivybridge to attend a family birthday celebration. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the excellent service we received from the staff.

The rooms we were given were beautifully clean and well furnished - one room was above the Inn and the other two were in the courtyard. Quality of sleep was superb because the beds were so comfortable. Housekeeping was spot on and the bathroom toiletries provided were of superb quality and were replaced each day.

Whilst some of our group arrived on the Saturday and stayed just one night, my husband and I decided to explore the area and chose to stay for the Friday night as well. We ate in the Anchor restaurant on our first evening and the food was absolutely wonderful - the full English breakfasts which were served on each morning of our stay were also first class - our thanks to the chef for looking after us so well!

The cost of staying at this Inn was minimal considering the food and service we received. We would definitely recommend the Anchor to family and friends and we most certainly will be booking a room there on our next trip to this part of Devon.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very modern, warm and well furnished - they do face onto the Inn's small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivybridge
7.8 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
553 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
353 reviews
8.3 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Sportsmans Inn & Ivybridge Hotel
2.7 mi away
Harford Bunkhouse and Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: 1 Lutterburn Street | Ugborough, Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ivybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ivybridge
Price Range: £66 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn Ivybridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing