We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial

The Imperial
Ranked #13 of 35 Restaurants in Ivybridge
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
South Brent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

2 courses for 7.95 and really tasty food. The bream was beautifully cooked, and the chocolate brownie was the best one I have had for ages. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We hope it will keep going because there weren't many people in there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Had dinner Saturday night. Wow! Had the lamb shank myself which was cooked to perfection with a sauce like I've never tasted before. Other members of the party had the pheasant and stew which I was told was equally as good. Good hearty winter food which we will be looking forward to sampling again and again. Great value for money and well enjoyed. Watch this space! 10/10.

Helpful?
1 Thank quaggie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Missed the boat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Tuesday lunch time.thought we would try a meal at the imperial seeing as it had been taken over by new people, the last people to run the pub didn't make a go of it.
Looking on the web it said opening times 11-00 - 23-00 mon till sun
We got to the pub at 11-25 and opened the smaller door to the side which goes to the bar and dining area, when we were approached by a woman, my wife said to the woman "oh you are open then" to which the woman replied, " no, we don't open till 11-30 in rather a brusk manner. No other conversation took place, and we left. We do not know if this was one of the staff, or one of the owners/ managers of the pub, but did not think this was any way to encourage business.
We will not be returning, as we did not get chance to sample the food, cannot comment.
We did not see opening times outside, only on the web. Suggest they change it, as we were not carrying our crystal ball that day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank barneyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

A very warm welcome from the staff, character pub with log fire. Good real ales and fantastic menu! A brilliant range of food with size options availablem excellent! Though we live 100 miles away we recently managed two visits in one week! Our regular journeys from Perranporth to Bristol will now be via the A38 instead of the A30 so we can make more visits!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kernowish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunday lunch delight !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned to this excellent little restaurant with family, after our previous happy visit . We were pleasantly surprised to enjoy this one even more so. Freshly cooked food , with superb presentation and enthusiastic staff , such excellent value at only £7.95 for 2 courses , and , a lovely choice of starter , main course and dessert if needed . We shall definitely return time and time again.....thanks so much !! great atmospheric inn , use it or lose it folks :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Imperial also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing